Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted with this excellent guide
I purchased Nicholson Waterways Guide to Northwest and The Pennines
And I am pleased with it
This guide is spiral bound which is perfect for browsing
I do not own a narrow boat and like to walk along the canals in the North West
and especially the Peak Forrest Canal
I can honestly recommend this book
Published on 29 July 2012 by Mr. S. Holmes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars all a bit outdated
useful map some history info interesting but anything date related is getting quite inaccurate and must be regarded as suspect.
it remains one of the few maps showing bridge and lock numbers - even canal & river trust cannot decide which to use when.
At amazon price just less than £10 the price is about ok.
Published 20 months ago by jon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted with this excellent guide, 29 July 2012
By 
Mr. S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
I purchased Nicholson Waterways Guide to Northwest and The Pennines
And I am pleased with it
This guide is spiral bound which is perfect for browsing
I do not own a narrow boat and like to walk along the canals in the North West
and especially the Peak Forrest Canal
I can honestly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best available guide to British waterways, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
This is an extremely useful guide for the parts of the waterways network covered if you plan to go narrowboating. Keep this guide with you constantly while travelling the canals or their towpaths. It helps to locate exactly where you are, and to calculate how long it will take to reach your planned destination. Shops, pubs and boatyards are all shown, and the navigation notes explain any tricky parts that have to be negotiated.
The book is one of a series of seven equally useful guides covering various parts of the canal network and collectively covering all of it. I collected all of them about 10 years ago.
A particulaly useful feature is the spiral wire binding which allows the guide to lie flat at any page opening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did what it said on the tin, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Great guide it showed exactly what I needed .
Covers all details for Canal walkers, riders or boat users .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Spiral bound on what feels like heavy quality 100gram paper, this A5 book contains the relevant info as advertised. If you're intent on walking the Cheshire ring, be aware that you'll have to carry it in your hand or rucksack because the weight will positively ruin the line of your Gucci hiking jacket. It feels like bladed paper so I'm uncertain how it will stand up to the Cheshire veldt monsoon: a decent map case might be in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are sailing!, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
I. P. Sayle "Taffy's stuff" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Look out the Leeds Liverpool Canal I'm on me way, great book and sent very fast, has more than enough information for our trip on the canal.
EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was everything I wanted to know about the canals in the North West, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
C Sumpner (Halifax UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
I would recommend this book to canal users, whether you have a barge or whether you are a keen walker of the canal systems (as I am). Great detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as useful to the walker as the boater, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
I used the guide on a recent canal walk-cum pub crawl from Leeds to Burnley and it was just as useful as it appears to be for boating enthusiasts, although as I'm not a bargee I cant really comment on that aspect of the guide.Plenty of useful information about the history of the surroundings of the Leeds-Liverpool canal, a very useful set of maps and details of pubs and hotels along the way was very helpful in planning our trip. Might even try one of the many other waterways described in this volume in the near future-oh, and delivery was prompt as ever from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars detailed guide, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
we have just bought our second narrowboat after 8 years and needed to stock up on our guides, this one is perfect,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide to the canals., 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
A very clear and informative guide to these canals with useful information about the towns/villages they pass through and the facilities nearby.
Brief historical information is included where appropriate and local sites that may interest those whose vision extends to industrial archaeology is also covered.
An essential guide whether you are travelling on water, or on foot on the towpath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
The Nicholson canal cruising guides continues to be, in my opinion, better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others. However the 'new edition' still contains out-of date material that obviously hasn't been checked and updated (shops and pubs that have closed years rather than months ago, etc). And the text does, for me, spend too much space on churches & real ale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North West & the Pennines No. 5 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides)
Used & New from: £11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews