Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read...
Simon Tolkien has a written a very good story spanning two countries and 15 years, in his second novel, "The Inheritance". A war criminal in deed, if not charged, Professor John Cade, is found shot to death in his Oxford home. The house abounds with suspects; his two sons, an old war crony and his wife, a researcher for Cade, and several others. The Oxford police, with a...
Published on 11 July 2010 by Jill Meyer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit pedestrian
The writing was good, the characters were fairly well-developed and the plot was believable, but, in the end, I couldn't really bring myself to CARE about the characters or "who did it"...
Published 11 months ago by Mikel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read..., 11 July 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
Simon Tolkien has a written a very good story spanning two countries and 15 years, in his second novel, "The Inheritance". A war criminal in deed, if not charged, Professor John Cade, is found shot to death in his Oxford home. The house abounds with suspects; his two sons, an old war crony and his wife, a researcher for Cade, and several others. The Oxford police, with a fair amount of surety, charge and convict Cade's younger son, who stands to hang within days of his conviction. This is in 1959, when Britain still had the death penalty in murder cases.

But his barrister and a member of the Oxford Police Department who helped convict Stephen Cade doubt his guilt. Disturbing echos of the war crime John Cade had committed in Normandy after D-Day with two subordinates, have returned to haunt the case. Throw in a missing Cross of St Peter, which everyone seems to be searching for, and the fact that almost no one, other than the Cade family, are who they say they are, and the reader has a fine mystery to read. It's a well-written book with a satisfying ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Substantial, Well-Done Thriller Worthy of Author's Name, 9 April 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inheritance (Hardcover)
"The Inheritance," a new British mystery/courtroom drama/thriller by Simon Tolkien, whom the Los Angeles Times has described as "half Christie and half Grisham," gives us the tale of the murder of John Cade, Colonel Cade during his war hero World War II years; now an honored Professor Cade at England's prestigious Oxford University. The don is found dead in his locked study; circumstantial evidence weighs heavy against his son Stephen, who soon ("The Inheritance" is set in the 1950's, when the United Kingdom still hanged those convicted of murder), finds himself on trial for his life in the Old Bailey, London's famous old courthouse. However, there were five other people in the Cade manor that night, and Detective Inspector William Trave of the Oxford and Midland CID, who had initially gathered the evidence that put Stephen on trial, is now, rather late in the day, having misgivings as to his part in building this case. He is revisiting the alibis and backgrounds of the others in the house; he will find and unravel a thread that goes back to the Professor's WWII service in France.

This is a pretty good thriller, it kept me turning the pages, and I liked it. England of the 1950's is well-rendered, as is the Oxford area, its flora and fauna, and the speech of its people. London is also well-rendered. The dialog, narrative and descriptive writing all satisfied me. Characters struck me as unusually sturdy and well-drawn for an entertainment of this type. The courtroom scenes may not have the snap of master Grisham, but they kept my attention fixed on the plight of poor Stephen. The plot is, of course, an artificial construct - aren't they all, come to thrillers--and rarely has there been an English book with so many French, and/or Catholics running about, the better to throw dust in the reader's eye. Still, I was able to pick out the villain by pure process of elimination, as many other mystery fans may well be able to do. The villain is, in fact, a fairly classic Agatha Christie villain, in terms of looks, intelligence, social situation, and behavior, even unto taking the last two chapters to "'splain" it all at length; something that, by the by, hasn't been considered a good way to end a mystery at least since Christie's day.

"The Inheritance" follows on the highly-lauded heels of Final Witness (2002), the writer's first fictional effort. Simon Tolkien was a successful barrister in London who specialized in criminal justice, before moving himself, his wife, and two children to California. He is the grandson of the world-famous J.R.R. Tolkien, an Oxford don for nearly 40 years, and the author of the fantasy masterpieces The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings (3 Book Box set). On the basis of his current effort, I'd say Simon's work is well-enough done that it would be published no matter what his last name was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit pedestrian, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Mikel (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
The writing was good, the characters were fairly well-developed and the plot was believable, but, in the end, I couldn't really bring myself to CARE about the characters or "who did it"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inheritance by gift or action, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
This is a great compelling tripartite book. Nicely balanced but not ruined by a sloppy ending. It falls happily into crime fiction without being formulaic. The long lasting results of people's actions leave one continuing to meditate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in the writing quality, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
The story itself was great but the writing let it down and made it hard to stay with the tale. The multiple switches in narrative point of view (sometimes mid para!) made it very difficult to get to know the characters properly. I found it difficult to care about any of them and hence it was a struggle to get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
Good story keeps you guessing plenty of twists and turns. Well told suspense and good characters and sub plots in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, but not his best work, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
Was pretty obvious 'who done it' from early on, also a lot of spelling mistakes and gramatical errors that should have been picked up when proof read by the publisher,
Ending was poor, almost gave the character a super hero status which I didn't feel matched the rest of the book,
I like this author, the basic story line and plot was good, just needed something more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 April 2013
This review is from: The Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent book that keeps you fully occupied and wanting to keep reading. You are kept guessing until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Inheritance, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
An eminent art historian is found dead in his study and all the evidence points towards his estranged son. With his fingerprints on the murder weapon, Stephen's guilt seems undeniable. Don't worry folks I am not giving anything away here, I copied this from the back of this book.

I picked this up because a friend of mine recommended it and the name helped a little bit as well. What I liked about the book is its title. When you start reading the book it seems obvious which inheritance is meant but as you are progressing through the book it becomes obvious that there is more than one inheritance and every one of them is of vital importance to the people involved.

The author describes a lot of what is happening and most of the background for understanding the story. I would have preferred it, if this information was told by the main actors of the story rather than as a description by the author.

The story is part of the `Inspector Trave series' but Inspector Trave plays only a minor role in the book and doesn't really come into his own in the last part of the book. For a detective novel I thought his appearance in the story is a bit thin.

But apart from this, The Inheritance is a fine story and I wouldn't be surprised if quite a few readers find it a pageturner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inheritance (Paperback)
This was my first Simon Tolkien book. I saw him on Breakfast TV and was impressed by him so I thought I'd try one of his books.

It was a very good read. I read the book in less than a week and thoroughly enjoyed the story and the pace of the book never lets you get bored.

I'll definatley be buying another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inheritance
The Inheritance by Simon Tolkien (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
6.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews