Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a new Tolkien fan club.
nameA whodunnit in the classic mould with the 'perp' unnamed until the final chapters. Tolkien weaves us a tale of coutroom intrigue and flawed relationships which effortlessly draws us in. Interestingly it is not simply that we don't know if the accused is guilty but whether any of the witnesses have hidden motives that drives this plot. This subtle shift from the staple...
Published on 14 Jun 2003 by Aidan McAdam O Connell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad practice by publisher
I started to read this book and thought that it seemed familiar somehow. It is somewhat similar to to his book The Stepmother. Let's face it, it is the same book published under two titles. Thanks a lot to the publishers for what is a total mis-representation and just another way of making money. It seems corrupt to me and I will NOT be buying any more of this author's...
Published 18 months ago by Cricket Mad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a new Tolkien fan club., 14 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: The Stepmother (Paperback)
nameA whodunnit in the classic mould with the 'perp' unnamed until the final chapters. Tolkien weaves us a tale of coutroom intrigue and flawed relationships which effortlessly draws us in. Interestingly it is not simply that we don't know if the accused is guilty but whether any of the witnesses have hidden motives that drives this plot. This subtle shift from the staple crime plot gives the book a freshness I enjoyed. The use of multiple perspectives in this context is fascinating as we get a glimpse inside each charaters head but never enough to be sure of the truth. I really enjoyed this book and felt that it was original in almost every way. So many crime books feel similar this is a breath of fresh Suffolk air.
Of course people are going to think of 'The Lord of the Rings' given not only the authors name but his relationship to JRR Tolkien but for better or worse this is a totally different type of book. The main similarity is the quality of writing but do look out for one or two names etc which are reminiscent of The Shire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new book from a new Tolkien, 20 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stepmother (Paperback)
The name Tolkien certainly carries before it a weighty reputation (the author is JRR’s grandson). But THE STEPMOTHER lives up to all expectations – though a million miles away from the LORD OF THE RINGS. This novel is a psychological suspense/courtroom drama, with some cracking sexual tension between the stepmother of the title – beautiful and mysterious Greta Grahame – and the two main players – Peter Robinson MP and his teenage son. It had a very ‘classic’ mystery feel to it – part Patricia Highsmith, part PD James, part Hitchcock screenplay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Stepmother, 27 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stepmother (Paperback)
A good crime thriller, with pace, this made for an excellent holiday read. This was a who-dunnit with twists in the story and some well developed characters in a complex plot that held its secret well to the end. The tease centres round the death of a man´s second wife. The obvious candidate for the killing appears to be the adolescent son, whose relationship with his stepmother and father are explored in a sophisticated way. But one is never far away from the realisation that many people carry dark secrets and sometimes the past has compelling ways of imposing upon the present. Cleverly applied intrigue mean that gradual disclosures of information shift one´s perspectives. Difficult to put down once the story had begun to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, 12 April 2007
By 
misty (Guernsey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stepmother (Paperback)
This story is gripping and moves at a pace which ensures you'll keep reading. One slight criticism is that the ending didn't really surprise me and I was still expecting some sort of twist right up until the last page. You can almost see this story being transformed into a made for TV movie. However, that's not to detract from the factors which make this enjoyable, which are that it's an interesting story, well told, with believable and intriguing characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stepmother - Review, 25 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: THE STEPMOTHER (Audio Cassette)
A true thriller from start to finish. This story benefits from an author who has a comprehensive understanding of the English Legal system from his work as a barrister, a sharp wit and a compelling story line. The risk taken of challenging our conventional expectations pays off. This is a thoroughly good story from beginning to surprising end. An impressive first novel - the next is eagerly awaited!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad practice by publisher, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Witness (Paperback)
I started to read this book and thought that it seemed familiar somehow. It is somewhat similar to to his book The Stepmother. Let's face it, it is the same book published under two titles. Thanks a lot to the publishers for what is a total mis-representation and just another way of making money. It seems corrupt to me and I will NOT be buying any more of this author's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final witness by Simon Tolkien, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Carroty Nell "Nell" (Alaska, USA (summer) Manchester, England (winter)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Witness (Paperback)
Final Witness is a court-room drama - a good read, though flawed, hence the four not five stars.

The wife of the Minister of Defence, Sir Peter Robinson, has been brutally murdered in her family home on the coast. The only witness is her teenage son. The suspect - the Minister's PA/mistress and soon-to-be new wife Greta. Did Greta arrange her rival's death under cover of a burglary? According to the witness testimony of young Thomas - yes.

Editors often advise against the use of distorted timelines, but Tolkien has used this device to good effect here. The reader never loses track of whereabouts in the narrative we are despite the frequent flashbacks. The switches in pace between the fast-moving court-room exchanges and emotive flashback reminiscence work very well indeed.

I do have criticisms of the book though. I don't think the author did a particularly good job of manipulating reader sympathy: I cannot say too much as it would be a plot spoiler, but I felt, once I reached the denouement, that the reader had been made to sympathise with the wrong character(s). Some of the characterisations weren't quite right - Thomas and his best friend Matthew frequently sounded like adults, not teenage boys - some more work on these characters' voices wouldn't have gone amiss therefore.

Definitely a recommended read though - the plot is well-conceived and absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The book itself wasn't great, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Witness (Paperback)
The book itself wasn't up to expectations.The plot was foreseeable within the first ten pages,and relied too much on contrived coincidences.

Pitufo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but overall enjoyable, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Final Witness (Kindle Edition)
The book is slow to start with and the characters are a little wooden. However it does pick up and is worth staying with as overall it is enjoyable. only mystery is where the hell is Inspector Trave???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 20 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Final Witness (Paperback)
Final Witness is the second book by Simon Tolkien I have read - the other one being The Inheritance - and I was not disappointed at all.

The storyline is a bit of a classic. Beautiful young wife of Minister of Defence is charged with having the chap's first wife murdered. The only witness of the event is the son (of the first wife). I shall spare you the details of the story as you can pick those up in the book. What I liked about the story is the way the witnesses are grilled in court. It certainly helps that the author is (or was) a barrister himself. You can vividly imagine how the prosecution and the defence go about their business. I also liked the way the author weaved the flashbacks into the story. They appear where background information is needed and he does it in such a way that you don't lose the red line of the story.

The one thing in the book I found odd was the relationship between Thomas (the son) and the second wife. The two hate and/or love each other at various points throughout the book but there is no obvious reason for one or the other and it doesn't seem to make a difference to the story as such.

Final Witness is a much better title than The Stepmother I think because the latter gives too much away. You can work out who the final witness is - it is mentioned on the back of the book just in case - but I found it hard to guess what his testimony would be until the very last minute.

All told I quite liked this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Witness
Final Witness by Simon Tolkien (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews