Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating for anyone with an interest in Italian food
I agree with the previous reviewer on several points. The emphasis in Made in Sicily is on the simplicity of the islands food and the recipes highlight the Sicilian way of using just two or three ingredients to make beautiful combinations that sing. I adored Made in Italy, but the length and complexity of the recipes meant that most were a little beyond my abilities in...
Published on 24 Oct 2011 by Dashed

versus
5 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull
I'm in a Sicilian mood - been a big fan of the Montalbano novels and actually read most of them in French as the translations were better and sooner than the UK (my attempt to read one in Italian was a failure). However the nearest I have been to Sicily is Rome, but the reruns of the Montalbano prompted me to ponder a long holiday in Sicily.

I bought this book...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by Mr. P. G. Chesters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating for anyone with an interest in Italian food, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
I agree with the previous reviewer on several points. The emphasis in Made in Sicily is on the simplicity of the islands food and the recipes highlight the Sicilian way of using just two or three ingredients to make beautiful combinations that sing. I adored Made in Italy, but the length and complexity of the recipes meant that most were a little beyond my abilities in the kitchen. Not this book. It is perfect for midweek suppers and lazy weekends.

Spaghetti with prawns and pistachio, tagliatelle with courgette flowers and spaghetti with octopus are all outstanding and next on my list is the roast lamb with anchovies, rosemary and lemon. I would also say that the broccoli, chilli and almond salad is even better than the famed Ottolenghi recipe in my opinion.

Other recipes to catch my eye include broad bean and fennel soup, swordfish with peppers, rabbit 'hunter style' in red wine and garlic, and meatballs with wild fennel in tomato sauce.

Desserts look good but not in the same league as those in Made in Italy.

There are fewer photographs to accompany the recipes but that doesn't mean it is all text! Almost half of the book is taken up by Giorgio's writing about the Sicilian way of life and food and I counted 122 full and double page photographs within the 420 pages. Overall I am very, very happy and the copy I received from Amazon was immaculate. I doubt it will stay that way. I would give it 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book as Made in Italy, but more photos will be even better!, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
Just received the book last week, tried the warm octopus salad and the silian pizza. The receipes are great as those receipes in Made In Italy. The difference I found between these two books are the Made In Sicily is more "home" cooking, more accessible ingredients, easier preparation. Meanwhile Made In Italy contains lot of Michelin Star level receipes, many receipes are more for "this weekend I am going to give it a try!" You may choose according to your needs as both are excellent books! The only reason I am giving it a 4 stars rate is because there are less photos en this new book, sometimes it is dificult to make a dish that you have never tried without a photo to follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
As my wife is Sicilian born I decided to buy this book for her. She was very impressed and noticed that many of the recipes were exactly what her mother and grandmother had been cooking for years. An excellent book with some beautiful photographs of both Sicily and its food - so good you feel like licking the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Locatelli, ottimo libro scritto bene e con divizia ..., 18 Oct 2014
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
Bravo Locatelli, ottimo libro scritto bene e con divizia di particolari. La ricetta del pesce con finocchietto selvatico e fette di limone che si trova in mezzo ad una delle pagine di introduzione ai vari capitoli e' semplicemente divina. Bravo Locatelli, i suoi programmi sulla BBC sono vivamente consigliati
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made in Scicily, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
This was a present for a friend who has visited Scicily-as far as I know she has found the book very entertaining.informative and easy to use
I would recommend this publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent !, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Kindle Edition)
Amazing chef , really good book with great food and food stories! Thank you Giorgio for sharing this!! Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
Bought for keen culinary son in law, who loved trip to Sicily and chance to explore Sicilian cooking for himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made in sicily, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
this was a xmas gift to a friend to remind her of the holiday we spent in sicily three years ago-she loved it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Italian cookery book - but with a difference., 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
Nicely presented and Locatelli's enthusiasm for food comes through. Beautifully produced & illustrated. Since he comes from the Italian Lakes, it is rather an outsider's view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb recipes, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Michael Boswell (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made in Sicily (Hardcover)
First had this book from thed local library, & liked it so much we searched amazon to get a copy. The book received was in very good condition, better than described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made in Sicily
Made in Sicily by Giorgio Locatelli (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2011)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews