Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!
I bought this for myself after listening to an interview prior to its release and i am not disappointed! The content is easy and fun to read with a message that is thought provoking. Some of the content is a little repetitive but I am enjoying picking up the book here an there and the smaller paper back edition proves effortless on the move. It's easy to fall into the...
Published on 15 Jan 2012 by Garvey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing
I'm a great Kevin McCloud fan, but this book is dreadful!
Firstly, it loses one star because it's printed in about a 6 point font - fairly clear, I'll admit, but stupidly small.
Another star goes for the pages that are printed on coloured backgrounds. This is what we call in the trade `bad design' (when we're being very polite!) - I guess Kevin was too busy to...
Published 24 months ago by R. WILLIAMSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 28 April 2012
By 
R. WILLIAMSON (Norwich United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live (Paperback)
I'm a great Kevin McCloud fan, but this book is dreadful!
Firstly, it loses one star because it's printed in about a 6 point font - fairly clear, I'll admit, but stupidly small.
Another star goes for the pages that are printed on coloured backgrounds. This is what we call in the trade `bad design' (when we're being very polite!) - I guess Kevin was too busy to review the book after he sent the publisher the text!
The content contains a few interesting points, but is by and large woolly - a list of `good ideas' with pretty much no `practical' content - granted the title does say `principles', but the lack of detail makes ploughing through the illegible text pointless.
All in all, a waste of time, and an expensive way to fuel your local CHP station!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live (Paperback)
I bought this for myself after listening to an interview prior to its release and i am not disappointed! The content is easy and fun to read with a message that is thought provoking. Some of the content is a little repetitive but I am enjoying picking up the book here an there and the smaller paper back edition proves effortless on the move. It's easy to fall into the 'sustainable' trap but I would recommend this if you are atall interested in technology, theory or ideas for taking the steps towards a better 'home'. He's onto something, I believe it is a cultural change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No doubt Kevin McCloud is a great designer and author!, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live (Paperback)
A great book for all occasions, it gives you inspiration, it motivates you to be more eco-friend, practical way of thinking, just the right size of book to carry with you, relaxing, nice photos! Simply great, I will re-order it for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eco info packed read -, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live (Paperback)
Kevin has a very entertaining, readable style and tackles some complex but fascinating science into layman's terms. Inspiring stuff that will encourage the reader to take steps to improve their home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 23 Aug 2013
By 
S. Tierney (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live (Paperback)
The so called Kindle Edition of this book is a 20 page pamhlet with some clip-art......Not the same book, it needs to be made clearer particularly when Amazon says it is a Kindle edition. When will proper Kindle editions of these sort of illustrated books become more widely available??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13b69c0)

This product

Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live
Kevin McCloud's Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live by Kevin McCloud (Paperback - 27 Oct 2011)
10.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews