Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANGEL OF THE DARK
When Detective Danny McGuire is called to the Hollywood home of the very wealthy art dealer Andrew Jakes he is horrified by the sight that greets him, Andrew has been brutally murdered and his beautiful young wife Angela raped. A tormented Danny is determined to find the man who committed this crime, but the case is closed when Angela disappears never to be found and...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Amanda

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Sheldon?
As a fan of Sidney Sheldon's novels, I was slightly misled by the cover of the book. It's by Tilly Bagshawe. Perhaps I'm ignorant of the connection here (apparently it is not a pseudonym) so I was a little disappointed by the content. However a reasonable read, but I will be more careful having learned a lesson on this occasion.
Published 9 months ago by Moggimo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANGEL OF THE DARK, 5 April 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Detective Danny McGuire is called to the Hollywood home of the very wealthy art dealer Andrew Jakes he is horrified by the sight that greets him, Andrew has been brutally murdered and his beautiful young wife Angela raped. A tormented Danny is determined to find the man who committed this crime, but the case is closed when Angela disappears never to be found and there are no more leads to follow, leaving Danny haunted by this unsolved mystery.
Many years later Matt Daley decides to write a documentary on Andrew Jakes, his biological father, but the man he never knew. After much research he discovers that there have been other murders committed in exactly the same way, rich men being killed, their young wives raped and then vanishing.
Matt contacts Detective McGuire who is now living in France, married and working for Interpol, but he has never forgotten the tragic Angela Jakes and now the case appears to be coming to the surface again.
Enjoyed this book, although not quite up to the standard of the late Sidney Sheldon it was still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Sheldon would be proud, 19 April 2012
This is a proper murder mystery with the souped-up racy atmosphere that made Sheldon so successful. And lo, what a page turner! I could not put it down, quite literally. My phone went unanswered, children and dogs whimpered to be fed...
Sidney Sheldon was the absolute master of pacing and suspense and his successor Tilly Bagshawe has the same ability to pull you in on page one and keep you guessing throughout. Sheldon/Bagshawe's characters give you a compelling drama full of twists, none of which I could see coming. I won't spoil any of your fun by giving away too much here but, trust me, you are in for a treat.
If you are wary of sub-standard posthumous re-writes and sequels (Did any Margaret Mitchell fans like Alexandra Ripley's 'Scarlett'?), fear not: Tilly Bagshawe has clearly worked incredibly hard to replicate Sidney Sheldon's punchy writing style and this lives up to the standard of the best of his novels. Enjoy!

Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Sheldon?, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark (Paperback)
As a fan of Sidney Sheldon's novels, I was slightly misled by the cover of the book. It's by Tilly Bagshawe. Perhaps I'm ignorant of the connection here (apparently it is not a pseudonym) so I was a little disappointed by the content. However a reasonable read, but I will be more careful having learned a lesson on this occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark (Paperback)
A brilliant read, thank you.
Tilly Bagshawe writes great books.
The price was ok too.
Thanks Amazon I get loads of your books but this was one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab book!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. A brilliant story line, characters and plenty of twists!! The combination between Sidney and Tilly is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor Matt Daley, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got me hooked as soon as I started reading it! I had a movie in mind! Poor Matt Daley though. Hopelessly inlove!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book with lots of twists and surprises along the way. I didn't want to put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark (Paperback)
I couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tilly Bagshawe has done Sidney Sheldon proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark
Sidney Sheldon's Angel of the Dark by Tilly Bagshawe (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews