Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased on a chance
Purchased this on a chance, and I was not disappointed. Interesting concept, very gritty and real. Great book, great series. Highly recommended.
Published 17 months ago by TruffleMuffin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars getting a bit samey
Great idea and I liked all the initial books but Im getting a bored with the one dimensional character. The violence is beginning to pall a bit because its just repetitive and the main characters are becoming superhero untouchables while everyone else is just a dweeb.
Published 14 months ago by Malcolm Roy Ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
....So glad I found these books. Nothing too strenuous but good characters and an interesting read. I would recommend if you haven't tried this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha from hell, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Almost comic book in its way, and I mean no slight by that, it rolls on like a juggernaut on a promise. I hope Richard Kadrey is writing quickly, I'm catching up and don't want to hit the buffer.

Bravo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dark humour, none stop action and spell binding, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Sandman Slim is back for a third outing. However if you haven't already read the first two books in the series do so before you read this one. You will get confused if you don't

Stark is as ever the extremely violent, darkly humorous hero of epic proportions. The book starts with a lull in his violent life after the events in book two that's making him feel "stabby", and looking for violence. Which all too soon he finds in spades. A botched exorcism by an excommunicated priest leads him to the revelation that his arch nemesis Mason, who he finally killed condemning him to hell, is now leading hell in a preparation for war against heaven. Lucifer's apparently gone off back to heaven leaving a power vacuum Mason's been quick to fill. But Mason wants Stark and more importantly his key to the room in the centre of the universe so he's kidnapped Alice, Starks old true love and is holding her for ransom in Hell and if Stark wants her back he'll have to go to hell to fetch her.

So Stark has to sneak into Hell, a Human amongst demons, trigger an obvious trap, and save the girl. To start off with. Then all he's got to try and stop a war between heaven and hell that would mean the end of the world. To do that he has to rescue the only Hell's general who stood against Mason, however he was Killed in Hell and therefore sent to Tartarus, which is kind of a Hell below Hell where those already dead, who are then killed again go. Oh and of course no one has ever escaped from Tartarus, so its just another day in the life of Sandman Slim.

Along the way he meets God, well parts of him, apparently he had a mental break down and splintered into many parts, and some deites from the older religions as well. Throw in Adelita the homicidal Angel who wants to kill Stark "the abomination", and you have a spell binding read. Hell looks just like Los Angeles, only on fire, with piles of trash burning and hellions running around chasing the damned. It's a graphically detailed master piece I love the description of Hell, and Hell's armies.

But the real action starts after Stark gets to Tartarus. Then the book is none stop action, gratuitous violence and dark humour. Including a scene where Jack the Ripper, who of course was sent to Hell after he died, is hung upside down from a hook and skinned alive, er well dead-alive whatever the accurate description is for a soul condemned to hell

Well written, action packed, darkly humorous, spell binding. A literature master piece, that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought one then went on to read the series, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed them, some interesting concepts. Easy to read no real thought required. Did make me want to keep reading though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 27 Aug 2012
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Great fun, rare mix of believable, consistent fantasy. Loved it. It's part of a series and they all rate 5 stars. Bring on the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
I am now a huge fan of the Sandman Slim novels and this was was just as good as the first two. I can't recommend the series enough. Lots of action and great story and very amusing in parts :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Love the story and characters. Roll on the next book series can't wait to read it! Original, witty and sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
I am totally hooked on this series and can't wait to read the next one which I have already purchased. Fully recommend these books they are awesome, a must read for all fantasy book lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
I can't put this series down and now I hear they're making a film? Excellent! I can't wait to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amaze balls, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aloha from Hell (Kindle Edition)
Damn these books become cooler and cooler as you read them! Kinda want jack back though he had massive cool potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aloha from Hell (Sandman Slim 3)
Aloha from Hell (Sandman Slim 3) by Richard Kadrey (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews