Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable review for a mobile professional
As a mobile developer, I am following the progress of the major computing platforms, but I don't have much time for reading and analysing and comparing various sources of information and opinions. This book gave me a lot of valuable information and added substantially to my understanding of the industry. Its final conclusion seems to hold true now, one year later. Google...
Published 7 months ago by Alexander Kolesnikov

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent but not a great book with a flawed conclusion
A decent but not a great book with a flawed conclusion

As someone who has followed the subject matter of this book closely for as many years as the author, if not more, I found this to be a decent book, but far from a great one. It tells the story from both sides, and that was pretty well done as far as it went, but nothing new or extraordinary emerged. One of...
Published 14 months ago by Robert Clay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable review for a mobile professional, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a mobile developer, I am following the progress of the major computing platforms, but I don't have much time for reading and analysing and comparing various sources of information and opinions. This book gave me a lot of valuable information and added substantially to my understanding of the industry. Its final conclusion seems to hold true now, one year later. Google came up with Android Wear, a long expected platform for smart watches, and there is a range of attractive devices that implement it. On the other hand, Apple is still silent about the speculated iWatch, and by the middle of 2014 it still hasn't announced anything substantially new. The absence of Steve Jobs is felt very strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent but not a great book with a flawed conclusion, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A decent but not a great book with a flawed conclusion

As someone who has followed the subject matter of this book closely for as many years as the author, if not more, I found this to be a decent book, but far from a great one. It tells the story from both sides, and that was pretty well done as far as it went, but nothing new or extraordinary emerged. One of the central themes in the book is that the winner of any patent wars nearly always becomes the dominant player, and numerous historic examples were cited.

In the patent wars between iOS and Android, Apple is comprehensively trouncing Google and its Android Licensees yet the author comes to the puzzling conclusion, contrary to his own theory, that Google now has the upper hand. In the short time since this book was published I would suggest that things have moved even more decisively in Apple's favour. Apple have won again at the patent retrial in Northern California. They've also had an incredibly successful global launch of iPhone 5s/5c, iPad Air and Retina iPad Mini, whereas Samsung's Galaxy S4 seems to be performing well below expectations, Samsung themselves appear to have peaked and in the US Apple now commands a greater share of the US Smartphone market than all of the hundreds of Android handsets and their makers combined. In addition Google and its licensees seem to be very scared indeed of the lawsuits that have recently been issued by the Rockstar consortium, and I quote:

'Google's complaint contains a lot of rhetoric, accusing Rockstar of having "placed a cloud on Google's Android platform" and threatening "Google's business and relationships with its customers and partners, as well as its sales of Nexus-branded Android devices".'

As I understand it Apple have many, many more patents to wield, and I believe those ones are even stronger than the ones they have used so far against Android. When you also consider that the only way that Android has gained market share is essentially by giving away phones for free, it is a non-contest. If they had to sell them them for anything close to what Apple can and does command they'd get nowhere ... As Microsoft has found out the hard way. Anyone can APPEAR to win in the short term by giving product away. But it hardly ensures the survival of the companies concerned. Apple still maintains a price premium because they deliver cutting edge products that people can always depend on. I therefore disagree with the author's conclusion (not particularly clearly stated) which fails to take these facts into account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scintillating stuff, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of best tech history books I've read. Particularly enjoyed the chapter about how the iphone was held together with gum for its 1st demo at macworld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and interesting book, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting book, especially if you are interested in the inception of the iPhone and Android platforms, some very good stories although I did start to lose interest at the very end of the book, probably slightly longer than it needed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The risks associated with getting too big to listen, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like any good read one cannot wait to turn the page.
The book claims to record the factors that governed behaviour of the top people in the World's largest IT businesses.
It is full of intrigue and illustrates how quality (always) wins out over price. The significance of vision+creativity+commitment comes through time after time.
To what extent it is historically accurate remains an unknown. Despite that, the author presents scenarios that are both stimulating and plausible.
It will appeal to those who like to investigate 'why' questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep insights, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
J. Hall "ormondroyd" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogfight: How Apple and Google Went to War and Started a Revolution (Hardcover)
Fascinating rendition of the story so far, full of interesting insider interviews and great depth. I'm a mobile tech professional and still found this very educating and insightful, contrary to a rather harsh previous reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting reading, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Lars Rasmussen (Aarhus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogfight: How Apple and Google Went to War and Started a Revolution (Hardcover)
As a sucker for especially Google and eCommerce it was a pleasure reading this book. Impressive picture of the war between Apple and Google with a lot of insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's side are you on, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if your an Apple fan then its one sided, Google Copied, but, and here is the big but, did Google Drive Apple to be more creative, and what does the future hold, will Google surpass Apple, this book does not have the answers, but it rue is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogfight: How Apple and Google Went to War and Started a Revolution (Hardcover)
for thesis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogfight: How Apple and Google Went to War and Started a Revolution
Dogfight: How Apple and Google Went to War and Started a Revolution by Fred Vogelstein (Hardcover - 12 Nov. 2013)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews