Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 306 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue cover paperback boxset - Excellent Value for money
OK, this is a review to clarify a few things. There seem to be a number of reviews for different versions of this boxset grouped together on amazon - this review is based on the newly released (12th July 11) paperback boxset, with the BLUE box case.

I say review, but this is more to confirm a few things. The novels are excellent, you can read dozens of reviews...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Andrew Hollingshead

versus
61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the first three books.
I came to this series via the four-book Kindle package and read all four books back-to-back over a few weeks.

On the Kindle format:
It seems as though the publishers have no concept of proof reading and quality control. One in ten pages contains typos and formatting errors that often cause the reader to pause in a "What... wait?" manner until you work out...
Published on 29 July 2011 by Zero Gravitas


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good gift, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues (Paperback)
Kept the item as I wanted to give it as an xmas gift but am very disappointed with the way it is packaged, the price of the boxed set is actually inside of the clear wrapping making it impossible to remove the price without removing the wrapping. This is a really bad idea for anyone buying as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones - the book that was "borrowed" and often disappeared from my desk at work lol..., 29 Jun 2011
By 
Game of Thrones, part 1, caught my attention because on the front cover was an eye-catching label emphasizing this is the novel that inspired the hit television series everyone's been watching.

And coincidentally, it would often "disappear" on quiet days at work and to my amusement, my colleagues would start reading from my page, without even bothering to go to the beginning....

It's that good - need I say more?

It's just such an incredible story, and finding a deal with all four books is exactly what I was looking for. So many emotions were evoked from Game of Thrones, on the edge of my seat one moment when reading about the Others or seething with rage at the injustices wrought by the boy-king and his annoying mother.

And that's how I would define this book; it makes you angry, terrified, excited, sometimes sympathetic, but eager for more.

Really can't wait till Part 5 is available on Kindle. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficienza al massimo, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues (Paperback)
Sono rimasto molto soddisfatto dell'acquisto; dopo due giorni il pacco era già arrivato con tutto quello che avevo comprato quindi concludo che amazon e il miglior sito dove puoi comprare online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Bogdan Catalin (Bucharest, ROMANIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues (Paperback)
I haven't started reading them, but I'm sure I'll enjoy it. I'm a huge fan of the genre and the first TV series was a real success.

Also, the price paid for the whole pack was unbelievable :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It would have been nice to have actually received it!, 28 Dec 2011
Having purchased this during the Black Friday promotion as a Christmas present, I was looking forward to basking in the admiration of the recipient come Christmas morning. Sadly, it was not to be due to the utter incompetence of Yodel, who firstly claimed that they had tried to deliver, but couldn't find my house. This may have been understandable had I lived in the back end of beyond and not in an ordinary suburban street that has existed for more than sixty years and is easily found using, oh, I don't know, Google maps or a sat nav perchance.

Then, having endured the horror that is Yodel's telephone customer service to arrange redelivery and to supply hints and tips for finding said suburban house of many decades standing, they then not only failed to redeliver but amended the tracking to claim that they had actually left it in the place arranged on the day that I had phoned and not on the day I had actually arranged for them to do it. I know they didn't leave it on the day they claimed because, oddly enough, I was in at the time they claimed to have done it and my suburban house has, shock horror, windows - all the better to see whether a Yodel van has turned up. Or not, as the case usually is. Plus, it has a doorbell. Yes, one of those, you know Yodel, "ding dong, Yodel calling." That's my ordinary suburban house of six decades standing which in Yodel's universe is strangely elusive, probably six thousand light years east of Saturn and Very Hard To Find. Never mind, Yodel. If in doubt, just tell fibs, it seems to work for both you and very small, angelic children, with dimples and a winsome way.

To be fair to Amazon, they were very helpful and did speak to Yodel about it. Unfortunately, this resulted in nada, zip, nowt beyond a refund because, strange to say, Yodel could not explain exactly which particular Black Hole they had catapulted it into and the item was now out of stock.

So, I expect it would have been a lovely boxed set of books, attractive and pristine and full of wondrous stories, possibly even five stars worth of literary delight. It would have no doubt enchanted the recipient, who would have gazed at me fondly over the crumbs of Rudolph's carrot and murmured, "thank you, darling" in a husky, gratitude filled voice..................well, thanks for nothing Yodel and a Merry Christmas to you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery ... Brilliant, 18 July 2011
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues (Paperback)
Now I want to start by saying that I have not read the books..... yet. My review is about the delivery for this product. Ordered it at 1900 Saturday and it arrived at 1100 on the Monday. Now this not might sound amazing but I choose the free option the 3-5 business days one. If amazon count saturday and sunday as business days then they beat there estimate and I am very happy. Now I can spend a few days reading a hopefully great series

edit... sorry for spelling not my greatest trait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books as you expect them, 8 Oct 2011
The books were correctly packed and arrived to my house very fast. Not much more to say. they are just books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top books, 5 July 2011
Books arrived within given parameters of time, were very well packaged cant wait to get stuck into them, v v good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed set, 19 May 2011
This collection of fantasy sagas has very readable and intriguing plots that make them worth buying in themselves. Martin has produced some excellent characterizations but spoilt this with stereotypical characters. Unfortunately the paperback set although well priced is too small and printed on cheap paper. Many of the storylines mainly of political intrigue, magic and supernatural aspects of another world although eminently readable are also confusing. Possibly this perplexity is caused by Martin setting the stories in a pseudo medieval landscape. On balance I much prefer actual historical fiction about the Middle Ages. Try: Viking Sword Saxon Shield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues
A Song of Ice and Fire - A Game of Thrones: The Story Continues by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - 12 July 2011)
Used & New from: £34.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews