Customer Reviews


2,969 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,314)
4 star:
 (403)
3 star:
 (125)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


808 of 830 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and surprising
On my latest foray to buy some new fantasy, the till assistant suggested that I might like to try George R. R. Martin. I had seen his books before, but had never committed to reading them, but on this recommendation, I picked this book up for my summer holiday. Over 800 pages and less than 5 days later it was finished.

Although somewhat slow in starting, the...
Published on 23 Aug. 2006 by Steven Baker

versus
241 of 255 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book, poor edition
As advertised, this is an incredibly good book - believe all the hype and purchase it immediately!

My one gripe is the format of the Kindle edition which is literally covered with typos e.g. 'Tf' for 'It', 'boh' for 'both' and quite frequently 'bum' or 'bumed' for 'burn' or 'burned'.

My suggestion, as this sort of poor quality production detracts...
Published on 30 May 2011 by Sebastian


‹ Previous | 1189 190 191297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't read it you should give it a try., 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, couldn't put it down, I will be reading all the books in this series as you just have to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched the TV series I was curious about the books. Definitely not disappointed with book one, bring on the rest !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back up needed, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having read the books in paper format, I enjoyed them so much I have decided to gradually build up a 'cloud based' back up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading the full series, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Missed the start of this on the TV and decided to read the books before I catch up. Enjoying them immensely
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certainly a captivating read, started after I saw the first two episodes of Series One. Off to read the second book.....now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy them! Turn back while you still can!, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My heart's been shattered more times than I can count, I've repeatedly been left numb with shock, and still I keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worth reading, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a little complicated keeping up with all the characters but interesting, must have been difficult to create the film series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lets you get into the characters heads, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got the book after enjoying the show and the stories style, told from various different characters perspective, is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The TV show does not do the book justice at all! Martin is beyond talented. Quite long (801 pages), but worth every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Game of Thrones, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, could not put it down. It helped to see the film because the plot does get complicated with so many characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1189 190 191297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Game of Thrones (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)
A Game of Thrones (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews