Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Collins Canal Guides
I recently bought this as my last Collins Four Counties was around 14 years old. I really like the Collins Guides as I like their quirkiness such as the occasional historical information, but I do not feel that they make much of an effort to update or put additional information in them when they bring out a newer version. They could maybe add what the mooring situation...
Published on 29 Jun. 2013 by anynamewilldo

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable publication, but printing errors question its reliability as a solid guide
Bought this book under the impression that Collins/Nicholson would proof read the guides before publication, but it appears that somebody got a bit lazy with cutting and pasting the generic map pages around the six different editions. Book 4 has the map relevant to Book 5...so I don't know what to expect when I receive Book 5 on super saver shortly.

Overall...
Published on 27 Jun. 2012 by R. Shrubsall


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and accurate, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Nicholson's guides have been around for years and they've come a long way since the old blue and white 'sketched' maps. I find these maps easier to read than the other guides. Just be prepared to turn the page upside down occasionally to follow where you are going, and read the commentary from bottom to top. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collins waterways guides, 16 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Just returned from a week on the Llangollen canal. This book was an invaluable asset. No maps/info really supplied by boatyard, so this was our main reference as to the availability of water points, pubs and overnight moorings. Also very descriptive of the area you are passing through. Most useful and fully recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative guide, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doing the four counties ring this summer. Plenty of information on locks, facilities close at hand and places of interest within local areas.
We were on part of this canal system and had used a similar guide at that time but that was thirty years ago so thought there must be lots of changes since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
This is the 4th book we have purchased for our holidays on the canals and as always we find them very helpful. We have been using these books for years and for us they are a must for our holiday. They take a bit of getting used to but once you have worked out how they work, easy peasy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 May 2014
By 
Llewellyn Rogers "Lou" (Martha's Vineyard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Nicely done, good information of the canals. I would like to see more road names and numbers to correlate with canal locations. Nice maps. Took a few minutes to figure out how to piece together the maps from one page to another. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
I chose this as a replacement, as these guides are perfect for any boating holiday. As well as giving guidance to the canal, they give a good comprehensive guide to the surrounding area of the canal and a brief history. I would never go without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to have with us, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Just what was needed on a wonderful canal boat holiday, kept us informed off where we were going and where
to moor. Everyone should have one of these when going out on a canal they do not know. A Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
It's a very handy book for those who are travelling with a narrowboat,
detailed discription from routes and what to expect on it.
(locks bridges etc.) also some information about pubs and restaurants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, as ever., 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
These books are essential to enjoying the canals, though they could still be better. It's impossible to have them entirely up to date, but this is a replacement for a 10 year old version, so mostly reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent informative and easy to use., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Just got into tow paths and this book will be great for us to see where and what to do. These books are so good because they are spiral bound and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides)
Used & New from: £38.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews