Customer Reviews


840 Reviews
5 star:
 (398)
4 star:
 (183)
3 star:
 (123)
2 star:
 (95)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so dull
Yes, many of the other reviewers are right. As I read this the first time, I was frustrated. It didn't really follow some of my fav characters, as they appear in book 5 (A Dance With Dragons). And even the first 2/3 of ADWD follow the same template as this one, there's much more talk and much less action than in the previous titles. Many characters travel long roads and...
Published on 11 April 2012 by AGGESWE

versus
145 of 160 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ...my kingdom for an editor
well you kinda knew it had to happen sooner or later. it took robert jordan 6 books before it all started to fall apart so i guess george is about on track. i'm coming to the conclusion that you can only write so many pages on one project before it starts to eat itself.
the author sums it up in the first line of his aknowledgements...to start with the good bits: the...
Published on 22 Nov 2005 by lazynine


‹ Previous | 178 79 8084 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 14 Jan 2006
This was the poorest book in the series. It was however still a really good book. Martin's writing still leaves you on the edge of your seat. It is disappointing that he leaves out the main characters. It would have been better to have in Tyrion, John and Danny rather than make loads of new characters. I am a little bit worried this could become another Wheel of Time and go on forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for, 26 Oct 2005
With "A Feast for Crows" originally projected as being about 1,500 pages long, a decision was made to cut the book in half so that it could be published in a single volume. Accordingly, half of the characters are missing from this book; there's no Tyrion, Davos, Jon Snow, Dany, or Stannis, with these characters stories being moved into "A Dance with Dragons", with the events in the two novels taking place simultaneously.
The main characters in "A Feats for Crows"-that is, the ones with their names as chapter titles-are Jaime, Samwell, Arya, Brienne, Sansa and Cersei. Brienne's out looking for Sansa, who's with Petyr in the Vale of Arran. Arya is in Braavos with the Faceless Men, training to be an assassin. Cersei is-well, do you spell "vain" and "borderline insane", V-A-I-N and B-O-R-D-E-R-L-I-N-E-space-I-N-S-A-N-E? Why yes, I think you do. Cersei is trying to deal with the mess in King's Landing, and is doing a spectacularly bad job of it. Elsewhere, Dorne thrists for revenge against the Lannisters, and the ruler of the Iron Islands hatches a plan to conquer Westeros.
Despite the disappointment of no Tyrion and company, it was still a very, very entertaining book, with Martin's storytelling being as compelling as ever. Some of the storylines were slow-burners, taking a while to get going, but once they did, they rattled along nicely, with many ending in nail-biting cliffhangers. Given the way "A Storm of Swords" ended, much of "A Feats for Crows" deals with the aftermath of events in the last book, together with the setting-up of plotlines in the next, all of which adds to the depth, richness and complexity of the "A Song of Ice and Fire" saga.
Martin "devoutly hopes" the next book will be out in 2006, so there won't be too long a wait to catch up with the other characters. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Another great book from Martin. Slightly slower paced than the previous books, but still a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whats the point?, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. M. C. Russon "m.c russon" (middlsebrough england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed this serious ever since the beginning but this last effort by Martin was a massive disapoinment. It seemed like a pointless book, in the sence that the most important characters have been left out and the other major charecters (jamie,cersi,jon snow) boared me. The quip and intelligence seems to have gone from Martins writing. Brinene i have never been a fan off and from what Martin has done with her in this recent offering it would seem hes not so fussed either. Also last point, why has it took over seven years to orginise a book? George r r Martin is starting to laugh at the fans i feel, as wating this long for a book he completed overfour years ago is a joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The True King of the Iron Throne, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Vp Campbell (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is another brilliant instalment of a song of ice and fire. Normally not much more would be needed to say, but there have been some issues with this one that I think are worth commenting on.

First, it does not contain any more of the story for several of the key characters, which has seriously frustrated many readers. Sure if you read A Storm of Swords in 2000, and waited 5 years for the next bit of the story I can well imagine that frustration being significant (although remember it's only because you've enjoyed the story so much so far that you're frustrated).

Second, the next part of the story is now supposedly due for late 2009 (nearly 10 years of waiting for some readers to find out what happens next to those characters? I think I'd be stir crazy by now) but most fans will believe that when they see it. So, it does still reflect on this book being the last one in the series so far, and puts pressure on it to deliver.

Having read this in quick succession from the earlier books (having only recently discovered the series) I have not suffered from the delays and expectations many readers had of this book. For me, it is every bit as good as the others, in some ways even better in generating and maintaining your interest in a number of different characters, who are clearly absolutely central to the overall story, in new parts of the world Martin has created.

As ever it's the female characters that are arguably the really interesting ones, with some of the core characters from previous books still present, and others (Cersei most notably) given an authorial focus for the first time. All this is to the good. Given that A Game of Thrones appeared in, what 1995, and this came out in 2005, the consistency of the quality of the writing is very high indeed.

OK, so Martin isn't like JK Rowling in churning out the parts of his story on a treadmill, but A Song of Ice and Fire is surely more likely to stand the test of time as a great work of genre fiction, and it will be worth the wait to get the final parts of the story. (Mind you George... it would be a good idea to, you know, maybe have a go at trying to finish it, or finish the next part at least.... please?)

In the meantime, I would actually say to the publisher to take out the little epilogue until A Dance of Dragons is actually published- because it's clearly added to (and still adding to) the frustrations of us hordes of wildlings desparately wondering what's beyond that Wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such high expectations, and this almost delivers!, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, I'm going to start with a very clear statement before I go about trying to sum up my slightly confused feelings about this book: it's a really, really good read. In the same vein as the previous four (five) books in this series, this novel is very readable, full of intrigue and long enough to keep you satisfied for a good while.

However, my confusion arises (along with only four stars instead of five) because this is almost certainly the weekest of Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series so far. Why is that? Well, to be honest, it is because it feels like the plot (in the series as a whole) doesn't really move forward in this book. And why is that? Well, it's because the main characters - and by this I mean the real mainstays, the characters we have come to love over Martin's previous novels: the Stark children and Tyrion Lannister in particular - are barely mentioned. Indeed, even old Davos Seaworthy doesn't get more than a passing mention here.

The action focusses almost solely on King's Landing, where the Lannister twins take centre stage (who would have thought in the first two novels that Jaime Lannister would be the character you looked forward to hear about, and hoped was ok!), on the Iron Isles, where the Greyjoys are deciding on their succession, and on Dorne, where a whole new kingdom and a third of this novel are apparently written about for the sake of one (albeit amazing) piece of information revealed in the final chapters.

This means that those elements which seem key to the whole plot - Tyrion, the Starks and of course Danaerys Targaryen - are completely ignored. George Martin explains this at the end of the novel - he'd simply written too much, and decided to split the next two novels to give us the full story of some of the characters in each book. But the problem is - why did he leave all the plot and all the main characters in the second book? And why is the second book taking so long?

However, as I started by saying, this book is lovely to read. The characters that are here are intriging and the stories told are interesting. But there are none of the gut-wrenching moments of previous books, there is a slight down-turn in the excitement and page-turnability of what we find here. So if you've read the previous elements of the series, then don't expect too much.

If you haven't read any George Martin books before, then you definitely, *definitely* need to start at the beginning... And make sure you do start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly worthy addition to the series., 30 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. D. Rose "stunteddwarf" (Trelewis, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not going to go on and explain just how good this series is because, frankly, there are other reviewers here who have done that job and have done it far better than I could. I do however want to add the warning that others have reiterated and the warning is this: This isn't so much book 4 as half of book 4, the other half coming with Dance with Dragons, and this is something that you must bear in mind when reading this book. As to why this is only half the book the full book would have been difficult to publish and expensive to purchase. Still, with both Martin and Jordan (and, of course others including Wurts) producing, or about to produce, truly epic tomes in their series of work I think it is about time that publishers look at producing books that are 1750+ pages as any true fan of the series would be more than willing to purchase a work of that size, provided it was up to quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Fooled! It's Excellent!!, 14 Nov 2005
This book is a worthy installment in an ongoing series that knows no equal. It's is therefore strange to read so many one or two star reviews. Reviews of people who clearly lost the plot and instead are blaming George for having lost his.
If you have read this book, and by reading I mean absorbing everthing that is being said and explained, I can barely fathom that there are people telling us that there is no plot advancement. I can only assume that they must be people slow on the uptake or people who thought for five long years that Feast would be even more shocking than Storm of Swords. The former group I won't even comment on but to the latter I'd like to say that it is only logical that after a fought war there are things to be set straight, tasks to be handed out.
What is more is that this book serves as a base to finally introduce those other important factions i.e. Dorne, the Iron Islands, so oft hinted at in the previous books and to develop them into something more than just hearsay.
All in all this is an intelligent book that keeps the intelligent reader entertained and which leaves you with a taste for more. And trust me, more we shall have when A Dance With Dragons comes around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 24 Oct 2005
By 
Just wanted to say how class this book is, worth the wait
and lived up to my expectations. The series is miles better than nearly all other fantasy I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 178 79 8084 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 4)
A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 4) by George R. R. Martin (Hardcover - 24 Nov 2011)
Used & New from: 49.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews