Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great farming story about life in the last century
This is a beautifully illustrated book by Michael Foreman,which captures life on a rural Devon farm between the wars.It features Joey,an extraordinary horse,who is the inspiration for Morpurgo's book 'War Horse'.Morpurgo once again deals with relationships between the young and the old, this time the grandson helps the grandfather to read and write and in return the old...
Published on 6 April 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very short
A nice story, ties in nicely with war horse - but still good as a stand-alone read if you haven't read war horse. However, it's very short - especially when you take into account the number of pictures in the book (all beautifully drawn though). Would be more appropriate as part of a collection of short stories, rather than sold alone, I think.
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Lauren S. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great farming story about life in the last century, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book by Michael Foreman,which captures life on a rural Devon farm between the wars.It features Joey,an extraordinary horse,who is the inspiration for Morpurgo's book 'War Horse'.Morpurgo once again deals with relationships between the young and the old, this time the grandson helps the grandfather to read and write and in return the old man retells stories of his youth. These he writes down for his grandson to take with him on his travels.The main story is about a ploughing match and how modern methods are not always the best!This is a wonderful book for young and old,some who may actually recognize the farming advertisements of yesteryear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle, heartwarming tale, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Ben Kane (Nr Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
Having recently read and loved War Horse, I was then lucky enough to see the stage production in London. Finding there that there was a sequel - Farm Boy - to War Horse, I bought it soon afterwards.

This is a shorter tale than the first book. While it doesn't carry the emotional punch of War Horse, it is nonetheless a charming and well-written story of the relationship between the narrator and his grandfather. Through them we find out what happened to Joey, the horse who went to war and against all odds, returned safely with his owner. The book is beautifully illustrated throughout, and I would recommend it highly as an excellent read.

Ben Kane, author of Hannibal: Enemy of Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm Boy (Kindle Edition)
I loved war horse an this book was no different i don't agree with other comments that it was repetitive to war horse at all, was a little on the short side which is why I gave it a 4 , not sure the price is too justified either I read this in an hour. But a good read all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the past, 5 April 2005
By 
Mo (Stourbridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
This story takes place over a relatively short amount of time and yet spans three generations. Michael Morpurgo gives us two contrasting first person narratives that illustrate the relationship between a grandson and his grandfather. The main narrative is that of the grandson, which is very much based in reality. On the other hand grandpa's story is what I would call a tale because it concentrates on incident rather than character and is closer to the oral tradition in terms of the use of dialect. This narrative is woven into the other. The distance between the two narratives is through time; however, they are very close due to the setting. Morpurgo uses several motifs such as the ideals of now and then and lost tradition. The lead motifs are an old Fordson Tractor and a horse called Joey.
Joey has his own story which takes part in World War I, however in this story it is Grandpa who is central. The opening of the book introduces us to the grandson and the old green Fordson tractor which form part of his daydreams. Although there is no apparent link at first, the tractor is also an integral part of the story; a story that unfolds when the old man takes his grandson into his confidence and discloses his secret (he can not read). After being taught to read by his grandson, Grandpa writes him a story about how the tractor was won in a ploughing race between it and his fathers horses (Joey and Zoey).
Michael Foreman brings the settings alive with his detailed water colour illustrations which are printed in black and white (In my edition). The primary setting for the book is the family farm in rural Devon. However, through Grandpa's reminiscing we also see a glimpse of World War I. The farm represents the families history and is the element of the story that gives you the atmosphere of tradition and change. In the present day setting it appears that the farming tradition is going to be lost and this is also the case in the setting of grandpa's tale. Here I think Morpurgo is trying to paint an optimistic outlook for the lifestyles of the past by illustrating that change is not always bad. In the present the farm's future lays with the grandson because his father chose a different career. In grandpa's story it was technology that apparently threatened their way of life.
At the centre of this book is the relationship between the two main characters. Morpurgo illustrates this well through a balance of power; grandpa obviously has a lot of experience but it is his grandson that gives him the opportunity to write it down. In essence he learns how to occupy his mind for when he retires and in this respect it is a substantial gift. The story concludes with the grandson telling the reader that he as decided to become a farmer having studied engineering. He fixes the tractor to bring us full circle with a daydream becoming reality.
This book is like a bowl of hot chicken soup on a cold winter's day. You can almost hear the voice of your own granddad as your reading. When I had finished the book I could not help thinking that I do not talked to my granddad as often as I would like. It also tells us a lot about a lost oral tradition because it lends itself to being read aloud. After reading this book I went out and bought War Horse (Joey's story).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm Boy (Kindle Edition)
So disappointed with this book - I only bought it as a sequel to War Horse and even the grandfather's recounting of the story differs from the original War Horse in a number of ways. I found myself re reading War Horse in case my memory had played tricks on me! Whilst the story is somewhat interesting it lacks depth and substance and I have to agree with other reviewers that it was rushed out to capitalise on the success of War Horse. I expected to find out what happened after the war and to be drawn into the post war life of Joey and the newly married Albert. Instead I read the whole book in around an hour and felt really let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very short, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Lauren S. Thomas "LT" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
A nice story, ties in nicely with war horse - but still good as a stand-alone read if you haven't read war horse. However, it's very short - especially when you take into account the number of pictures in the book (all beautifully drawn though). Would be more appropriate as part of a collection of short stories, rather than sold alone, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farm Boy, 12 Jan 2008
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
Who are the main characters? Who is your favourite character and why?
Grandpa, his grandson, Joey and Zoey the horses, Mum and Dad

What is the basic plot of the book and how does it develop?
The plot of the story is that the boy in the story goes to stay at his grandfathers house just for the holidays but actually ends up staying for a couple of months to teach his grandpa to read and write. He helped with the farm work and he really enjoyed the stay.

How would you describe the atmosphere of the book?
It is a powerful story of family life, changing times, a competition between an old green tractor
and a powerful plough horse named Joey that will never be forgotten.

What was the most exciting moment in the book?
Well it is very exciting when the grandpa has to take over from his father in a bet.

What were the best and worst things about this book?
I think it was all good especially because it was like a diary entry. One bad thing is that it doesn't mention the name of the boy in the story.

Did this book change the way you thought or felt about anything?
Well know I realise that farmers have a reasonably good life because before I though that they have a very difficult and hard life.

Who do you think would like this book?
I think that children from 7 - 11 would enjoy reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel, 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
I read this when we did Readathon at school. I'm in year 8.

This fun filled book by Michael Morpurgo is the sequel to the major motion picture: War Horse. Joey (the War Horse) and his owner, Albert, have had their story, now Albert's great grandson can have his. Albert's son isn't able to read (long after Albert is dead), so Albert's great grandson helps him. Albert's great grandson's Grandpa is Albert's son. So, when Grandpa's wife finds out, she helps him to read. However, halfway through teaching him, she dies. Grandpa thinks his wife would want him to carry on learning, so he bets his grandson 100 that he can read an Agatha Christie book before Christmas if he teaches him. When his grandson leaves to go home, after being a farm boy for a month, he finds an envelope in his bag. It holds 100 as promised and a note. The note says Grandpa has not only read the book, but written his own story. His story is about his father Albert and his horse Joey, after the original War Horse story.

I would recommend this book because it is very heart-warming, but it would be best to see or read War Horse first, then read the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farm Boy (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great sequel to war horse but it was a little shorter than I expected only 107 pages, so not good if you want this book for a holiday read. Still I recommend this book to any wanting to find out what happened next for the war horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars setting the record straight, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Farm Boy (Paperback)
I think some people might be under the misconception that this story was 'rushed out' to follow the success of War Horse and are mistakenly judging it as such. The story was originally published in 1997, but I have to agree the re-print might have been as a result of the stage production and film of the earlier (1982) book. However, it is a nice sequel. Morpurgo has a lovely easy-reading style and this story is gentle but descriptive of an earlier era with the turmoil of the WW1 behind them, the change of living as a result of the conflict with a narrative of very rural, traditional community. Wholly a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farm Boy
Farm Boy by Michael Morpurgo (Paperback - 29 Sep 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews