Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molto bene!
This dictionary is a must for anyone learning a foreign language. I have a French one and now that I am learning Italian I have bought this Italian one. It's format is very clear. As well as a comprehensive dictionary, (and words are put into context - a phrase or a sentence - so helpful!) the 'middle bit' contains a wealth of useful information - useful words and...
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by Joyful

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate
This book is trying to be too many things in too short a space and as a result is inadequate even for beginners. I bought it to start an Italian Language course and it would have been better to have had a good dictionary and a separate teaching book - (for example, we have been recommended the BBC CD and book for teaching purposes).While there is a dictionary section...
Published 16 months ago by The Welsh Dragon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molto bene!, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
This dictionary is a must for anyone learning a foreign language. I have a French one and now that I am learning Italian I have bought this Italian one. It's format is very clear. As well as a comprehensive dictionary, (and words are put into context - a phrase or a sentence - so helpful!) the 'middle bit' contains a wealth of useful information - useful words and phrases; how to write a letter or an email; how to answer the telephone; days of the week, months, numbers, colours etc; as well as a verb table. It is not a 'pocket dictionary, and it won't go in your handbag but have it on your desk for reference and for homework!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
Excellent book - perfect for getting round in Italy, translating vocab, looking up verb tables - so you can actually say something! Middle section "Italian in Action" really useful vocab and phrases for lots of everyday situations - emails, directions, time etc. Great list of verbs and both irregular and regular examples are conjugated. Good size, will fit in a backpack easily. GOOD VALUE.Collins Easy Learning - Collins Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Dictionaries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
This book is trying to be too many things in too short a space and as a result is inadequate even for beginners. I bought it to start an Italian Language course and it would have been better to have had a good dictionary and a separate teaching book - (for example, we have been recommended the BBC CD and book for teaching purposes).While there is a dictionary section (which is well printed in blue and black) it is just too short and there is no pronunciation help (other than a brief list in a different section with minimal examples to get a feel of them - our Italian teacher has made it very clear that correct pronunciation is vital as many Italians just don't understand foreign accents!). There is a grammar section and Italian In Action section which is meant to help you understand situations in everyday life, but without sections on eating out or any kind of shopping you are obviously not expected to support the Italian economy! However with translated phrases such as "He would like to become an astronaut" maybe this book is designed with the future in mind instead of what is relevant right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT JUST A Dictionary, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
This is a well prepared, substantial, book. It is not just a dictionary, but contains a separate section with samples of fully declined common verbs as well as a simplified section containing the less common verbs. There is also a small but useful section on the usage of Italian in different circumstances (travel, buying etc.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use and invaluable, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
P. Barrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
I have tried several Italian dictionaries and for the average beginner to intermediate level student this is ideal and by far the best of what is on offer. It is more than just a dictionary in that words are shown used in context and there is reasonable coverage of idiomatic usage and colloquial phrases. I am particularly impressed by the verb tables in the centre which have proved really useful for quick reference. I you want to use a dictionary to help you read a literary novel or translate a more complex piece of writing then you would be better off with a much larger and more comprehensive dictionary but this is ideal for everyday use, although not exactly pocket-sized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Dictionary to use, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Jaychen (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
I would recommend these Easy Learning books to anyone. In my opinion the colour coding used in the dictionary make it very easy to go straight to the words you want. It is more that a dictionary because the middle section gives a run-down on basic conversation that is useful for immediate use e.g. on holidays; email; texting; telephone; dates; festivals; map of Italy etc. There is also a section on verb tables and tense. As a beginner, I find the lay-out very clear and easy to understand and at the front of the dictionary there are a few pages on how to pronounce vowels and find the words you want and more. Even the outside cover is pleasant to hold and I enjoy using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the beginner, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Foxi Rosie (South Coast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
Easy to use for the beginner. No excuses not to learn the language; it is just remembering it is the hard part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
This dictionary is extremely useful in that it not only gives you a word but gives several examples of how it is used in context. Although there is a short pronunciation guide at the beginning the phonetic pronunciation with stresses would be extra helpful.Having said that I use the dictionary all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICO, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
This is such a comprehensive dictionary containg conjugating verbs, phrases and general information whichis vital if one is learning the language I can't recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best dictionary available for anyone seriously starting to learn Italian, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) (Paperback)
Best dictionary available for anyone seriously starting to learn Italian. I can also recommend the Spanish edition for Spanish learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian)
Easy Learning Italian Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Italian) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2012)
Used & New from: £2.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews