Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guinea pig guide out there!
When it comes to Guinea pigs Peter Gurney is the man in the know! This book is great for anyone who is considering owning guinea pigs and also people who've had them for years as you can tell that he genuinely loves these animals and gives trustworthy advice. The book covers all the main topics that you'll need: origins, buying, housing, feeding, handling, grooming,...
Published on 4 May 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
NOT BAD
Published 5 months ago by STEPHEN ASHTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guinea pig guide out there!, 4 May 2003
By A Customer
When it comes to Guinea pigs Peter Gurney is the man in the know! This book is great for anyone who is considering owning guinea pigs and also people who've had them for years as you can tell that he genuinely loves these animals and gives trustworthy advice. The book covers all the main topics that you'll need: origins, buying, housing, feeding, handling, grooming, behaviour, breeding and healthcare with loads of VERY cute photos! You won't be able to resist getting guinea pigs after reading this! Nice detailed information giving precise measurements of the minimum cage size etc which is very useful to someone who's never owned guinea pigs before. The health section is particularly good and there are lots of useful tips throughout the book covering pretty much every situation you are likely to encounter. If you can only get one guinea pig guide I'd definitely recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guniea pig guide, 27 Mar 2006
This was the first guinea pig guide I picked up. I've since read a couple of others, but I would still say that Peter Gurney's is a fantastic introduction to the world of guinea pigs.
The information presented is easily understood and well-organised. There are lots of interesting little facts given and Gurney's genuine affection for these animals encourages the reader to provide the best home for their pets.
In addition the book is just the right length - the perfect balance of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every guinea pig owner must buy this book!, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Whether you have guinea pigs, or are thinking of having one, this is the BEST book you can buy about them. It has the most comprehensive section on guinea pig health that few other books have, and also includes alternative treatments for common health problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 22 May 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading the recommendations of other readers. I was not disappointed! I have just acquired my first guinea pig for 20 years and decided to check out what new knowledge there was around after all this time. IF ONLY Peter Gurney had been around when I had many guineas all those years ago! At last many of the ailments which baffled our vet in those days are now explained (particularly the apple allergy and the skin diseases - to which most of mine succumbed).
Thank you Peter Gurney for a wonderful and informative book, giving me all the information I need to keep Dougal happy. To find someone with such a great love for these little animals is fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend this book to any guinea owner be they new or experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book for guinea pig owners, 24 Oct 2008
This is an absolute essential for any guinea pig owners. Peter Gurney was the expert on guinea pigs and I recommend anyone who owns a guinea pig to buy this book. I've been a guinea pig owner for a few years now and there was tips in there that were useful plus things that made me smile as I could relate to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 7 Aug 2009
By 
i brought this book because i am a first time guinea pig owner. its a really good book packed full of lots of useful information and nice photos. you can tell that the author is really passionate about his guineas which makes it nice to read. i would recommend this book to everyone with a guinea pig!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Excellent quick reference guide. Provides all you need to know about keeping guinea pigs. Interesting, factual and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guinea Pig Guide Books, 12 Aug 2005
I have been looking forward to getting guinea pigs for a long time, but needed to find a good guide book to help me. When I went to my local library, and picked up this one, I didn't know whether it would help me, or not. I began to read it, and soon became engrossed, i had never read a book like it! it told me many things about my furry little friends that I had never come across, and has made me want to become closer friends with my guinea pig. A superb book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stunning publication from GP Guru Peter Gurney, 9 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Yet again, a book with clear and beautiful illustrations (in the form of Peter's phtographs of his GPs) and brilliant advice on choosing, keeping and healing your guinea pigs. If you own guinea pigs and only want to buy one book, buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb guide for guinea pig owners everywhere, 7 Aug 1999
By A Customer
In this book Peter Gurney brings his readers a comprehensive guide to owning and caring for guinea pigs. Few people in the UK, if the world, have as in-depth a knowledge or as deep a love for these animals as Gurney. From feeding, housing, breeding and behaviour to medical care and maintenance, this book really is a must for guinea pig lovers everywhere. I feel that the chapter on healthcare is of particularly crucial importance as there is a general lack of veterinary knowledge about the species. By following simple guidelines, owners will be able to help ensure that their guinea pigs live as full and healthy lives as possible. Beautifully laid out and full of fantastic guinea pig photographs, this book will tell you all you need to know about your guinea pig. The more you know about them, the more you can love and appreciate your little furry friends. Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guinea Pig (Collins Family Pet Guide) (Collins Famliy Pet Guide)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews