Customer Reviews


508 Reviews
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trafficked by Sophie Hayes
This is a brilliant book, written with strong feeling and courage by a woman trafficked from the UK to mainland Europe by a man posing as her friend. It is a must-read, because although the subject of Human Trafficking is gaining momentum, and the message is getting out there that this really does happen, there is very little information about British girls or women being...
Published on 8 Mar. 2012 by Jo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truly heartbreaking
I found this book truly sad, that a girl could be so conditioned to believe exactly what she was told and to allow herself to be brainwashed and forced into this life. I disagree with reviewers who say that this is a book of fantasy and exageration, and think this is a real insult to Sophie who has been strong enough to write this book and get her life back on track...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Doris


‹ Previous | 134 35 3651 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a missed opportunity, 11 Aug. 2012
I'm afraid I agree with every reviewer on here who says that this book is poorly written. It is repetitive and often boring - which is quite astounding when the subject matter is so shocking.

I feel that the reader and the whole issue of human trafficking could have been much better served by a book that was gripping and believable. Much more money and effort should have been spent on the quality of the writing.

Sophie's actions and motivations will probably be incomprehensible to most people and this is very frustrating for the reader. But this is real life and not the satisfying world of make-believe that we are spoon-fed by the movie industry.

Worth reading if only to alert other vulnerable young people to the dangerous world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OH my goodness., 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story is so sad what happend too this poor girl. I beg all parents too be extra carefull.
and to know that it is true makes it altogether vigilant. I feel realy sorry for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trafficked the terrifying true story of a British girl, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes a bit to get into but once you it is an amazing book. It shows you how someone can be so close to and to think you know them but really you don't. Inspirational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Paperback)
I found this account of the girls experience riveting, shocking and eye opening. How this could happen to someone and still happen today is beyond belief. This book is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's so shocking to read a true story like this! Sophie is brave enough to share her story, and I'm glad she has made a new life for herself! I wish her all the luck in the world :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book every girl should read., 12 July 2012
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Paperback)
I could not put the book away until I finished it from the beginning to the end. Unfortunately this things happens in life and everyone should be aware that all people are not nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a cheap holiday read..and it was amazing! 're-read it back at home! Such an inspirational inspiring story and makes you feel as if you are there! 5* in an understatement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this terrible exploitation of vulnerable humans, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this story harrowing and could not believe this sort of trafficking could exist today. I hope it will alert people to,this terrible exploitation of vulnerable humans .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly awful, 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt bound to finish this book hoping it would get better. It is the most frustratingly awful book I have ever had the misfortune to read.

I cannot believe anyone who professes to have experienced such things could then allow the perpetrator to walk away and continue to offend against some innocent. There were many lost opportunities and what were her mother and stepfather thinking. I am not surprised this man has contacted her again. He obviously feels she cares for him as anyone would seeing as she has done nothing to bring him to justice for what he did to her and so would seem to condone it although professing not to.

There are so many contradictions with this story. She gets involved with an agency to stop trafficking but does not want anyone to know what happened to her. Then she writes a book. This does not make sense.

If there are people out there who care for her please encourage her to stop being the victim and do something constructive to bring this man to account for what he has done and is probably still doing. To have any self respect this is the only way forward.

There are many awful things happening out there and as they say for evil to exist it takes good men to do nothing.

Having said all that I must say I quite frankly find it hard to believe much of what I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this for my book group to read and so pleased I did, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this for my book group to read and so pleased I did. It's a really powerful, emotional true story that will stay with you long after you have finished reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3651 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews