Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern approach dictionary
This is a large dictionary, one for the bookshelf, not a carry-around. It is comprehensive, well bound and the entries are presented pleasingly, with quite a lot of etymological and historical detail. It has a modern, contemporary approach to definitions, as well as including the classical ones, and what I liked was the wealth of biographical detail - why, even Zimbabwe's...
Published on 24 Feb. 2012 by Richard Randall

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility
Whilst this product works perfectly on Windows 7 PC it does not work on either Kindle Fire or Android smart phone. This is recognized by Harper Collins on their website and it is a pity that this is not made clear on the Amazon website. See [...] Collins English Dictionary & Thesaurus
Published 12 months ago by Mr David Coles


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern approach dictionary, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Richard Randall "Birdman" (Botswana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a large dictionary, one for the bookshelf, not a carry-around. It is comprehensive, well bound and the entries are presented pleasingly, with quite a lot of etymological and historical detail. It has a modern, contemporary approach to definitions, as well as including the classical ones, and what I liked was the wealth of biographical detail - why, even Zimbabwe's Robert Mugabe gets a mention! This gives the work a slightly encyclopaedic aspect. Internet and computer language/jargon is well covered.

Good value for a modest price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins English Dictionary 11th edition 2011, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
A very comprehensive reference of modern-day English words and phrases, including UK, US and Australian usage. It is quite large due to Collins practice of assigning a new headword to each variant phrase rather than including them within one long section under one heading. The definitions are outstandingly clear and easy to read. It also has a good selection of scientific and technical terms, as well as biographical, historical and geographical references. A book for modern usage rather than obscure spellings. It also has a ribbon. Pronunciation is via the International Phonetic symbols and not the more natural ones used for example by Chambers. A very good buy - my only criticism is that its a bit heavy to hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compatibility, 9 Jan. 2014
Whilst this product works perfectly on Windows 7 PC it does not work on either Kindle Fire or Android smart phone. This is recognized by Harper Collins on their website and it is a pity that this is not made clear on the Amazon website. See [...] Collins English Dictionary & Thesaurus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 May 2012
By 
Mrs. M. P. Wakefield (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Quick delivery and well packaged. A little bit grubby at the top of the dictionary on the white pages, and tiny rip on the outer sleeve. Nice red ribbon. Almost like an encyclopeodia and so is heavy (7 1/4 kilos). Wanted another Collins as been very pleased with previous pocket one. I'm very happy with this useful tool and will refer to it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How about an electronic version?, 3 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
Collins English Dictionary is a good dictionary. Yes, it is! It is so good that I own each edition from the 6th to 10th edition. The idea to buy a newest 11th edition has formed in my mind for quite a while. With the release of the 9th edition, the publisher provided a free download of a Windows-based application for print version owners. The 10th edition was published at the time when mobile devices were growing in popularity. I was happy to have an iOS version of the 30th anniversary edition, i.e. the 10th edition, running on my iPhone 4 and iPad.

An electronic version, either Windows-based or iOS-based, has proven highly efficient, portable, and usable. It's hard for a user like me who feels completely at ease with electronic versions to go back to use a dictionary by turning pages. I've shelved my plan to buy an 11th edition pending a direct reply from the publisher. Unfortunately, the publisher remains indifferent to my query regarding the above question. I sent three emails to the customer support at HarperCollins Publishers last month. Nobody has replied to me so far. What's wrong with HarperCollins? Should I believe they keep publishing good dictionaries?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Dictionary, 19 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a good word-smiths tool, i use mine everyday and rarely has it let me down. It has a good selection of word and their meanings. One could go on and on but this dictionary is quite simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I expected it might have a search option, but no. It's harder to use than the paper version. It takes about 5 minutes to find an entry. In all a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lousy Kindle edition, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for my iPad as I needed a decent dictionary and thesaurus for travelling. It turns out that it is like a book in that you have to turn the various pages to try and find a word. It can take ages and ages to try and locate a particular word, in fact it takes much longer than an actual book. There is no easy search facility. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unmanageable, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a edictionary, this is a failure in that one can not search for a word without huge difficulty, or a wait so long that it's possible to make a coffee in the time it takes. DOESN'T MATTER HOW MANY WORDS THERE ARE, OR HOW GOOD THE DEFINITIONS IF YOU CAN'T FIND THEM. Don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of information, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary (Hardcover)
My wife is a crossword buff and this provides a wealth of information over and above a standard dictionary - its by her side when she is "crosswording"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins English Dictionary
Collins English Dictionary by Collins Dictionaries (Hardcover - 6 Oct. 2011)
Used & New from: £16.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews