Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others
The Nicholson canal cruising guides continues to be, in my opinion, better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others. However the 'new edition' still contains out-of date material that obviously hasn't been checked and updated (shops and pubs that have closed years rather than months ago, etc). And the text does, for me, spend too much space on churches & real ale!
Published 9 days ago by Rose Hobwin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable publication, but printing errors question its reliability as a solid guide
Bought this book under the impression that Collins/Nicholson would proof read the guides before publication, but it appears that somebody got a bit lazy with cutting and pasting the generic map pages around the six different editions. Book 4 has the map relevant to Book 5...so I don't know what to expect when I receive Book 5 on super saver shortly.

Overall...
Published on 27 Jun 2012 by R. Shrubsall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable publication, but printing errors question its reliability as a solid guide, 27 Jun 2012
By 
R. Shrubsall (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Bought this book under the impression that Collins/Nicholson would proof read the guides before publication, but it appears that somebody got a bit lazy with cutting and pasting the generic map pages around the six different editions. Book 4 has the map relevant to Book 5...so I don't know what to expect when I receive Book 5 on super saver shortly.

Overall Four Counties and the Welsh Canals has some nice doctored Ordnance Survey maps, but as a directory of the route I suspect it might be a little sparse on detail, so have ordered the Pearson guides as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical!, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
When I bought a set of 'New Edition' Nicholsons Guides immediately they were available, I mistakenly hoped for improvements on the earlier edition, with real updates. I should have known better - information still out of date, sometimes by more than a year. Still, that's Nicholsons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
The Nicholson canal cruising guides continues to be, in my opinion, better than Pearson (the main competitor) and others. However the 'new edition' still contains out-of date material that obviously hasn't been checked and updated (shops and pubs that have closed years rather than months ago, etc). And the text does, for me, spend too much space on churches & real ale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of useful information for novices, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
I took this book with me on my first ever canal boat trip and found it really helpful. My husband had been on the canals before but I hadn't and having a method of planning the route, knowing where we could fill up with water and where we could stop and moor for the night near a pub or shops to get something to eat was a godsend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and accurate, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Nicholson's guides have been around for years and they've come a long way since the old blue and white 'sketched' maps. I find these maps easier to read than the other guides. Just be prepared to turn the page upside down occasionally to follow where you are going, and read the commentary from bottom to top. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Maps won't zoom in Amazon Kindle App for Windows., 5 July 2014
By 
feline1 (Brighton, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicholson's Waterways Guides are the gold standard for practical canal info, but there seem to be a few teething problems in bringing them to eBook format. Obviously, these guides contain a lot of maps and photos, so are best viewed on a device with a hi-res colour screen, rather than one of Amazon's black & white Kindle devices.
Whilst this Kindle edition works fine on my Kindle Paperwhite (in that I can tap on photos and maps, then pinch to zoom), this is not the ideal way to view them - instead I'd expect them to come into their own on Amazon's Kindle App for Windows. However I've found that I can't zoom on the maps in the Windows Kindle App. Bit of a non-starter as regards practicality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Used one of these some years ago and bought this ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Used one of these some years ago and bought this as soon as we booked another trip. I wouldn't do a narrowboat cruise without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Very useful and informative book all , good maps with interesting facts about the local area you will be heading through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 May 2014
By 
Llewellyn Rogers "Lou" (Martha's Vineyard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Nicely done, good information of the canals. I would like to see more road names and numbers to correlate with canal locations. Nice maps. Took a few minutes to figure out how to piece together the maps from one page to another. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides) (Spiral-bound)
This is a good starter for getting to know the canal and the area. Looking forward for using it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Counties & the Welsh Canals No. 4 (Collins Nicholson Waterways Guides)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews