Customer Reviews


718 Reviews
5 star:
 (594)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic read!
The plot ever thickens!! This has got to be the most exciting and heartbreaking book so far, but despite everything that happens, you are compelled to read on! Also, don't skip the epilogue! Has to be one of the biggest twists yet!
Published 14 months ago by Damon Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same
The propensity of the author to kill off main characters - doesn't actually keep you on the edge of your seat but you develop an emotional coolness to all of them - and to be quite honest there isn't one of them that has any redeeming features.
Published 12 months ago by M. Stowe


‹ Previous | 146 47 4872 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Lies in the shadow of the first, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This still retains the freshness of the original, but by the end it's starting to drag.
The series signature of arbitrary bad stuff happening is in full flow here.
Overall i found it engaging enough to finish it, but looking back the long drag starts to set in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Found it easy to put down and have decided to watch the ..., 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another long book in this very long series.
Author slips into self-indulgence and produces screeds of narrative which have no or very little connection with the plot.
Found it easy to put down and have decided to watch the DVDs in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far, 25 Sep 2013
Everything comes to a head in this book. The plot is reverting, Tyrion's dialogue is at his sparkling best and important characters are killed off in dramatic style. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High quality storytelling, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet I have to admit to being sickeningly sucker punched by the story on occasions. The rhythm of good vs evil isn't quite as rhythmic as I'd hoped for, or become accustomed to perhaps. Not sure if that's a genuinely negative point or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The saga continues... 4 down and 3 ..., 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Storm of Swords, Part 2: Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3) (Paperback)
The saga continues...4 down and 3 to go. I am enjoying this epic bu,t for me, there is too much trivial detail that detracts from the man storyline. I have to admire the author's total immersion in the fantasy world that he has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all the a song of ice and fire series this book is great! Can't wait to move onto the next one, there are still plenty of stories that need closure and the end of this book finished on quite a big cliff hangar! Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.......and the plot thickens!!! I just can't wait to download the next instalment or book four but I may just need to sleep first and charge up the kindle as I haven't got the disabling to stop once I've started reading Ha Ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars George R R Martin continues to delight, 17 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A slightly slow start because so many new threads to the on going story are being set up (which is why I didn't give 5 stars) however, once the story gets going it is a great read and I couldn't wait to get onto the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how can anyone write this stuff?, 28 July 2001
By A Customer
Now im a geek and i've read hundreds of fantasy novels and i never thought anything would ever touch Tad Williams' "Memory, Sorrow And Thorn" Saga. How wrong i was, and this latest part just makes me realise how wrong i was. Never have i read a book which has held me so spellbound that i had to read and re-read it. The scope of this story is unparalled (even to the Wheel Of Time), the charcters are people you just don't know whether to like or not, the diaologue scarily realistic. How the legions of fantasy fans that practically orgasm at the release of a David Eddings novel are not hooked on this i'll never know. This book closes the first half of the sextet on such an amazing climax...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love GOT, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this series so much, well worth reading for anyone who likes the Game of Thrones TV series or just likes fantasy with blood and gore and terrific characters, political intrigue and a medieval setting. Fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 146 47 4872 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Storm of Swords, Part 2: Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews