Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for
When the new translation of the Mass was introduced last December, I was given a Christmas present of a new Sunday Missal. However, this left me with the old translation on weekdays. I was somewhat loath to commit myself to the New Daily Missal as it would duplicate with the Sunday Missal and seemed very big indeed. I therefore ordered the new Weekday Missal, published...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by Antonia

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I was looking forward to using this new edition of the Weekday Missal at weekday masses, but have been very disappointed.

* It includes the new - and elevated - saints created in 2006 - but without their readings! References are given to the readings' locations, scattered elsewhere throughout the book.
* The National Saints have been brought into the body...
Published on 28 Sept. 2012 by Teedy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
When the new translation of the Mass was introduced last December, I was given a Christmas present of a new Sunday Missal. However, this left me with the old translation on weekdays. I was somewhat loath to commit myself to the New Daily Missal as it would duplicate with the Sunday Missal and seemed very big indeed. I therefore ordered the new Weekday Missal, published by Collins. This was due for publication at the end of January.

At the end of January I was told it would not be available till April, and in April, publication was delayed till the end of June. However, at the end of June it finally arrived and I am delighted with it. It follows the same format as my previous Missal so it is easy for me to use. The single sequence of saints' days, without the special British and Irish ones being relegated to an appendix, is a significant improvement. It does not include the parallel Latin texts as in the CTS version, but personally, I don't miss that; you spend less time turning the pages during the Mass. I have needed to add a few extra markers to find my way through the Eucharistic Prayers but that is a small concession. It is still a large book and I hope the binding will last but I am certainly happy to have only 2,400 pages rather than 3,400. All in all I recommend this Weekday Missal to anyone who likes to follow the Mass during the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to using this new edition of the Weekday Missal at weekday masses, but have been very disappointed.

* It includes the new - and elevated - saints created in 2006 - but without their readings! References are given to the readings' locations, scattered elsewhere throughout the book.
* The National Saints have been brought into the body of the Proper of Saints, which should have been an advantage - but again, many of the readings are not provided: those that are provided are those from the General Roman Calendar - the readings appropriate to England (etc) are simply referenced to locations scattered elsewhere throughout the book.
* Many of the saints who had their own proper Prayers over the Gifts, Communion Antiphons and Prayer after Communion now do not, and use has to be made of the Commons instead - unncessary, I would have thought, and certainly inconvenient.
* A major omission of the new Weekday Missal is the index of saints. Finding a saint whose feast day does not immediately spring to mind now entails combing through the General Calendar at the front of the book.
* A minor error spotted with the entry for St Patrick (there may be more instances) is the instruction: "Where this is kept as a Solemnity, the Gloria ... is said." The Gloria should also be said when it is kept as a Feast, which is the day's default rank.

All-in-all, a disappointing book. I will continue to use - and expand - my self-produced "supplementary missal" which has the missing readings with their appropriate saints' days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DAILY MISSAL - NOT THE SUNDAY MISSAL., 28 April 2010
This review is from: Weekday Missal (Leather Bound)
This book is exactly what is required for the following of weekday Mass and contains all relevant information on Saints days etc as well. In the product review it states that this book covers all three years but in fact the week day Masses follow a two year cycle and so do not be alarmed when you find it only covers years one and two. It is the Sunday Mass that follows a three year cycle and many of the reviews here are for the Sunday Missal so check to see you are reading the right review.
Other than that, this is a book for life in more senses than one.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missal, 9 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Weekday Missal (Leather Bound)
I was given this by my Great Aunt who is 92 years old and got it from her church and she paid over £30 for it so I would say this is a bargain price! It is clearly laid out and lightweight which is probably why the pages are quite thin. It is the complete daily missal which some people have in two halves but I prefer to have just one book. Good value for money as it's not going to go out of date much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Missal, 21 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Weekday Missal (Leather Bound)
A quality product of longstanding availability, delivered at a very reasonable price by Amazon. It was a replacement missal for my wife as she had worn the old one out with constant use over a 28 year period. Order was processed with the usual ease by Amazon. A book which truly enriches one's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weekday Missal Review, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
P. Mellor (Oldham, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekday Missal (Leather Bound)
This missal is has everything that you will ever need for weekday worship. At first a little tricky working your way round the sections, but once you have got it then it is all plain sailing. This missal has 4 different coloured book mark ribbons so that you can keep a track of were you are in any year. Nicely bounded book that feels good in the hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
A wonderful hardback book. Considering all that it contains, not too unwieldy, and quite easy to navigate. The four colour coded ribbons are extremely helpful for marking certain parts of the mass or indeed certain parts of the year. All the Saints day masses are gathered together in one section, by date order, and give a brief, illuminating, history of each saint This missal contains all you would ever need to hear a weekday mass, and to fully participate in the mass. Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Gift, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
As it is coming near to my birthday my kids were on at me about something
they could get me so I gave them some ideas but It came to me why don't I
buy something that I really want and this was it this was something that I wanted
When The Weekday Missal was delivered and I started to use it at Mass
I knew that I could not have chosen anything better as a birthday treat
as I said it was The Perfect Gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tacky, lacklustre, shipshod: an affront to the majesty of the Mass, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book. Having owned a previous edition Missal from Collins, the new one compares very badly. The cover of the old edition was embellished with a large, striking gold Celtic cross. The new cover 'design' is funerary and depressing. Essentially, there is NO design, just the title of the book typed in a tiny font, and a tiny plain cross above it. The gold printing is not properly embossed and is already wearing off in places, just from unwrapping and briefly handling the book. The cover is thin and flimsy, and the hinges are dodgy, so when you open the book, the leatherette pushes up in bubbles, pulling away along the front and back boards. The 'cream' paper inside has a cheap and dingy appearance. Also, although the book arrived sealed in plastic, the paper is slightly cockled and doesn't lay flat.

In terms of its durability and binding overall, this book seems not to have been designed for daily use at Mass (or for working people to keep up with the Mass readings every evening), but to be put on a shelf and left there. Though it won't impress many visitors with your piety, because the title on the spine is too small to read!

But the worst disappointment by far is the quality of the artwork. Collins optimistically advertised the illustrations as being in the Romanesque tradition. Unfortunately these depressingly ugly images are only Romanesque as interpreted through the dumbed down lens of comic books and pop art. These nasty and clumsy drawings, with their patronising air, might be just acceptable in a children's prayer book, but they are inappropriate for adults and an affront to the majesty of the Mass. Moreover the print quality of the images resembles cheap clip-art, with blocky pixels to be seen here and there. Tellingly, Collins does not credit the (cough) artist. As a major publisher, HarperCollins surely could have recycled some of the better quality artwork from previous Missals, at no extra cost to themselves. Failing that, this Missal would have been soooo much better with printers' vignettes to divide up blocks of text, and leaving these tacky pictures out.

Before buying, I should have reflected that HarperCollins also own the Thorsons imprint, with titles covering every aspect of the New Age, Wicca, etc. I used to work in a bookshop, and ironically HarperCollins' NA titles were beautifully bound and illustrated - a shocking contrast with how they serve their Christian customers!

A Missal is intended to be a Catholic's daily companion, but any time spent with the new HarperCollins version is far from uplifting. The Catholic Truth Society (CTS) has released their own far superior, if slightly more expensive, edition of the New Translation Missal - and they are a dedicated Catholic publisher deserving of support. I have now ordered one from CTS, and will be donating the Collins version to charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very convenient, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover)
As a Reader on weekdays, it is sometimes hard in advance to know if the priest will choose the Readings in ordinary time or specific Reading for a feast day. This missal may be large but all Readings can now be prepared in advance as both sets of Readingsare in the one book. No more hunting through the Internet or crossing of fingers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weekday Missal (Red edition)
The Weekday Missal (Red edition) (Hardcover - 21 Jun. 2012)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews