Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, shocking and hilarious...
This is a brilliant and brutally honest book, up there with the very best football biographies you'll ever read. In fact, there's enough here to entertain even those with only a passing interest in the game: Merson's is a fascinating and cautionary tale. The story is eye-watering at times, as Merson takes us on a rollercoaster ride through the drink, drugs and gambling...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Lodos

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest tale
As a Walsall fan I was fascinated by his recollections of his spell at the Banks Stadium both as a player and much maligned manager. The patience of Walsall Chairman Jeff Bonser (not the most popular character at Walsall) comes through as he indulged his star player and even put up the money for his addiction rehab in America. Merson's basic honesty also comes across...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by P. N. I. Jeffrey


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, shocking and hilarious..., 14 April 2011
By 
This is a brilliant and brutally honest book, up there with the very best football biographies you'll ever read. In fact, there's enough here to entertain even those with only a passing interest in the game: Merson's is a fascinating and cautionary tale. The story is eye-watering at times, as Merson takes us on a rollercoaster ride through the drink, drugs and gambling addictions which he has fought for his entire life and which plagued his career. But for every moment of horror - Merse sitting in the dark all day snorting hundreds of pounds worth of cocaine, watching the racing results on teletext and thinking about breaking his fingers so he can't phone in another bet - there are hilarious anecdotes aplenty, too (going to a gay bar with John Barnes, the utter mania of living with Gazza).
Merse may come across as a joker on TV, but this reveals how he got there. As a tale of excess, it's up there with Motley Crue's The Dirt. A must-read, and for my money, one of the books of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest tale, 14 Jun 2011
By 
P. N. I. Jeffrey "Paul Jeffrey" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Walsall fan I was fascinated by his recollections of his spell at the Banks Stadium both as a player and much maligned manager. The patience of Walsall Chairman Jeff Bonser (not the most popular character at Walsall) comes through as he indulged his star player and even put up the money for his addiction rehab in America. Merson's basic honesty also comes across well. He didn't rate Scott Dann - soon to be a centre back for a leading Premiership team - and admits his oversight. He also says that he didn't think he was manager material and was thrust into the job somewhat reluctantly. Its a shame that his spell as a manager will be most remembered by Walsall fans and not his dream debut against West Bromwich Albion where his two goals contributed to a stunning 4-1 win. the amount of money he claims to have lost is truly staggering. Lets hope that that is now in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definately had an interesting life has Merse. I am on the 'like him' side of the fence, he's honest, straight talking and yes done some really stupid things.
First few chapters are a bit repetitive, but after that there are some funny anecdotes. David Seaman in particular is very funny.
Easy read for travelling or just to pick up now and then. Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul persons bio, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read , I'm not a big fan of Paul but hats off to the guy ,in this book he's explained his whole life for everyone to see , his fight with drink drugs and gambling ,his life as a pro footballer and in the end I got to really admire him for being so honest , well done ,great read and well recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very honest, insightful and full of laughs., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very honest,insightful and full of laughs.top stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Not to Be a Professional Footballer (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Howard J. Kleinberg "HowardK" (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good title. As an Arsenal supporter I loved him to bits. As an aspiring footballer I see he wasted a talent I would have loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an insight of what happen's with to much time in your hand's., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wast of talent.a true story of what a lot of footballer's go through.
Shame really.a lesson for young player's to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needs book, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story like the guy on tv n.reading the book just made me like him more, mad as a box of frogs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Not to Be a Professional Footballer
How Not to Be a Professional Footballer by Paul Merson (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews