Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars developing beautifully
I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying this series. It's witty, self aware, and secondary characters have no problem pointing out the fallibility and sometimes stupidity of the main character. I'm growing fond of the characters. There's enough moral ambiguity for me to chew on. The one liners are great, and every so often there is a page of theological v pop culture...
Published 13 months ago by Brunneria

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book in search of a plot.
Having read Sandman Slim I have to admit to being slightly disappointed in this second novel in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book because it broke through the logjam of what have become standard urban fantasy novels. This author set out to give the reader a character whose voice is humorous but also irreverent, impertinent, dark and tough, but I do feel...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by J. Lesley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Even more than the first. Can't wait to start Alpha from Hell and Devil said Bang. Goo stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good sequel, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
It's definitely growing in me, this series.
The cast of characters is getting interesting and the violence quite cool. Stark is becoming better drawn and the central story arc is coming together - anyone familiar with the Vertigo DC comic line will see echoes of the Sandman and Lucifer series in here, but with enough wrinkles to keep me reading.
Roll on book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes. Zombies., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I love zombie novels and I love Sandman Slim novels so this book was a win win. A bonus read! I liked how he rid LA of the zombs in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kill the Dead, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I'm running out of things to say about these books, I enjoy them very much. Can't wait for the latest book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars page turner!, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I already have the next book on kindle and am off to start it now, stop wasting your time reading the reviews and go read sandman slim now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On to the next one!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I just love the characters in this series. The anti hero elements are all over. Stark reminds me of a Nicolas Cage type in Ghost Rider, or Han Solo of the underworld...the reluctant but unyielding hero. This series can run and run...Lucifer, Kasabian, Brigitte, Candy...and the elusive Mason....bring 'em back...again and sgain...kill 'em and bring 'em back again. Now if you'll excuse me I have another one to begin...just can't stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Second book in the Sandman slim series and another great read. Not quite at the level of the Dresden series but right below the top drawer. The author has put together an interesting world mixing supernatural beings from different stories over the ages into the modern world. The lead character is well drawn, cynical and hard bitten. The pain in his life shaping the person he has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action Fantasy Noir with dark humour and pure brilliant, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Sandman Slims back, the man who escaped from Hell, speaks hellion hell's natural language, prefers cigarettes from hell, lives with a head (no body) above a video rental shop, and hunts monsters for money as something has to pay the bills.

Stark is a darkly humorous violent hero who you will love a root for. Ubber violent, darkly funny, fast paced and masterfully written. It's a brilliant read.

Starks discovered he is half angel, that means his dad was an angel his mother human, which makes him an abomination by angel's standards (with one actively trying to kill him). To make matter's worse Lucifer is on earth to supervise his movie biography and drafts Stark as his bodyguard, and someone's trying to kill him. Which puts a target squarely on Stark's head. And to top it all off someone's trying to trigger a zombie apocalypse. With the help of is friends, plus a porn star zombie hunter and Lucifer giving him sage council Stark has to stay alive and save the day whilst seeking his next Cigarette from Hell.

Again this book is riveting. The action is fast, violent, and thoroughly enjoyable. Dark humour, fast pace, and loads of twists and turns to the plot as well. This book is actually better than the first one, though I do recommend you read book one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bridge - but good nonetheless, 5 Mar 2013
By 
griff1974 (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
The first book in the series - Sandman Slim - introduced us to the supernatural side of LA with a bang. This second book in the series is a bridge where some back story and details are filled in, hopefully in anticipation of an all-action third installment. Real heroes can't just kick-ass but at some point have to have some angst to overcome, and here it is.

However, the author has cleverly woven said angst into the story so it doesn't actually get in the way of the book's pacing. The book also takes the opportunity to settle some of the side characters into their expected roles, and give them a bit of background.

The zombie story-line serves its purpose and is enjoyable in its own right, but its still part of the vehicle for developing the series. I enjoy a good zombie book but this could have substituted any number of supernatural beasts for the zombies without it losing the plot.

That could be a negative but it really isn't. The book flows well, the characters grow, new elements are introduced, and the overall package is a good read that will have you looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LA meets hell, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill the Dead (Kindle Edition)
I read other reviews and was intrigued by the mix of dark fantasy and old fashioned crime thriller. It is Mickey Spillane meets the devil. I've now read all three books and am currently reading the fourth most current one. I couldn't resist. They are fast paced, engaging, funny, self effacing. If you enjoy the dialogue in Black Adder and the humour of Supernatural, you'll like this. Couple that with a character straight out of Micky Spillane and Raymond Chandler and you're getting the picture.

Richard has an equally interesting perception of heaven and hell and the characters therein. No-one is perfect and no-one entirely evil. Sandman Slim is no "angel" - literally - well not quite - but he is engaging and hope he goes from strength to strength or depending on the ending of the fourth book in the series, ends up where he wants to be. That's yet to be decided as I'm only half way through.

I hope you give the books a chance. I did and am glad I bothered. They certainly make my journey to work more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim 2)
Kill the Dead (Sandman Slim 2) by Richard Kadrey (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews