Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Top Marks for this Dictionary
Quite simply the best De-En/En-De dictionary I have ever used (and I don't work for Collins either!). Easy to read, no confusing abbreviations, well laid out (and in colour) and plenty of examples of the words in use in the language. This gets my best recommendation.
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Mr. G. Buxton

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Pronunciation Guides
The major flaw of this dictionary is that not a single entry provides the pronunction of the German or English words. With an Easy Learning edition, I assumed the phonetics would be simplified a little, not completely omitted!

This somewhat detracts from the other excellent elements of the dictionary: entries are clear and easy to follow, the example phrases...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Harry Rufus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Top Marks for this Dictionary, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. G. Buxton "G Buxton" (Zürich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply the best De-En/En-De dictionary I have ever used (and I don't work for Collins either!). Easy to read, no confusing abbreviations, well laid out (and in colour) and plenty of examples of the words in use in the language. This gets my best recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for beginners, 12 Mar 2009
By 
M. Bagarella (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this compact dictionary is excellent if you are a beginner; there aren't as many words as in a normal dictionary, however every word is preceded by its article and accompanied by examples of common expressions to use, so you immediately learn some simple useful sentences; graphical layout is very easy to read, unlike some bigger dictionaries that are crammed with print; besides, its price makes its value for money unbeatable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for school, 16 Sep 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
We used this German dictionary for my son's first two years of German lessons at secondary school.

The first part of the book is German to English, followed by English to German. Sandwiched in between as a section of 14 useful topics - such as writing a letter, jobs and hobbies, keeping fit and healthy etc.

However, now we have been advised by school to buy the Oxford Learner's Dictionary to use during his GCSE course - and at first glance the dictionaries are pretty similar and you could easily get away with either. However, on comparing the two more closely side by side the Oxford version does slightly have the edge - particularly in the German to English section - the layout and handy hints are a lot clearer and easier to follow. Nevertheless, still a good dictionary and we will keep this one, as there are bound to be times when we need to refer to a second source over the course of his GCSE studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy learning German dictionary, 12 Nov 2012
By 
J. M. Wale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
I bought this dictionary for a 12-year-old just starting to learn German at school. It is entirely suitable for a beginner of this age as well as for adults. It is much more than a traditional dictionary, with additional sections on grammar, writing e-mails etc. It uses colour, underlining and shading to make particular entries stand out. There are plenty of example phrases or sentences showing how a particular word in used. In addition there are 'language tips' beside some entries to help the learner write or speak in German, or translate into German. In places there are also 'did you know' points which tell you something about Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars idral for school, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. Ann Brace "Exile" (St Albans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My grandson was very pleased with this - says it is the same as the school uses, so must be suitable. Easy to read and gives pronunciation as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great German Dictionary, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic dictionary for new learners of German. It makes the meaning of the words clear, gives gender and plural and is very easy to use.
It also gives explanations of the grammar and words and phrases in context. All beginners should be issued with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
Good dictionary for senior school german.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would Recommend, 15 April 2014
By 
S Uddin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this as I was studying German and was very terrible at it. This helped a lot and showed how to structure sentences with the correct words. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for school, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Kazzabian (Liverpool Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
Daughter has taken German as part of her options. This is ideal for her needs. Quick delivery, also ordered Spanish and French dictionaries - equally pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First class dictionary for beginners and more advanced students, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) (Paperback)
I use this dictionary as a back up to an adult German class of mixed ability and standard.
It is first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German)
Easy Learning German Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning German) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 5 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: £2.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews