Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars372
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 August 2005
In contrast to the pointedly negative review posted before, I found that Michael York's unabridged reading of this well-loved book was a Narnia fan's dream come true. Michael York's voice is soothing, and reads the unabridged story in a convincing and soothing tone that does not sound at all condescending. He paces the story nicely. Hearing this dramatic and well-produced reading adds a wholly new dimension to the overall experience. The inspired choice of Michael York allows the story to unfold before your very eyes, as he paces his voice comfortably enough to make you follow along and be excited at the same time. The reading may take a long time, but York never sinks into a monotonous tone, and he also gives each character personality and depth. Particularly tellig is his satanic characterisation of the White Witch. He also avoids the tendency to make the children sound too cue or whiney. To sum everything up, this reading will be sure to capture the hearts and imaginations of anyone who listens to it, and will surely be prized highly in any Narnia lover's collection and also by those who have never heard of the Narnia stories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2004
You need the unabridged versions of these books - and generally the seriesworks well.
these have seen us through several long car journeys andthe pace has been good. Sufficently exciting for you to have to wait to asuitable point to get out of the car.
All we need now is the LastBattle to complete the set.
and when you've heard the tape/CD go offand read the books.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
We have been reading this story for our topic on Older Literature in school and have written a review as a class. We hope you find it helpful...

In this story four children, who are brothers and sisters, get sent away from the war to a Professor's house. Lucy, who is the youngest, goes through a wardrobe and discovers a magical land where it is always winter but never Christmas because of the devious White Witch. Her enemy, Aslan, is good hearted but a fierce and determined lion who wants to break the spell of winter. But is Narnia safe? You will have to wait to read the book to find out.

We all liked different parts of the story but our class favourite was the battle scene. We thought this spectacular battle was exciting and gruesome.

We thought the opening of the book was the weakest part although it gets better!

We have really enjoyed this topic and recommend you to read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 1999
This is an abridged version of "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe". Shortening it has the advantage of making it more accessible to children for whom some of the original language may be daunting, while, at the same time, retaining all the elements of the story. Specially composed music is interspersed throughout the story. This is played by the composer, Marisa Robles, on harp and flute. I have mixed feelings about the addition of background music, particularly since the range of emotion covered in the book could hardly be effectively represented by such instrumentation. However, the crucial scene in the story, when Aslan approaches the Stone Table, is brilliantly supported by the playing of Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata. Sir Michael Hordern has, I fancy, precisely the kind of "public school" accent which C.S. Lewis may have had. His rendering is most enjoyable. However, some of the female characters were portrayed with just a hint of "pantomime dame" about them, and I felt his white witch was a little too self-controlled and restrained at times. I am unsure how this version would appeal to children. For an adult, returning nostalgically to Narnia, it was delightful.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2004
This is either the first (published) book in the Narnia series, or the second (chronologically), but order is not important when reading this excellent book.
This is an Alice in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass type of fairy tale adventure story for all ages, as told by a favorite Sunday school teacher with a strict biblical syllabus.
Four children find an unusual way into Narnia, now under the witch's icy spell, and their experiences pave the way for the future of this magical country.
"Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight,
At the sound of his roar, sorrows will be no more,
When he bears his teeth, winter meets its death,
And when he shakes his mane, we shall have spring again."
Chock full of mythical creatures and talking animals, the story progresses at an exciting gallop. Even Father Christmas puts in an appearance with some very useful gifts for our heroes.
The Sons of Adam and Daughters of Eve experience compassion, bravery, generosity, greed and betrayal, sacrifice, martyrdom, suffering and redemption on their way to maturity before ascending to their rightful places in Narnian history.
The ressurection and later miracles by the great and powerful King Aslan, the significance of the stone table and the great battle between good and evil are powerful symbols of faith.
Read it first,read it last, but certainly read this book.
Amanda Richards August 2, 2004
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Bought this for my 6 year old. She loves it. Well written version for younger children and the illustrations are fantastic. Really good value.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Sometime you forget how good a story is until you read it again. I loved this story was a child and recent read it to my kids and they loved it. What a great book this is a true classic in every sense of the word.

I am sure everyone knows the story 4 siblings are rehoused because of the war. They are in the house of a kindly professor. The youngest find her way into a magical place of Narnia. At first the other do not believe her till they experience the magic first hand. However even among the children there is corruption. With the guidance of talking animals and the power and wisdom of the mighty Aslan; can the children overcome their differences and come together to fulfil an ancient prophecy that will save the land of Narnia? Read it yourself or to your children you will not regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2000
I chose this book because the facination that C.S.Lewis puts in is wonderful. This book's genre is fantasy and maybe adventure. My favourite character is the lion because he is really nice and kind. In the land of Narnia there are four chairs to fill at Cair Paravel and then the seasons will carry on because it is winter in Narnia and never Christmas which I wouldn't like to have done to us. I have a very good quote to put in: "What are you?" said the Queen again. "are you a great overgrown dwarf that has cut off its beard?". When I read this book I actually feel part of the book. I feel like I am Edmund or Peter.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2003
My daughter simply cannot put this book down! This abridged version is still captivating yet simple enough for a child to grasp in the main. Some questions remain unanswered but that is the beauty of the mystery. It makes her want to read the rest of the series. The illustrations are simply stunning! If your child is a bookworm like mine and loves art, this is the book for him/her!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2005
This is the second volume (chronologically) in The Chronicles of Narnia (after The Magician's Nephew, before The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Last Battle).
This book takes place during World War II, many years after the events of The Magician's Nephew, and tells the story of four young siblings, Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy. They are exploring the big house of an old Professor (which I'm guessig is Digory from the first book) where they've been sent during the air-raids, when Lucy enters the old wardrobe in en empty room upstairs to hide in it.
Only this wardrobe is actually a direct passage to the world of Narnia, and Lucy finds herself in a forest on a snowy night, the only light that of a lamppost. There she meets a Faun named Tumnus, who is indeed very amazed to meet a legendary Human, an invites her to tea. In the cozy warmth of his home, he tells her of the evil White Witch, who is turning everyone who opposes her to stone, and whose spell on Narnia makes it always winter and never Christmas.
When Lucy finally gets out of the wood and then out of the wardrobe again, no time has actually passed, and of course, when she tells her story to her brothers and sister, none of them believes her. Edmund in particular likes to make fun of her.
On another, rainy day, when they're all playing hide-and-seek in the huge mansion, Edmund decides to hide in the wardrobe and he too finds himself in Narnia. But instead of the Faun, he meets the White Witch, who lures him with Turkish Delight (his favourite sweets) and by making him believe that he can become King if he brings her his brother and sisters.
The book then tells the adventures of the four kids in Narnia, meeting a friendly couple of talking badgers and all kinds of other fantastic animals and creatures, among then the powerful Lion King Aslan, and helping them save the world from the evil usurper Queen.
Reading the series in the chronological order rather than in the publication order, I found that The Magician's Nephew was actually a kind of spoiler for The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I think that I would have been more enchanted, amazed and curious about the world of Narnia if I hadn't read all about its creation in the first book. I would have wondered about the lamppost, for example (and it would have been nice to read about the Lion's song later). Knowing about it in advance, I'm sure I found it a tad duller, because I wasn't discovering it at the same time as the kids. This is a nice story, and I know it's a Classic, but I must say it's not as captivating as I thought it would be.
I advise you read it in the publication order: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Horse and His Boy; The Magicians Nephew; The Last Battle.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse