Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An English Affair
Although I was born after 'The Profumo Affair' I have vague images of the characters involved and what happened, but knew very little detail. This wonderfully written book certainly filled any gaps in my knowledge, presenting a detailed and fascinating account of who was involved, what happened and painting a picture of an era when London was poised on the brink of...
Published 19 months ago by S Riaz

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars part of my life
This took me back to the sixties when I was a young teacher, and Britain was experiencing a sea change in outlook especially in matters to do with sex. I found the opening chapter on 'Supermac' revealing and entertaining. After that the book ran into a slow decline with only the odd snippet, revelation or insight.Somehow, the drama of the crisis didn't come through...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. P. Skeldon


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sets the scene well, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read that sets the scene well for someone who didn't live at the time. Makes a lot of pejorative assumptions giving no evidence. E.g. Claiming the journalists were lying - where 's his evidence? Lord Denning also castigated with out evidence I felt, and I'm not a Denning fan either. I thought a bit of back up there was called for. If Christine Keeler was not a prostitute what did she live on? Again a slack detail. Throughout the whole book assumptions were made not underlined by evidence. However do read it, knowing the hidden agenda of all the players is certainly enlightening. I was riveted by the book and I lived through the era and knew the story well. One wonders what goes on these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Minutely detailed account of primate behaviours and relationships in the so-called ruling class. A Whitehall farce told with solemnity and earnestness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched account of British high society at play, an account of abuse of power and duplicity. I will read it again in a few years to remind myself that undercurrents and secrecy are the norm in political intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent analysis of the Profumo affair, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. Artman "tony_artman" (London, United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written from a different perspective than previous books I thought the detail and history of the dramatis personae very helpful.
The book was well structured but the ending was somewhat abrupt. I would unhesitatingly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it could be 2013, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An English Affair (Hardcover)
i bought this book as i vaguely rember the times of the early sixties. the book moved quickly and gave detail of the politics, the police and the newspapers not unlike the current times - sleaze, homophobia, blaming the girls, the power men having affairs and luxury lifestyles, the police setting people up. it was good to read with clarity and to confirm that the girls were used but innocent - twas ever thus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An English Affair with a lot of flair, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Peter Tabb (Channel Islands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An English Affair (Hardcover)
The author chooses an interesting format progressing the 'Profumo affair' through a series of profiles of the protagonists - and it makes fascinating reading with some intriguing revelations. Despite covering much well trodden ground, this book brings a refreshing insight into an affair that shook the establishment to its foundations just as the Swinging Sixties really started swinging. Would recommend to anyone who didn't live through and even to those who did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An English Affair (Hardcover)
Very well written and researched. A very interesting account of the period. Illustrative of how times and attitudes have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The English Affair, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Appears to be written straight out of Parliamentary records, informative but dull, perhaps i was looking for something more salacious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad little story, 21 May 2013
By 
Mrs (Stoke on Trent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good deal has already been written about this period in sixties political and social history and so any new book has to be good if it's to bear any sort of scrutiny. Sadly, this is a rambling, discursive series of recollections. The editors might have done a better job but then, Richard Davenport-Hines should have, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Judge, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book which I could not put down. It abounds with character sketches and as a lawyer I took particular interest in those on Lord Denning who is described as a divorce judge, which must be a deliberate under statement. Denning aroused controversy both professionally and politically but his was one of the greatest judicial minds there has ever been, ranging over virtually every complex and important area of law. It is also said that Denning "inflicted lasting harm on his country" a breathtaking sweep of a statement. Davenport seems to be saying that the Denning report made press invasion of privacy worse than it had been previously. No such causal connection is established by the book, but Davenport does show parts of the press to be capable of behaving as badly before 1963 as after, compare perhaps the bribing of Christine Keeler to lie for a better story which contributed to a mans suicide with the recent phone hacking scandal? Davenports treatement of Denning is reminisent of the character assassination of a dead man on narrow grounds, something Davenport rightly condemns in the case of Stephen Ward. This makes me wonder about the other judgements in the book, but it is still excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An English Affair
An English Affair by Richard Davenport-Hines (Hardcover - 3 Jan 2013)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews