Customer Reviews


2,267 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,764)
4 star:
 (312)
3 star:
 (92)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The series so far...
I have just finally finished the last available book of A Song Of Ice And Fire and as this is one of the best series I have ever read, I thought I'd write a review and post it for potential future readers. Since I made the mistake of reading some of the reviews on here and unfortunately came across a massive spoiler which ruined a huge plot development for me at the end...
Published 23 months ago by A. Pieterse

versus
235 of 249 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book, poor edition
As advertised, this is an incredibly good book - believe all the hype and purchase it immediately!

My one gripe is the format of the Kindle edition which is literally covered with typos e.g. 'Tf' for 'It', 'boh' for 'both' and quite frequently 'bum' or 'bumed' for 'burn' or 'burned'.

My suggestion, as this sort of poor quality production detracts...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Sebastian


‹ Previous | 1201 202 203227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the tv series!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down. Largely similar to the tv series but the book draws you deeper into the world of GoT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. Much Easier to read when u have watched some of the tv show to picture all of the scenarios
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, love it., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book, only thing is I cant put it down and nothing is getting done it the house !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jordan? Erikson? Tolkien? Don't make me laugh, 10 Dec 2003
By 
M. D. Smart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't bother summarising the plot, because it would take too long and besides, one of the greatest joys in this book is being completely staggered by the unexpected directions the story takes. I just felt the need to comment on a few criticisms that have appeared on these pages. Firstly, anyone who can appreciate good literature will agree that this book not just rises but SOARS over every other fantasy sequence ever written. It's quality is far beyond Tolkien's achievements, and as for Robert Jordan... even those who enjoy his plots or characters must surely still be able to recognise that his prose is awful. George R R Martin's language is by turns shocking, crude, beautiful, erotic, horrifying and poetic. Yes, the violence is some of the most graphic I've ever encountered, and the sex is pretty explicit. yes, bad things happen to good characters, so much so that you'll be screaming with frustration at the injustice of it all by the end. What a breath of fresh air! Some fantasy fans seem to want a 'black and white' world where good and evil are clearly defined, but Martin's 'shades of grey' are exactly the shot in the arm the fantasy genre needed. The only question is: can you handle it? Are you mature enough to read about real characters who each have their varying degrees of faults and foibles, about real emotions like grief, hatred, lust? If not, go back to your Tolkien; it's your loss. Maybe one day you'll be ready to appreciate this astonishing peice of work from the modern saviour of fantasy fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, superb, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. P. P. Donaldson "Pablos Nerudas" (Cornwall, near England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book, as with all first-parters, has to focus on a large slice of character introduction and loses pace on occasion. But, it is a wonderful book nonetheless. The books that follow are all, in my opinion, even better.
After reading the first four (three) books, it took a year to force my wife (an avid crime/adventure reader) to give them ago. She finished all four within a month and is now desparately waiting for the next in series.
The big problem with the series, however, is that I have struggled to find anything that is comparable in this genre (perhaps barring Donaldson's Gap Series which is similar in narrative structure and shifting character loyalties). Robin Hobb has failed to capture my imagination; Steven Erikson just hasn't the characterisation and don't get me started on Robert Jordan!
So, the book is fantastic; the constant wandering to find something else to read that is as good, a nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... to start reading the book and it is so good., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have watched the programs and decided to start reading the book and it is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully / Depressingly Huge..., 12 July 2006
By 
H. Davis (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The biggest fantasy cliché that this book, and the series as a whole, indulges in is the good ol' 'greatest strength is greatest weakness' theme. I'm not referring to the characters or main events of the novel, but rather to the sheer scope of the undertaking.
'A Game of Thrones' is huge. A detailed, complex, often-convoluted world is presented, then peopled with more characters in one novel than many other fantasy authors' use in a trilogy.
For those who like this level of depth and immersion, then this book will be an absolute winner. It is well-written, with some beautiful phrases and dialogue, and a wonderful use of imagery. The characters, despite being so numerous, are fleshed out nicely. The parallels with ancient Rome work well. Almost a must read.
However, if you prefer your fantasy lite, or just not quite so massive, then this book will probably leave you cold and confused. Just keeping track of the characters is difficult, never mind how they all relate to one another, and the appendix soon becomes heavily thumbed.
So the book's greatest attraction (strength) is equally its greatest deterrent (weakness). Fantasy cliché, see? Knew I'd get there in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
By 
L. Jarvis (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love these books, just wish he would write the one that was promised for 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well interwoven. Nicely written. Intriguing. Good character development
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exceeds expectation, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
described as acceptable conditon but i would describe as good/very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1201 202 203227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Game of Thrones (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)
A Game of Thrones (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
4.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews