Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
A very interesting g book, she was very honest about her life, I read it in about 3 nights, wanted to keep on reading.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs M H Upton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant enough story
If you ever wondered why Jo put up with Ronnie for so long - well, you might find the answer in this book. Sadly I didn't. Although she freely admits to joining in with much of his excessive drinking and drug-taking for a few years, I can't imagine why she stayed with him, and put up with his drinking and affairs for so long. I hope that any money she has made from...
Published 15 months ago by GillianEliza


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting g book, she was very honest about her life, I read it in about 3 nights, wanted to keep on reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jo Wood, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed it. You get a big insight of the Stones on tour. All about Ronnie Wood (good and bad) I also enjoyed all about Jo herself. She sounds a great fun lady and I felt sorry how Ronnie treated her in the later years of their married life. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Hey Jo, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so interesting to read about Jo's life with Ronnie and on tour with the Stones.
I am not a fan of the Stones, but a great fan of Jo's. It was a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this book down, it is packed with interesting, hilarious, sad and insightful stories. I had a few late nights thanks to Jo and her tales and am now exhausted. I highly recommend this book if you are interested in the life of others, how the music industry works, nostalgia and how to move on after the end of a relationship.
This is a well written honest account of the life of a fabulous, entertaining woman, who has gone from teenage London model, to young mum, to rock chick, to business woman, via drugs, co-dependency, illness and heartache. Her zest for life and determination is inspirational, I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story!, 22 April 2013
By 
S. Tomlinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice read, well constructed and if you are interested in the "back stage" lifestyle of a Rolling Stone and his ex missus this is the book for you! I enjoyed it myself and Jo comes across as a nice person. She tells the tale of their breakup with no self pity or whinging. To be honest, and I'm a fan of Ronnie, she is probably better of without him, even if only half the stuff he did is true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi Joe, 18 April 2013
By 
S. Hinds "hindsight" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was easy to read, factual and interesting. Jo gave it her all, no smut, no crisies, no nasty tell-tales: just an easy story of an intersting, if not an easy life.
Jo has her family and her life, good on you girl.
Written in such a loyal way and plesant way. Write more Jo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 12 April 2013
Fantastic I could not put it down and I don't normally read either. I liked her honesty through out the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book about a great time honestly written can recommend it to other readers even if you are not a Stones fan the insight is lovely and the end leaves you feeling positive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey Jo reviewed, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story of a girl who’s definitely had more than her share of good fortune along the way, who went on to become the ultimate rock-chick. Living the rock 'n' roll dream of first class flights and top notch class As, she hung with arguably the greatest rock ‘n’ roll band on the planet and partied harder than a lot of the rest of us put together. But somehow she managed to walk away from the Rolling Stones' roller coaster after 30 years of fast living, relatively unscathed, and with her looks and health still pretty much in tact. She concedes from the get-go that she wasn't the brightest light at school - more out of a lack of interest than capability - and it’s clear that for anything lacking academically, she more than makes up for in street-smarts. It’s difficult not to like Jo. She’s the archetypal Bohemian survivor and you get a real sense of her authenticity in this autobiography. For someone who’s been sprinkled with a rather liberal quantity of stardust, she seems to take it all pretty much in her stride, nor is she afraid of a bit of hard graft. Let’s face it, you can’t help but admire a woman who’s matched not only Ronnie Wood, but also Keith Richards, drink for drink, for a number of years, while simultaneously raising a family and ensuring her husband makes it to the church on time for Rolling Stones’ gigs - regardless of her own level of consumption the previous night. When the cracks begin to appear in her marriage her sense of loss is palpable. For decades she and Ronnie had been inseparable and seemed like they’d go the distance. She bravely took it on the chin when she finally accepted it was over and testament to her strength of character, she determined to salvage a friendship with her ex, despite his increasingly public betrayals. Hey Jo gives us a good-humoured peek into the diaries and memories of a model-turned-rockstar-wife - who surprisingly remembers quite a lot - and the day to day challenges of balancing hard drugs and domesticity. As the saying goes: You can have it all. Just not all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honky tonk woman, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Lindsey Jane "booklover" (cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I picked this book up after reading a number of extracts which were serialised in the Sunday newspaper. Wonderful. Jo chronicles her life with Ronnie with amazing candour. She details the adventures she has with her ex-husband candidly and her eventual breakup with him. Jo comes across as a really likeable lady; she is very honest and her writing is effused with humour. I really like the way she describes how her adventures after being Ronnie's wife are still continuing and good luck to her. It is as if she has rediscovered her own identity and life. What she went through was heartbreaking but she has picked herself up and has now emerged as her own woman.

I really enjoyed this book. Jo has had some amazing experiences and met so many famous people. She really has lived the rock and roll life. Highly recommend this book. Brilliant :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's Only Rock 'n' Roll: Thirty Years with a Rolling Stone
It's Only Rock 'n' Roll: Thirty Years with a Rolling Stone by Jo Wood (Paperback - 10 April 2014)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews