Customer Reviews


290 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ending of One Story...
And so the Rain Wild Chronicles draws to a close. With the exception perhaps of `Dragon Keeper', the opening book of this quartet, `Blood of Dragons' is the best chapter in this series. It provides conclusion in many important ways to the continuing development of the new lords of the three realms, not only in respect of the intimate group of the dragons and their keepers...
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by Fantasy Lore

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised so much, delivered so little
The first books in this series were heavy with character development. So much so that quite a few readers felt nothing really happened, though I enjoyed the first two myself. This book was the opposite. So many things happened in less than 100 pages that I felt cheated for having read the build up. It was a poorly written book and felt as though the author just wasn't...
Published 8 months ago by Shane Cassells


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ending of One Story..., 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) (Hardcover)
And so the Rain Wild Chronicles draws to a close. With the exception perhaps of `Dragon Keeper', the opening book of this quartet, `Blood of Dragons' is the best chapter in this series. It provides conclusion in many important ways to the continuing development of the new lords of the three realms, not only in respect of the intimate group of the dragons and their keepers which this series has shadowed, but also in respect of the story architecture of these novels. It achieves this in a satisfying way for the reader in terms of (comparatively, to the previous two novels) fast-paced storytelling and also by forming a landscape that can be easily resumed or referenced in forthcoming titles by the author should she wish to return here.

However, for many I suspect there will be a sense if not of annoyance then at least of disappointment that there is not a major sense of completion to characters such as Alise, Thymara, Tats, Sedric, Sintara and Tintaglia. Certainly they are transformed both physically and emotionally from how they began in the opening chapter, but the author has shied away from awarding them the final resolution you feel they deserve. Because of this and in spite of a momentous final battle that allows the game pieces to be strewn to the wind and to fall as they may; I'm sad to say this novel peters out towards the end. This is in very stark contrast to the fate of one character in particular whose arc terminates so abruptly and with such finality that despite their questionable conduct throughout this series, I was surprised to see disposed of so mercilessly.

An area in which this series has undoubtedly made great strides in the genre while receiving very little recognition is in the introduction of gay characters. This definitely deserves a congratulation to the author for her courage, for while the genre has progressed and continues to progress (thanks to emerging talents like Patrick Rothfuss who add wholly new dimensions to the human condition in their character portrayals); fantasy stories in the medieval setting continue to be generally outdated in their representation of the sexuality of the characters who inhabit that world, and are instead dominated by conventional figures. This author is renowned for broadening the experiences of her characters to the point of exposing them to the very best and very worst of all life has to offer, and I'm very glad that she's been equally as inclusive with the already rich landscape she had crafted by broadening the variety of her characters to populate the Rain Wild Chronicles.

In summary: while this novel may have less of an epic quality in comparison to the concluding installments of this author's previously published series, this may be explained by the absence of a character (or even characters) to whom the reader feels strongly allied. Neither does `Blood of Dragons' provide a view in hindsight by any of its leading participants or a large jump forward in time that would allow a review of the significance of the events that transpire here in the timeline of this world. Another contributing factor to the pedestrian quality of this series was in the division of the story (that was originally intended to be one single, stand-alone title) into four parts, which was, while through no fault of the author, surely to its detriment.

This novel and indeed this series has felt very much like a stepping stone between stories set on a much grander scale and I hope this will prove to be the case with this author's next foray into the material of which all her fans are always deeply appreciative...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 starts but slightly disappointed, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Although I love the book I feel as if it is too short and some parts of e story could have been given in more detail. As there is so much going on you are left with the basis of things. The characters are still present and you get to see a bit more if each but the book is not as long as many of the other novels and I think the ending is particularly sparse. Even thou Robin Hobb has a way of rounding things up in a summary that explains it all there are still things you would have liked to have read in detail.

Other reviews spoke of the end of one particular character as if we're wrong, well it pleased me it was just a shame that it didn't get a bit more attention and therefore a reaction from the characters. We do however get a slight revisit to some old Bingtown characters that draws the story to a nice close and yet again the story is left open to come back to.

It is also good to see all the trilogies come together in a sort of understanding that takes your mind back to key points from other stories. I hope that next we can see all the characters come together for a final ending that sees everyone together so they can all understand everything because at the moment it seems like the rain winders need some six duchies understanding of things!

Overall I think it's brilliant it's just a shame that the ending seems rushed and we don't get a final story for all the characters that play a major part in all the books. I have to say though it does seem to have the happy endings that many readers expressed was missing from other trilogies. I hope that we get to return!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised so much, delivered so little, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first books in this series were heavy with character development. So much so that quite a few readers felt nothing really happened, though I enjoyed the first two myself. This book was the opposite. So many things happened in less than 100 pages that I felt cheated for having read the build up. It was a poorly written book and felt as though the author just wasn't sure what to do with all those developed characters and the many sub-plots. A thoroughly unsatisfying finish to what started as a very interesting series.

I normally really like Robin Hobb and thoroughly enjoyed her first three series. The Soldier's Son trilogy turned out to be a bit pointless and now The Rain Wild Chronicles quadrology promised a return to form but delivered a poor finish. Regardless of turning one book into two, I would have been happy enough had they been two good books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right back to form, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Mary Mackie (West Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love everything Robyn Hobb does, my bookshelf groans under the weight of all her earlier book -- thank goodness for my new KIndle! She slightly lost the way with the Soldier Son trilogy, but now we're right back to the wonderful world of dragons. If you are new to these books, start at the beginning with the Assassin trilogy, each book builds for the next. I am sorry I read this one so fast!!
Now I must go back and start again... thirteen books to enjoy. More, please, Robyn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More twists and turns than you could ever imagine., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the fourth bok in the series it was still as gripping as ever. The imagination of Robin Hobb is amazing. Her writing is unputdownable once you begin to read. The characters are still believable although they are all imaginary beings. The build up of events is moves smoothly from pne setting to another. If you are a fantasy fanatic then Robin Hobb and her Dragon series is a must not miss!! Loved every minute of it and missed it when I had finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible end to a fantastic series!, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
Jo (London, England) - See all my reviews
I have been eagerly awaiting this fourth and final book in Robin Hobb's Rain Wild Chronicles, Blood of Dragons. I was expecting an awesome end to the series, but I should know by now that Hobb over delivers. This is a brilliant conclusion to the series!

The dragons have got to learn to fly and make their way over to Kelsingra, so they can reach the hot baths that will help them grow and fully develop into the dragons they always should have been. They also need to find the silver wells, too - desperately. Without it, dragons are likely to become more like animals. And they're not the only ones who need it; the Elderlings won't survive as they should if it's not found. There is an urgent search to find it; the dragons and Elderlings need it soon, but Malta and Reyn's sickly Elderling child needs it now. With Tintaglia out of reach from everyone, the only dragon who can save the baby, Silver in their only hope. What they don't know is Tintaglia is making her way to Kelsingra, badly injured herself, and almost at death's door. And still people hunt for dragon flesh for the Duke of Chalced, who will go to desperate lengths to prolong his life.

Blood of Dragons is such an incredible story! What I've mentioned above covers perhaps half the book, and only scratches the surface. It's one of those books that so much happens in, it's hard to believe it happens just in this one book - a lot is packed in to these 481 pages, and most of it is pretty epic. There are parts of this book that are really quite disturbing. There are those that are so upsetting, and others that are sickening. There's a fair amount of action in this novel, that we haven't seen much of in the others, and it's wonderful! The dragons don't take too kindly to being hunted for their flesh. There are also people who get what's coming to them, and it's brilliant to see!

There are also questions that are answered, questions that arose through this series, and questions that arose from the very first series in the Realm of the Elderlings. We finally understand what we first discovered in The Farseer Trilogy, with Verity creating his Elderling dragon with liquid Skill - the Silver that the dragons need to much are is what flows in what we know as the Skill river from Assassin's Quest. And with discovering this about Silver, we discover more about things we first learnt about in The Farseer Trilogy. We start to fully understand exactly who and what Elderlings were - and who and what the Keeper Elderlings will become. Again, it harks back to the things we learned about how the stone dragons were created - but in this book we realise what we learned in The Farseer Trilogy was just the tip of the iceberg.

Blood of Dragons is an incredible ending to a fantastic series! I finished this book sad at having to say goodbye to these characters, but even more eager to read Fool's Assassin, the first book in the next series in the Realm of the Elderlings, Fitz and the Fool. So looking forward to reading it, and I have a feeling we may not be saying goodbye to these characters for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book and a good ending to the series, as always I have put this last book in the series down and feel a little gutted that I won't be able to read anymore about these characters and storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great character- and world-driven conclusion, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) (Hardcover)
The final novel in the Rain Wilds Chronicles, and thirteenth full length story to take place in the Realm of the Elderlings, Blood of Dragons follows on immediately where the previous novel left off, and wraps things up - possibly a little too quickly.

The world building aspects of this series have been the most entertaining thing, as the characters explore themselves and the new world that they find themselves in. It's a tale of discovery, and yet also of several individuals, whose arcs come to an end.

The story itself seems to be just a framework for Hobb to write about the characters and world - this isn't a bad thing in itself, but does mean that the plot is quite slow to develop and the little action that occurs is brushed over quite quickly. The climax of the novel felt particularly rushed and I was disappointed that things wrapped up quite quickly.

Overall though I've really enjoyed this more domestic look at Robin Hobb's world and spending time in the company of a variety of different characters to those in the previous trilogies. I'll certainly miss not having a fifth book to follow their development further, and look forward to Hobb revisiting the world again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood of Dragons, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) (Hardcover)
The young dragons and their misfit keepers are finally settling into Kelsingra, along with Alise and her lover, Captain Leftrin. Reyn and Malta are traveling down river with their sickly baby to see if the Dragons can help, whilst worrying about the welfare of Malta's brother Selden who has not been seen since setting off on a voyage. Tintaglia is struggling after receiving wounds from the Chalcedeans who are under orders to bring back Dragons blood in his quest for immortality. Alise's estranged husband, Hest has also been caught up in the Dukes quest through his greed for profit at any cost. We also get to follow the ongoing story of the Keepers of the Birds in Bingtown and Cassarick.

Blood of Dragons is the final book of the Rain Wild Chronicles series and I like this book because I enjoy Robin Hobb's writing style and stories. This book follows the steady pacing of the previous books in the series, though it didn't feel like the final book in the series as there still seemed to be quite a lot of threads left unfinished and I felt that it needs another book after this one to conclude it all.

The author is very good at exploring the characters' thoughts and motivations, though they tend to be either good or bad, not much in the way of middle ground. You end up with quite an in depth understanding of each of them, and how they justify their actions. One minor niggle was as the convenient way in which Hobb dealt with Hest.

I really hope Robin Hobb writes more books set in this universe and especially ones where we find out more about Selden and the Chalcedean Duchess and Malta's baby's as he grows up. I would recommend Blood of Dragons, and the rest of the Rain Wild chronicles to people who have enjoyed Robin Hobb's other series, and people who like the Earthsea Quartet by Ursula LeGuin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So good, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Read this series! Robin Hobb is excellent. Dragons just don't fail. Series doesn't get tired on the way :) So good <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4)
Blood of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, Book 4) by Robin Hobb (Hardcover - 14 Mar. 2013)
Used & New from: £13.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews