Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful companion book!
The World of Downton Abbey" is a beautiful companion book to this wonderful television show --- you can see that it was put together with a lot of thought and attention to detail! It is a hardcover book printed on glossy paper, and on its 303 pages it offers a wealth of pictures and information.

The book begins with a foreword by series creator Julian Fellowes...
Published on 30 Sept. 2011 by Bookworm

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Only 1 Star to the Audiobook
Sorry to say but the audiobook gets only 1 star from me. Please let me explain. Elizabeth McGovern is a brilliant actress and I love her being Cora. But when it comes to reading an audiobook I find her performance quite disappointing. For instance when the text quotes something that Julian Fellows said she obviously tries to immitate his voice and tone. This is pretty...
Published 16 months ago by Sunnie


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful companion book!, 30 Sept. 2011
The World of Downton Abbey" is a beautiful companion book to this wonderful television show --- you can see that it was put together with a lot of thought and attention to detail! It is a hardcover book printed on glossy paper, and on its 303 pages it offers a wealth of pictures and information.

The book begins with a foreword by series creator Julian Fellowes and is split into 9 different sections after that:

Family Life
Society
Change
Life in Service
Style
House & Estate
Romance
War
Behind the Scenes

It contains not only tons of background information about the show but also lots of interesting tidbits about life shortly before and during the First World War. There are lots of pictures from the show, of course, but also original photos from the era it is set in as well as war posters, costume sketches, etc.!

In my opinion, The World of Downton Abbey" is one of the most gorgeous and lavishly designed companion books ever to come along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic........, 28 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must to accompany the series. It tells you a few secrets without give too much away. The photo are wonderful and it's a lovely book to leave around on the coffee table. If you only buy one book this year, make sure it's this one. I'm sure like any other Downton Abbey fan, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality book, well worth the price., 10 Oct. 2011
Despite having read other reviews, I was still pleasantly surprised to see the quality of this book. The presentation is absolutely beautiful with a hardcover and glossy dustjacket, it has full colour images throughout and fascinating, well written content that covers not just the behind-the-scenes of the show, but exactly how everything fits into the historical context. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. Barrie Christopher (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book scored me so many Brownie points with the wife...

It is packed with information in a way that is so easy to dip in and out of. My wife is addicted to her iPad but she has even laid that to one side to read this book.

The photographs and imagery are excellent - I am a Professional Photographer and Graphic Designer & very fussy.

This book would deserve 10 stars at double the price! Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World of Downton Abbey, 6 Oct. 2011
What a book!!! I couldn't put it down it's absolutely fascinating. Clearly written and beautifully photographed. This book is a must for all lovers of the TV series. The added information given from people who have actually been involved in the day to day running of large houses just added to the pleasure of the whole book. It will certianly be a book I will go back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More 'Uptown' than Downton....., 17 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book!!!!The information on the making of Downton Abbey and with the 'behind the scenes' colour photos makes this book just the one to have on the coffee table.I can guarantee that for anyone that's interested in period dramas this is a must have book.There is also plenty of interesting historical facts spread through it's pages.This is book I shall be reading for a good long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the World of Downton Abbey, 9 Oct. 2011
A delightful and beautifully produced book, giving an insight into the background of the story and the views of the actors taking part. Ths is a book that one can dip in annd out of as and when and discover something new and undiscovered before. Amazon have produced this book at an amazing price, and it has been a pleasure to read it and shall continue to read it. A quality book and a necessity if one is a fan of Downton Abbey. I recommend this book whole-heartedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
Joanne Blackman "Jo_siris" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any fan of Downton Abbey this book is a must have.

With the most beautiful photography I have ever seen in any book and the wonderful mix of Behind the scenes, character portrayal and titbits from the era it is totally compelling.

I sincerely hope Jessica Fellowes will write more for this outstanding show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world of Downton Abbey, 22 Oct. 2011
This is an excellent book for Downton Abbey fans and would make a wonderful Xmas present. Not only does it have lots of lovely photographs in and information about the characters and storylines, it also has lots of historical facts and items taken from great houses of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I should have left it in the Amazon wrapper!, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It sounds such a cliché to say 'I could not put it down' but, well, I couldn't. I decided to send for a copy, which I planned to store away till Christmas Day, then treat myself. That WAS the plan, but my book arrived this morning, testing my will power........ and you can guess the rest.

(I should have left it in its Amazon wrapper, shouldn't I? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World of Downton Abbey
The World of Downton Abbey by Jessica Fellowes (Audio CD - 15 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews