Customer Reviews


746 Reviews
5 star:
 (618)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpredictably amazing drama
Book three and a half of A Song of Ice and Fire is really the second half of the third book, but I've read it a few months after finishing the first half, and thought it worked well on its own, being a length that felt more manageable to read in one go.

This is a really action packed episode in the story, full of unexpected twists and events that really shake...
Published 18 months ago by Jim J-R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same
The propensity of the author to kill off main characters - doesn't actually keep you on the edge of your seat but you develop an emotional coolness to all of them - and to be quite honest there isn't one of them that has any redeeming features.
Published 13 months ago by M. Stowe


‹ Previous | 145 46 4775 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars READ, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: A Storm of Swords, Part 2: Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3) (Paperback)
BOUGHT FOR A FRIEND AND THEY ARE LOVING THE SERIOUS OF BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR, THEY CO-INSIDE WITH THE SERIES ON SKY... THE SERIES IS WORTH A LOOK AS WELL AS READING THE BOOK TOO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read on my holiday, 29 Sept. 2011
George Martins books have been lifted to fame due to the brilliant tv show based on them. This book like the others provides a quality read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story (continued), 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Christos Kosmas (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great story, intriguing and breathtaking. Couldn't wait to read the next volume, and that is where my only complaint is founded: the story could eventually reach some sort of ending, instead of dragging the reader along that admittedly very interesting, but also seemingly endless path.
Packaging was ok, arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series so far, 18 Sept. 2011
By 
Definitely the most exciting in the series so far! I suppose Part 1 was mostly scene setting but Part 2 makes up for it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 15 Sept. 2011
By 
T. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic book. It's totally gripping and I couldn't put it down.
Can't wait for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stop writing these books, I need sleep, 9 Sept. 2011
This series is excellent. George R.R. Martin's writing style is compelling and whilst I imagine it's not for everyone it is definitely for me.

Instead of following one character throughout the book the author moves from character to character giving you little snapshots of story and allowing you to understand events from a variety of different angles at the same time. Utterly brilliant.

The world he has created is full of detail and believable. It's a medieval fantasy type world but with a little smidgen of magic, not over the top so if you aren't a fan of magic in your fantasy stories then you'll enjoy these books all the same.

I'm on book four and enjoying it immensely. Book five has only recently been published and book six is apparently coming along nicely. I just hope there's a gap between 5 and 6 so I can catch up on some sleep I've been missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gtrat read, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
K. Thomson "Kenny" (Stirling, Scoland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the series of A song of ice and fire are a great read and book4 paert two did not let me down. Hard book to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of Swords : Blood and Gold, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This still continues along the same excellent theme line but unfortunately the next book in the series proves to be a bit of a let down. The rip roaring slows to a dribble and from spending many late nights reading the first 4 books, the fifth is down to a couple of pages before I lose interest again. It does pick up in places but there is too much emphasis on new places and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 4 Aug. 2011
Rather confussing is Martins decision to split book three into two books, I am not sure why he didnt just call this book 4! Part two continues from where part three left off, as before the story is full of twists and turns, if anything there are to many, you know nothing is ever likely to be straightforward in the seven kingdoms. As with the previous books the chapters are written from select characters points of view, with each seeminly ending on a cliff hanger, this can make it hard work switching from one to the other at times, just as the story gets interesting you shoot off at a different tangent but that is only because the story is so good. This isn't a stand alone book, you need to read the previous three first (starting with A Game Of Thrones), what you get is some of the best fantasy writting there is, Martin has the creativity of Tolkien with the cunning of Forsyth. This is a MUST read series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 31 July 2011
The plot thickens even more and you find yourself wanting to skip ahead to the next character's chapter just to see what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4775 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Storm of Swords, Part 2: Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3)
A Storm of Swords, Part 2: Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3) by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews