Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL for the regular player
Most things have been covered in other reviews here, but I ought to add that if like me, your Scrabble games are punctuated with 'debates' (ok - arguments) about the validity of words, this will change your Scrabble-playing life!

There are older editions available too, under the name OSW (Chambers Official Scrabble Words), which can sometimes be a cheaper...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Straightforward

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scravvle Deluxe Dictionary
A great help. But very small lettering and no 2 or 3 letter word list. The old paper back had both. Sad they missed them out in the hard back deluxe addition.
Published on 10 Sep 2010 by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL for the regular player, 5 Nov 2008
By 
Straightforward (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Most things have been covered in other reviews here, but I ought to add that if like me, your Scrabble games are punctuated with 'debates' (ok - arguments) about the validity of words, this will change your Scrabble-playing life!

There are older editions available too, under the name OSW (Chambers Official Scrabble Words), which can sometimes be a cheaper option, but with this book selling at a reduced price like it is now, seize the moment and buy one - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars has all those unusual words you only use in Scrabble, 21 Jan 2008
By 
S. Gates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For years I would judge a dictionary on it's quality by whether it had the words qat, zex, and jow in it, which of course none of them do, unless you pay an arm and a leg and get a dictionary that weighs an absolute tonne! Then I discovered this handy little volume which has all those strange scrabble words, a brief description (usually one word description), and my search was over. This dictionary is marvelous. Definately a must for anyone wanting to improve their game, or to silence those challenges over dubious looking words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as described, 14 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book seems to be exactly as described, and is perfect for UK Scrabble words. Bear in mind that this is not a comprehensive dictionary in so far as only words upto nine letters are included, and the descriptions are short. However it is great for Scrabble, and crucially includes all variations of a word such as plural, different tense etc. Fully worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for even casual players of all word games, 8 Nov 2007
By 
Tony Woodhouse (Rugby - England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is brilliant for all families that enjoy casual word games.

It is comprehensive and authoritative, so it contains all the words that should be allowed in a word game, but aren't in grandma's 1963 edition of the Concise Oxford dictionary that you keep next to Delia on the bookshelf.

Due to it's very brief format and small print, it's small and light. You can take it on holiday with you.

Because it's a dictionary with definitions rather than just a word-list, you can learn what the words mean, which is a great aid to learning.

It can be used for all word games such as Boggle, Upwords etc. not just Scrabble.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best I've seen, 25 Feb 2009
Best I've seen, 25 Feb 2009
By J Healing (uk)

I have looked at several different scrabble dictionaries. In their descriptions, Collins have made it extremely difficult for scrabble players to know which scrabble dictionary to buy.

I like to have a book with as many words as are allowed, and to have brief meanings of the words. This book does both.

Because of the muddle of scrabble dictionaries published, I would urge you to check the ISB number, because the covers and the descriptions alone might lead you to buy the wrong book.

# ISBN-13: 978-0-00-721359-7

So I would very much recommend this book, which I am very very happy with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Scrabble Dictionary, 31 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this book as a present. Fast efficient delivery, excellent value for money. Gives word names and also the meanings for the words. Comes with a hard cover case(useful). Ideal for the electronic scrabble games that throw up words that you have never heard of..Very Very pleased...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't do without it now, 22 April 2010
By 
N. Landon (Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a revelation! I had previously been using an ordinary dictionary, which was slow because of the long definitions of each word. Not only is the Collins Scrabble Dictionary much quicker to use but the number of admissable words has been astonishing. I get much higher scores now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scravvle Deluxe Dictionary, 10 Sep 2010
A great help. But very small lettering and no 2 or 3 letter word list. The old paper back had both. Sad they missed them out in the hard back deluxe addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble made easier, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary (Paperback)
The Scrabble dictionary is a great tool, it solves all the arguments on what words are allowed and how to spell them with the added bonus that unlike some of the scrabble dictionary you also get the definition for the word. It is amazing the number of 2 letter words that are allowed and have you seen the number of words beginning in Q that don't need a U. Handy size and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins scrabble dictionary, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Very good dictionary,contains up to date scrabble words which are also very easy to look up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Scrabble Dictionary
Collins Scrabble Dictionary by Dictionaries (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
Used & New from: 1.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews