Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars developing beautifully
I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying this series. It's witty, self aware, and secondary characters have no problem pointing out the fallibility and sometimes stupidity of the main character. I'm growing fond of the characters. There's enough moral ambiguity for me to chew on. The one liners are great, and every so often there is a page of theological v pop culture...
Published 13 months ago by Brunneria

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book in search of a plot.
Having read Sandman Slim I have to admit to being slightly disappointed in this second novel in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book because it broke through the logjam of what have become standard urban fantasy novels. This author set out to give the reader a character whose voice is humorous but also irreverent, impertinent, dark and tough, but I do feel...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by J. Lesley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars No regrets, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Purchased this on a chance, and I was not disappointed. Interesting concept, very gritty and real. Great book, great series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kill the dead, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Malcolm Roy Ash (Aston-by-Stone, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Good fun and amusing. Misanthropic and rather black but with some tongue in cheek humor. Well worth reading but I hope they don't get too formulaic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman Slim rocks, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I love this character. He's dark, nasty, vicious, and an utter delight. Lovers of John Constantine will find much to like about Sandman Slim. It's certainly a series I'll be following closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Action packed with great characters . I loved the humour and can't wait for the next book , I would definitely recommend this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nephalim, angels, Lucifer, zombies, vampires ... who have I missed? they are all here so don't miss this book., 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Kill The Dead is the second instalment in the Sandman Slim series and Stark is as witty with his black humour as ever. This book starts off with Stark continuing his boozing and smoking bad boy ways whilst living with Kasabian the severed head above the movie rental store. However, Lucifer plays a more prominent role in this book by hiring Stark to be his bodyguard whilst preparing to film the story of his life. As a freelancer, Stark has also hired his services out to Aelita (the angel) and Wells from Homeland Security to consult on a very grizzly death involving a Sub Rosa that got eaten to death during a very violent sexual encounter. Although these two plots appear random they slowly converge and Stark is embroiled in a apocalypse involving zombies overrunning Los Angeles. The usual favourite characters have recurring rolls and we get to meet Brigitte Bardo (an international porn star / zombie slayer) and some not-so colourful Sub Rosa clan members. Once again, Stark is looking to save the world from Armageddon but has to battle both heaven and hell, and in the process stands to lose himself.
This book has all the great punchy dialogue and quick dialogue that makes Kadrey's books so very much enjoyable. I found myself constantly highlighting sections of the book as they are just so well written. However, I found the last 20% of the book dragged a bit after Stark was bitten by the zombie and started becoming more angel than human. With Stark's personality departing the essence of a great character became diluted. I guess I prefer Stark as a bad boy and being more angelic was too boring for my taste, despite the very graphic and gory scenes depicted therein. Having said so, this was still a very good book and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I'm looking forward to reading Aloha From Hell, the third Sandman Slim book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A second novel, 9 April 2011
By 
J. C. Edwards (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as his first book featuring the same protagonist but OK as bubble gum for the brain. The writing is good and the story line unusual.
All in all, I enjoyed reading it. It's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim 2)
Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim 2) by Richard Kadrey (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews