Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written.., 27 Feb. 2015
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, I want to reiterate just how important book covers are - visually, I think this book is quite stunning and the rider "The only thing they can't take is your hope” is the underlying theme which runs throughout Yoora's story.

Yoora, and her parents and grandparents, live in a small settlement in North Korea, a place were neither hope nor charity is allowed to flourish. Emotionally sterile and devoid of all compassion, Yoora and her family face hardship on a scale which we, in the ‘civilised’ west can barely imagine. And yet, hope is allowed to linger in hidden corners and as Yoora and her family face tough challenges, you can’t help but be drawn into the significance of their plight.

The story is beautifully written, with a fine eye, not just for the history and genetic makeup of a country at odds with itself, but also with a deep understanding of the power of the human spirit. A Dream of Lights really gets into the heart of what it is like to live under such a fierce regime. Life is unbearably hard for Yoora and her family and horrendously shocking, and yet, the strength of the narrative ensures that this fictional story really gets its message across, and shows that determination and the will to succeed is a fundamental human right, whilst at the same time forcibly reminding us, that we should never forget those for whom life is a constant struggle against almost impossible adversity.

Aimed at the young adult market, this is one of those books which easily crosses the great divide into adult fiction, and as such, is well worth reading by a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written yet unflinching account of a teenager's life in North Korea., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
Beautifully written yet unflinching account of a teenager's life in North Korea.

Though I wasn't expecting A Dream of Lights to be a fluffy read, Kerry Drewery doesn't shy away from the grim reality of life under a dictatorship. The first part of the story — Yoora's everyday life — reads uncomfortably like something you only read in dystopian fiction. As the novel progresses, Yoora and half her family are sent to a prison camp and life becomes close to unbearable. As I was reading, I was constantly aware that the story is based on reality — that people are living this way in the modern world, with no end in sight — and that's incredibly hard to accept. For that reason alone, A Dream of Lights is such an important novel, as it sheds light on suffering that is rarely in the public eye.

Real-life implications aside, Kerry Drewery's second novel is very well written, and I constantly wanted to read on. She manages to write with beauty and hope, and the bravery of her characters is inspiring. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kerry Drewery induces such concern and has drawn such an authentic and beautiful heroin that one must follow, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
It is a sinister place viewed through innocent eyes that opens to the reader a country that in reality is closed. A first-person narrative guides us on and on through unimaginable and horrific hardship, and yet how can one put this book down? Kerry Drewery induces such concern and has drawn such an authentic and beautiful heroin that one must follow. I often fall asleep in bed at the end of the day with a book in hand, I've often strained to stay awake and finish just one more sentence, but this book caused me to wake up fully in the middle of the night with the feeling that I must read on now. It is so compelling, deeply uncomfortable and unnerving and yet at the same time enlightening. There is a great deal to learn from this story, not least about the strength of the human spirit. And I do believe I will spend the rest of my life being that little bit more appreciative. Clever, moving and thoroughly absorbing, this haunting and desperate journey might just change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a wide audience, 15 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Kindle Edition)
This is a terrific book. It is set in North Korea and tells the story from the point of view of 16 year old Yoora. She and her family suffer a harrowing punishment when they are accused of being traitors. What Kerry Drewery does so skilfully is show how Yoora's beliefs move from uncritical devotion to Our Dear Leader and the propaganda she has been fed since childhood, to a gradual awareness and then a dawning of full knowledge about just how cruel and oppressive the regime is.
This may all sound dark, and certainly the depiction of life in the prison camp is dark, but ultimately this is an uplifting book. This is because Yoora is such a brave and indomitable character and you find yourself rooting for her so strongly.
It is described as a Young Adult novel and the protagonist is a teenager, but I think this novel would appeal to many readers and it deserves a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and very moving., 6 Mar. 2013
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
Ever wondered about life in mysterious North Korea? This memorable novel takes you there, in all its terror and strangeness. Our heroine is on a journey to find her own life, to escape the path laid out for her by the cruel dictatorship. This novel will move and uplift you. I highly recommend it. Check out Drewery's first novel too, another honest, haunting book. This writer takes you on extraordinary journeys. Read her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and outstanding, 7 Mar. 2015
By 
BerwickBabs (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
I would put this on the school curriculum, for all sorts of reasons - from the subject matter to the high quality of the writing. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% recommend., 23 Feb. 2014
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
My eldest daughter has just finished this book in two sittings. She tells me it is the best book she has read. This is praise indeed as she is very well read. We will certainly be treating her to the authors other book! She goes as far to state it is better than the entire cherub series which she adores and frequently re reads.
Simply go buy it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And I am so glad that I did, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
Not the genre I would normally choose,but having read other reviews decided to try it. And I am so glad that I did! A real eye-opener about life in North Korea and shocking in places. This is a real page turner-you are quickly drawn into Yora's tale and throughout the story hoping for a good outcome for her family. Really looking forward to trying other novels by Kerry Drewery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent from start to finish, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Paperback)
I read A Dream of Lights when I was on holiday in Sicily last week in one day. One of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. I was transported to North Korea and lived every step with the characters. Some very tough thought provoking subjects but well worth a read what every age you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read for all ages, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dream of Lights (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books that teaches you so much as you read. I am aware of the situation in North Korea, but did not know the finer details of the regime the people have been living under. It was a fascinating book and a gripping read. I really liked the key characters and the dynamics within the family. It was quite an upsetting read at times but really well written about and managed to successfully tread the line between keeping it appropriate for teens to read but still giving enough detail to keep the drama high.
I will defo read Drewery's other book and more on this topic.
Definately a book for fans of Between Shades of Grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dream of Lights
A Dream of Lights by Kerry Drewery (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews