Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top buy
Absolutely fabulous book cannot wait to use it when we take our usual trip up the Thames to Oxford from the Thames Estuary. Contains everything needed for a safe and enjoyable trip.
Published on 27 Feb. 2012 by Jan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Did not reach Nicholson's high standards
Although most of the book was very good, a printing error led to pages on the river Stort not being overprinted with the information on the navigation requirements for the river (locks, etc). This is a serious omission, as this information is the whole reason for the purchase of the guide.
Published 12 months ago by romagaro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tip Top buy, 27 Feb. 2012
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
Absolutely fabulous book cannot wait to use it when we take our usual trip up the Thames to Oxford from the Thames Estuary. Contains everything needed for a safe and enjoyable trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicolsons Guide to Thames, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
Have used these books for inland waterways travel throughout UK for 30 years. Always reliable and clear. Esential if travelling by boat on UK rivers and canals. Paper copy easier to use than iPad app as risk of dropping iPad overboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just the job, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
Ive bought many of these guides over the years and just like all the others this one has not disappointed me, its full of information essential not just for boaters but everyone who enjoys the waterways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool on the river, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
A very useful book with maps of the river and mooring sites, locks etc. General information on boating valuable for all boating enthusiasts both novices and experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map book, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly detailed maps of the waterways including lots of history notes, details of marinas, boat yards, locks - everything you need to know. Great for my kayaking adventures! Also details nearby pubs (essential!). Only small thing to note is it is not easy to tell which pub is which on the map but this is a small grumble really. This is a fab guide and I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An essential for canal travel, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of the Nicholson's guides, it is a well written and informative book that assists the boater, walker or cyclist in their journey along the canals (and in this case the River Thames as well) of Britain. Clear detailed maps and sufficient description of surrounding villages and towns to give information on where to purchase provisions etc. As always there are one or two minor errors (although in fairness these may be things that have changed since the book was last updated). It would be helpful if a little more information was given on things which are likely to catch out the boater if unfamiliar with an area (for example when a water point is hidden immediately behind a bridge!) but, overall a very helpful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars could do with more details about mooring., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used Nicholson guides fir years on the canals, this was my first trip on the river and while still good I found the desired regarding mooring left something to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to the canals of sourthern England, 28 July 2013
By 
Mr. D. Morley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this for a walking holiday along the Kennet and Avon canal and was not disappointed. It is primarily aimed at boaters, but the information is also in many ways relevant for walkers as regards the villages, pubs and other facilities that can be enjoyed. Of course it covers a number of canals and the navigable River Thames from near Lechlade. It does not start at the Thames' source, which is of course only relevant information for walkers!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we wanted, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Ann Jarvis "annj" (Devizes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
We had been looking for a guide for walking the Kennet & Avon Tow Path from Reading to our home near Devizes. This is ideal, as although for narrow boat users it gives detailed maps, places of interest and more importantly pubs along the way to contact for over night stays en route. Because it also includes other waterways in the south it has also given us ideas for other walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7) (Spiral-bound)
The Nicholson canal cruising guides continues to be, in my opinion, better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others. However the 'new edition' still contains out-of date material that obviously hasn't been checked and updated (shops and pubs that have closed years rather than months ago, etc). And the text does, for me, spend too much space on churches & real ale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Thames & the Southern Waterways (Collins/Nicholson Waterways Guides, Book 7)
Used & New from: £4.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews