Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite books!!!
I liked the book because when I read a chapter I always want to read more to get to the exciting bit.The best part of the book was when Bertie meets the white lion because I know how it feels when you haven't seen a friend for several years.

This is one of the best books I have ever read and I can't wait to read other Michael Morpurgo books.

I would...
Published on 4 Nov 2006 by Katrina Miller aged8

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amazing buterfly lion book review
this book is amazing it is really good it is like a movie told in amazing words i would defently recomend it to any one. you habe done it again michael morpurgo, written aother fabulous book.
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Jo Drew


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite books!!!, 4 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
I liked the book because when I read a chapter I always want to read more to get to the exciting bit.The best part of the book was when Bertie meets the white lion because I know how it feels when you haven't seen a friend for several years.

This is one of the best books I have ever read and I can't wait to read other Michael Morpurgo books.

I would recommend this book to anyone from age 7 onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Year 4 Literacy group couldn't wait for the next chapter, 29 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
I have just read The Butterfly Lion to my Literacy group in Year 4.
They gasped and sniffed in all the right places. One boy said he thought the story was over in the middle section and had wondered that night how the story could move through the remaining pages.
They sat in silence to hear the story everyday. I would certainly recommend it to other teachers as it can be enjoyed by children of all abilities. Adults will also enjoy the themes and the story itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars b-b-b-b-b-b-brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 3 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
Michael Morpurgo, my favourite author, wrote this touching book full of both tears of joy and of sorrow. It is full of laughter, grief and a few escapes from boring boarding school. Another good quality of this book is that it is like Michael Morpurgo is recounting this event but I don't think this actually happened, (but I wish it had).
This book is definitely one of my favourite books, one down from my all time favourite, (which most probably will never be replaced), `Little Foxes'. It will enchant anyone, adult or child, who pick it up; they will be unable to put it down until the very end of this book, it certainly happened with me! I would rate it, as you can probably guess, 10/ 10 because Morpurgo you have once again fascinated me with one of your unique and clever tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful twist at the end., 26 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
I read this book to myself and couldn't put it down. You are drawn into the story being told and although you may predict what is going to happen there is always a surprise awaiting you. It is able to capture both adult and children's imaginations and leaves you in a sense of wonder. My own nine year old twins just wouldn't let me stop reading and each night the next installment was greeted with great enthusiasm. It will make you cry, laugh and think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTLY BRILL, GRIPPING AND GREAT!, 14 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
when i picked up this book i didn't have a clue who michael morpurgo was but when i read this book it told me that he is a fantastic author! The story of which brilliant and exciting,every little bit left you wanting to read more. Becasue i could not put the book down i finshed it in one day and read till half past 11 at night!It was absolulty brilliant and i hope you would enjoy it as much as i did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book for adults and children, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
As with many great childrens books, this novel has an equal appeal for young and old alike. Its scope is wide and it reminds me in many ways of Sebastian Faulks 'Birdsong'. An unhappy schoolboy runs away and encounters an old lady who tells him her remarkable life story. Her husband, brought up in Africa, came to England at the same time as his pet white lion was sent to a circus in France. Always hoping to find the lion he eventually comes across him again after he is wounded fighting in the first world war trenches. With themes of relationships and love, any reader can identify with these wonderful characters. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical, 15 Feb 2007
By 
J. B. Bowley "Jo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book. I bought it for my ten year old cousin and then, thinking that maybe it would be a bit dull and I should have chosen something else, got it out the library to read it for myself. Having become hooked and finishing the book the same night I started it, I know now it was a excellent choice.

[...]

There is so much in this book. It is beautifully written and contains a satisfying twist which I certainly never saw coming. Sometimes the ending of a book leaves you feeling let down or sad because you wish that you were still reading it but this book left me on a high thinking "Wow, this book is seriously good..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fall in love with the Butterfly Lion., 29 Sep 2011
By 
Puzzle crazy (Walsall, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
The book is 128 pages long, and the print is relatively large, so it took me less than an hour to read the whole book. The short chapters make it easy for children to tackle by themselves in smaller chunks, although they will be keen to find out what happens next in the story and older ones will likely finish it all in one sitting. The book also contains some hauntingly beautiful illustrations, which seem to really capture the emotions and spirit of the story being told, enhancing it further and really making it come alive.

The story itself is cleverly told in a "story within a story" style. At the beginning of our tale, the author tells us about when he was a young boy, running away from school after a particularly unpleasant experience with a school bully. Seeking a place to hide, he turns into a garden of a large house, only to be spotted by an elderly woman and her dog. After the initial feelings of apprehension, the boy relaxes as the sweet, lonely old lady invites him inside for some scones and tea. I absolutely love the way that the author uses descriptive writing to draw the reader into the story, perfectly recreating the sights and smells in each scene. As the boy sits with the old lady he glances out of the window and believes that he can make out the shape of a lion on the hillside. The lady explains to the boy that he is not imagining things. The lion is real - the butterfly lion, and was part of a story that goes back to when her late husband was a young boy in Africa.

The old lady then takes over the role of storyteller, as we learn about her husband young Bertie, who finds an orphaned white lion cub and together with his mother, takes care of it and nurses it to health. As the cub gets bigger though, the family wonder how they will be able to keep it, and the lion is sent to live in the circus, whereas the boy is sent to boarding school in England. The boy vows that one day he will be reunited with his friend, but with such a great distance betwen them, as well as a war on the horizon, will this really be possible?

The story deals with many themes, such as love, friendship and loss in a sensitive way that even young children can handle and understand. It does not shy away from harder issues, such as the realities of war, but does not present them in an overly graphic or upsetting way. In fact quite the contrary, the story is very uplifting. I really like the way that this story flowed, although I wish that it had been longer, as everything seemed to happen very fast. I can understand why the book was that length though, so as not to overwhelm younger readers, and I do think that for that audience, the book was an appropriate length.

The only part of the story that I wasn't too keen on was the ending. It was quite ambiguous and I wasn't really sure what the author was trying to imply. He was obviously trying to add a twist to the tale, but it left me with more questions that answers, and I feel that it didn't quite fit with the rest of the book.

Despite the ending, I really did enjoy the book. The characters were likeable, and the boys would be easy for readers to relate to. Bertie was a really likeable character with his kind, loving nature, and loyalty to his lion friend. This is the first book that I have read by this author, and will be definitely reading more of his work. This is a magical heartwarwing story and I'm sure that kids will read it more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This story brought tears to my eyes, 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
I first listened to this story on a tape in the car. I thought that my 6 year old son would enjoy listening to an animal story. Yes, he absolutely loved it so that we had to buy the book as well. It is much, much more than just an animal story, and it brought tears to my eyes and gave me goosebumps to the back of my neck. I would unhesitatingly recommend it to children but also to adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Michael Morpurgo books I've read!, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Butterfly Lion (Paperback)
This book made me cry a lot but it did have a very happy ending. It's one of the best books he has written and made me want to read more of his books. The saddest bit in the book was when Bertie fired a shot into the sky to make the white lion run away, to stop the magnificent lion getting locked in a cage. My best bit was when the little boy saw the big white lion on the hill! The ending was a real surprise, but I won't spoil it. There is a lion on a hill near where I live, and whenever I see it I think of this story. You should read this book too. Millie, aged 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Butterfly Lion (Collector's Edition)
The Butterfly Lion (Collector's Edition) by Michael Morpurgo (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2011)
9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews