Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boris's Beano
This is Boris's cleverly constructed manifesto to secure his next sojourn as London's Mayor and it's better than stuffing pamphlets through doors. He shows a love of London and an instinctive grasp of what makes Londoners tick, presented in his unique Beano-like style where he lays his scholarship under a veneer of prep-school vulgarity and japery. You get the feeling...
Published on 31 Jan. 2012 by T. J. Collcutt

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS FOR THE AUDIO VERSION ONLY
"Johnson's Life of London" - 10 CD's unabridged READ BY BORIS JOHNSON - in large print - in a smaller font "With Jot Davies". I felt badly let down by this product description, did Boris get fed up, lose his way to the recording studio on his Boris Bike, or decide to spend more time on flag waving practice than actually reading his book in accordance with the advertising...
Published on 26 Aug. 2012 by avid ravid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's not Boris!, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is for the audio book only.

Whilst the content of the book is good, warm and informative if slightly nostalgic, I can only give the audiobook one star as despite what it says on the cover, its not Boris reading it! Out of 10 disks, Boris reads the first, half the second and half of the tenth. The rest of the book is read by Jot Davies, whose Jackanory style delivery should come with a health warning if you are listening to it whilst driving, in case you should fall asleep at the wheel.

With a book often written in the first person perspective, having someone else reading it always feels odd, but with a style as inimitable and personal as Johnson's, it becomes infuriating. At least if you read the book yorself you can hear Boris in your head.

I cannot describe what a catastrophic mistake getting Davies to read this book is, neither do I know how they can get away stating that this is read by Boris Johnson. Very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnson's Life of London: The People Who Made the City That Made the World (Paperback)
Nice item well packaged good price and delivered with thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super Smashing Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong book, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apparantly there is an updated version of this book called the Spirit of London which I thought I was ordering. i wasn't aware that there were two recent books by Johnson about London, and nothing was displayed about the later version when I ordered it. So I provided the wrong gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
S F G Philpott (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life of London by Boris Johnson, 23 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book really interesting, passed it on to my 91 yr old mother who is a londoner, she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Book, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
J Roberts (Winchester ,Hants, Eng) - See all my reviews
I think for the value this was good compared to buying from Waterstones. As a present for Christmas I think it also brought a lot of enjoyment as it tells the history of London through the eyes of the current Major of London, who is also an avid history fan. This book also is different to the usual history books of WWI or WWII, or about the history of the British empire. This book is good for those who live in London and want to know more about how our capitol became what it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Florid and fanciful, 13 Dec. 2011
Right from the start I found this to be full of flights of imagination which have no supporting evidence - for example, he paints lurid vignettes of the Roman abandonment of London of which there is only the most scant of evidence.

And to quote Roman historians describing London as an "Entrepot Town" - Really, the Romans wrote their histories in French???

Populist lightweight trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Johnson's Life of London: The People Who Made the City That Made the World (Paperback)
Arrogant and smug throughout it gives a cold and nasty narrow view of a fine city. You get the sense he has never been to London, nor understands it. To boot, it is also skin-crawlingly tasteless in parts.
Avoid like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 114 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a paean of praise for human competition?, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Sean (Chatham, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Its author states that this book is all about `competition'; it is a paean of praise for human competition.
As Boris might say: `Balderdash'; cities are about co-operation, otherwise they become what they did become, during the recent riots. The author has, of course, never had to compete; as an alumni of Britain's most prominent Private School, making this tome a fine illustration, of hypocrisy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnson's Life of London: The People Who Made the City That Made the World
Used & New from: £0.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews