Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class
This is an exciting and informative book which complements the TV series and App perfectly. Excellent choice of castles, well researched and constantly entertaining
Published on 27 Dec. 2012 by RSD SHARP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch the dvd
If you want just a simple introduction to any of these 5 wonderful 'Battle Castles', then buy the dvd.
If you have seen the tv series; then you do not need this book; you learn nothing new.

The book's contributors are excellent authorities, but the book itself lacks any further analysis or annotated maps.
If you want more detailed information on any...
Published 12 months ago by GRAEME


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch the dvd, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
If you want just a simple introduction to any of these 5 wonderful 'Battle Castles', then buy the dvd.
If you have seen the tv series; then you do not need this book; you learn nothing new.

The book's contributors are excellent authorities, but the book itself lacks any further analysis or annotated maps.
If you want more detailed information on any of the castles, there are better sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - don't buy a kindle version., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is excellent but I should've bought it as a book.

I chose this book as my first ever Amazon Kindle experience. I'm just about to start teaching a GCSE project on castles and this book is recommended by the exam board. The book itself did not disappoint. This review is purely about the kindle product.

I spent ages reading this in its tiny form, unable to zoom in. Having never used kindle before, i thought it normal and was naturally thinking that this would be my first and last kindle purchase. It wasn't until my partner told me that there was clearly something wrong with the formatting that I then felt I had been misssold.

I will be complaining directly to Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
This is an exciting and informative book which complements the TV series and App perfectly. Excellent choice of castles, well researched and constantly entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle castles, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
Great book for all those interested in history and the people involved. Loved the reconstruction photos. This book is great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book on a complex subject, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Mark Le Sueur "Jersey Bean" (Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
Nice book on a complex subject. A good introduction to a whole new aspect of our history. A first class and very readable start point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
bought this for my hubby...he loves it. Great as a pick up/put down book. Dip into it as and when you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Snow Battle Castles, 17 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Susanne Willshaw "mitzymu" (shetland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
here was an exciting book which adds fine detail behind knowledge I piced up in school many years ago. Dan had added facts about the castles I have visited and those after this book I intend to visit I love delving into history and both my husband and I are intereested in the weaponry and how castles survived or not battles amd sieges. A book one can pick up and put down on aregular basis. The photgraphs are brilliant and matched with the TV programme And Dans gift for giving you facts draw the reader in on a quest for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battle castle, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
i rated this because the book was a good size and had lots of contents and many castles from all over and my friend loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
Everything you would expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battle castles, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
this was a fab find, arrived on time and much appreciated at xmas. good value for money. Thanks a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare
Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare by Dan Snow (Hardcover - 27 Sept. 2012)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews