Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class
This is an exciting and informative book which complements the TV series and App perfectly. Excellent choice of castles, well researched and constantly entertaining
Published 21 months ago by RSD SHARP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch the dvd
If you want just a simple introduction to any of these 5 wonderful 'Battle Castles', then buy the dvd.
If you have seen the tv series; then you do not need this book; you learn nothing new.

The book's contributors are excellent authorities, but the book itself lacks any further analysis or annotated maps.
If you want more detailed information on any...
Published 5 months ago by GRAEME


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
This is an exciting and informative book which complements the TV series and App perfectly. Excellent choice of castles, well researched and constantly entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Snow Battle Castles, 17 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Susanne Willshaw "mitzymu" (shetland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
here was an exciting book which adds fine detail behind knowledge I piced up in school many years ago. Dan had added facts about the castles I have visited and those after this book I intend to visit I love delving into history and both my husband and I are intereested in the weaponry and how castles survived or not battles amd sieges. A book one can pick up and put down on aregular basis. The photgraphs are brilliant and matched with the TV programme And Dans gift for giving you facts draw the reader in on a quest for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative and Easy to read, 13 July 2014
By 
J. Jones (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
Great book, very informative and easy to read. Lots of illustrations and interesting details about the various castles, the people who worked on them and the Kings who had them built or modified. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in castles and their construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle castles, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
Great book for all those interested in history and the people involved. Loved the reconstruction photos. This book is great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch the dvd, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
If you want just a simple introduction to any of these 5 wonderful 'Battle Castles', then buy the dvd.
If you have seen the tv series; then you do not need this book; you learn nothing new.

The book's contributors are excellent authorities, but the book itself lacks any further analysis or annotated maps.
If you want more detailed information on any of the castles, there are better sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
bought this for my hubby...he loves it. Great as a pick up/put down book. Dip into it as and when you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love castles you will enjoy this, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
I love books about castles and battles, and i think Dan Snow is brilliant. Amazon has some really good deals on books, and this was another i got at a good price. Very very interesting, and it looks great on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battle castles, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
this was a fab find, arrived on time and much appreciated at xmas. good value for money. Thanks a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars battle castle, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare (Hardcover)
i rated this because the book was a good size and had lots of contents and many castles from all over and my friend loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor production, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The editor who cleared this version for production is obviously lazy and totally incompetent. It seems that, on my Kindle Fire, it can be only viewed in landscape two pages at a time. this results in print that is so small that it is almost impossible to read and illustrations which are very grainy. The legibility problem is exacerbated by the choice of font style which is not designed for situations where pixels are in short supply. I am sure the text would be quite interesting if only you could read it. The "look inside" version which is displayed on a full resolution screen, one page at a time in portrait mode, gives a totally false impression of what it would look like on a Kindle Fire. Publishing e-books like this in this form will totally undermine the credibility of the e-book concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare
Battle Castles: 500 Years of Knights and Siege Warfare by Dan Snow (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews