Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensible read
Normally the word 'sensible' doesn't get you running off to buy a book but it really does sum up Karren and her book. Other words that spring to mind are honest, down-to-earth, realistic and practical. She is definitely a strong woman but this book demonstrates that she is not a bitch and that lots of very hard work and maintaining her dignity throughout has allowed her...
Published on 8 May 2012 by Treacle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable
I'd heard it all before. Nothing original in here and very little humanity #robot

i wouldn't recommend it

Bland and generic
Published 18 months ago by Alison Doering


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Woman: The Truth About Getting to the Top (Paperback)
Great read for strong independent women
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A motivational business book, not an autobiography, 27 May 2012
By 
Jayne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You'll like this book if: you're a fan of Karren Brady and want to know more; you like practical business and leadership books; you're a working mother looking for inspiration and motivation; you like stories of people overcoming serious illness; you want behind-the-scenes details about the Apprentice TV series; you're interested in the business of football; or if you follow Birmingham City or West Ham football teams. If you're looking for a traditional gut-spilling autobiography, you won't.

What you'll get from Karren Brady's book can be summed up in a couple of quotes. The first is from chapter 1, My Mission: "[S]omeone needed to inspire this generation of women ... Writing a book about my own experiences, I decided, without glossing over any of the difficulties or pretending that it was easy, might help other women to think about developing their own road maps to success ... Ultimately, I want to change - fundamentally - the way people perceive working women." That's some mission for one book, but it lets you know Karren's motivation for writing it and what the book covers.

The second quote, from chapter 2, My Road to Independence, sets the tone for the book's writing style: "I've never been an emotional person. That's an understatement, if ever there was one: I'm logic personified! ... I'm the sort of person who, when a door shuts, never opens it again." The book's writing style is unemotional, and Karren undertakes little self-reflection.

Having expected an autobiography, I was initially frustrated by the lack of any real insight into what makes Karren tick or how she developed her business skills. I'm particularly interested in what people are like before they achieve fame and success, and how they go on to achieve it: their development. Karren Brady, from this account, just seems to have arrived, fully formed, as an almost robotically perfect teenage business ninja.

At first I felt the book swung and forth between telling Karren's story and giving advice. Once I realised this was not an autobiograpy but a business book, I was able to enjoy it and got a lot from it.

The book (as well as covering the topics detailed above) contains basic, sensible, practical business and careers advice for, in particular, working mothers. A broad overview of Miss Brady's career, with some detail about her family life and health, appears in chapters organised by subject matter rather than chronology.

The book is strong on the strengths of women in management and the different qualities we bring to leadership roles. It is also strong on how women can hold ourselves back, and what is needed to overcome these limitations.

The book is also strong on the realities of being a working mother: the achievements possible, and the choices that need to be made. She certainly debunks the myth of the superwoman. And this makes achievement as a working mother seem more possible: working mothers are neither bitches irreversibly damaging their offspring and terrorising their workers; nor do they need to be superwomen to achieve their goals.

The book is a light and easy read at under 300 pages (and in a large font size). It clearly, logically and well written. It offers simple, direct advice on how to improve your life if you're unfulfilled in your current role. The final chapter says it all: planning, process, strategy; and, above all, persistence. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought Strong Woman: Ambition, Grit & A Great Pair Of Heels by Karren Brady for £2.99 (Kindle Edition) and I must say, this woman’s story is an inspiration. She is and has always been very determined and that determination to succeed in life has earned her the title of a Strong Woman. I admire her as a fellow woman and I aim to be as successful as she is.

The book tells the story of how Karren Brady balances her personal life with her professional life, her priorities, her life as mother of two and wife to Paolo Pasquale Peschisolido (former footballer). Karren reveals how she coped when doctors told her after a routine scan that she had a brain aneurysm, that she must have a complicated operation immediately and had a 30% chance of not surviving, and how it has since influenced her outlook and priorities.

An overwhelmingly inspiring and real look at work and life, Karren Brady defies convention as a directional business woman in a male industry (football). I have learnt real tips which I will be sharing with my daughter and I plan to use them going forward.

I recommend thus book to any woman needing a bit motivation to get a career started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoulutely Brillliant Read, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My teenage daughter, not an avid reader , read it in a week. A briiliant read . An inspirational book for all budding entrepreneurs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiration, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an inspiration to all women from all walks of life and nobody should be afraid to try to achieve their dreams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Woman: The Truth About Getting to the Top (Paperback)
Brought to use in a college
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book by a logical and likeable woman, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suspect it's too much of a cliche to call this book 'inspiring' but my goodness me it is.

As an entrepreneur and a working mother, juggling life and getting things done, I really appreciated her openess and honesty.

It's so refreshing to hear a success story not harping on about how brilliant they are personally but talking about how hard work, focus and a logical approach makes things happen. And there's no pretence that this is the easy route - or even the only one - just a very human account of how it worked for her.

Straightforward, packed full of integrity and interesting thoughts... I thought this was a great read. It's also blooming brilliant to see a woman who believes in helping other women. Well done her for writing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read and inspirational, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting insight into the life of one of the most inspirational and successful women in Britain today. Karren talks frankly about her early life, education and family. She tells how over the years she worked long and worked hard to get where she is today. She also tells how she felt when she discovered she had an aneurysm and how she approached the treatment and recovery.
I love her approach to problems and in particular how she has handled sexiest comments over the years.
Although Karren is an amazing business woman it is obvious throughout this book that she is still a wife, mother, daughter. lovely photo section at the end too - well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good, good insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strong Woman: The Truth About Getting to the Top
Strong Woman: The Truth About Getting to the Top by Karren Brady (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews