Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mouse searches for his identity, 15 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Manxmouse (Hardcover)
'Manxmouse' is a ceramic mouse who comes to life. He quickly realises he is 'different' as he doesn't have a tail. How can he be a mouse without a tail? If he's not a mouse then what is he? The story is essentially his search for identity and a sense of belonging and should resonate with anyone who's ever had that feeling that they don't quite fit in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely children's classic, 4 July 2002
This review is from: Manxmouse (Hardcover)
I first read this book when I was 10 years old and fell in love with the hero of the book at once.
Manxmouse is a ceramic mouse made by a sculptor who turns out wrong - he is blue, has huge kangaroo feet, and ears like a rabbit because the artist was drunk whilst making him. He also has no tail, like a manx cat, hence the title.
The book chronicles his adventures when he comes to life by magic. He travels around the world, befriending an elephant who is terrified of mice, comforting a lonely little girl and being captured and put in a zoo as he is a new species!
I cannot recommend this book enough - it will also appeal to adults who have a soppy streak in them (like me) and makes a great bedtime tale.
Other fantastic books by Paul Gallico include Jennie and Thomasina bu they are difficult to get hold of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past., 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manxmouse (Essential Modern Classic) (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read this book in late primary school. Now the next generation has a chance to enjoy it. My son is the same age, and although he did not initially share my enthusiasm, once he started to read it, he was enthralled. The only slight disappointment is that the picture of Manxmouse on the cover is not as blue as my 11 year old imagination had him all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another "animal" classic, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beatiful storytellng-- not just for children. Fantastic and emotionally eloquent. It will appeal to children and to the adults that read to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manxmouse, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
M. PARROTT (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manxmouse (Essential Modern Classic) (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A must for all Paul Gallico fans. Encourages one to tackle those seemingly insurmountable tasks and problems and be pleasantly surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manxmouse, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manxmouse (Essential Modern Classic) (Essential Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I just love this book and haave read it dozens of times to classes of children....in perfect condition and on time and good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back my childhood, 6 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this as a child and bought this for my son - so far he's not read it but I have and it was just as good as I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manxmouse (Essential Modern Classic) (Essential Modern Classics)
Manxmouse (Essential Modern Classic) (Essential Modern Classics) by Paul Gallico (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews