Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous volume for browsing, but don't try slipping it into your pocket!
This is a wonderful book: a feast for the eye and a constant spur to visit such and such a church if ever we find ourselves in ....... Every page is a visual temptation.
Betjeman's lengthy original introduction, some 75 pages, is reproduced in full, a real delight for the knowledge and sensibility displayed there, but also for the characteristic 'voice' which made...
Published on 23 July 2011 by S. J. Williams

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better
This is a significant reissue of earlier editions. It has the advantage that it covers some churches in more detail and has an interesting new introduction justifying the changes. The most significant of these is that far fewer churches are included and in this county-based work some counties have thin coverage indeed. Good county maps showing included churches are useful...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Paul S. Ell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous volume for browsing, but don't try slipping it into your pocket!, 23 July 2011
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderful book: a feast for the eye and a constant spur to visit such and such a church if ever we find ourselves in ....... Every page is a visual temptation.
Betjeman's lengthy original introduction, some 75 pages, is reproduced in full, a real delight for the knowledge and sensibility displayed there, but also for the characteristic 'voice' which made him as much a national treasure as the buildings he so loved. The entries have been substantially updated and reduced in number.

The volume is laid out by counties of England, with Wales, Scotland, the Isle of Man and Channel Islands each having their separate sections. There is a glossary of architectural and relevant ecclesiastical terms and indexes of place and of artist/architect. Each county entry is prefaced by a short essay on characteristics of the local architecture and a large map with major towns and all referenced churches clearly indicated. The individual entries give OS and GPS references, dates, architects where known and key elements of interest. Churches of particular interest are denoted by a single or double star, inevitably a matter of personal taste, but books such as this demand such individual choices.

Given the considerable size (almost 900 pages) and weight (2.3kgs), this is NOT a field guide: as I have suggested above, this whets the appetite and allows plans to be made if holidaying or visiting a particular area. And the number of churches referenced (over 2500) makes it unlikely that one would ever be too far from somewhere interesting.

However, its inclusivity (despite the reductions) highlights difficult compromises: after one or two fairly random dips into it, I have to acknowledge that I wish more had been written about a number of churches I know, perhaps at the expense of some less interesting ones with which I'm also acquainted. For example, my local parish church is pleasant and attractive, with an interesting and substantial memorial to the workmen killed in the Bramhope railway tunnel disaster in its grounds. But I think I would have sacrificed it for more detailed and wide-ranging information about, say, Beverley St Mary's: no mention is made of the ceiling decoration of nave and chancel, other than that they are painted, nor of some beautiful corbels. (The Nave ceiling is ultramarine with gold stars, while the chancel is spanned by images of the kings of England, such as one might find in a medieval manuscript.) There is a corbel representing a lamb and a brother showing a rabbit. All delightful! Such details might open the eyes of the visitor a little more, or tempt the armchair traveller into greater determination to make a well-deserved visit, though, admittedly, perhaps at the expense of Otley!

This book's nearest rival, Simon Jenkins', says more about fewer churches (including those details I refer to at Beverley) but with far fewer (16) and far less sumptuous illustrations. In Bedfordshire, to take one example, Jenkins writes about 14 churches compared to 30 in the Betjeman. Jenkins' Bedford St Paul is given about 300 words: Betjeman's, approx 120. The Betjeman guide is more academic in tone, Jenkins more evocative, though not always successfully. He also gives snippets of historical background to add 'colour' to the place. Value judgements obviously vary too: the first church in the Betjeman Bedfordshire entry, Bedford St Mary, is given fewer than 25 words of description but one star, a high rating in that volume: Jenkins completely ignores it. Jenkins admires Cockayne Hatley for 1 1/2 pages but you won't find it in the Collins guide. (It sounds interesting!) The Betjeman/Surman glossary is far superior to Jenkins'. But for 'field' use, while I could just about force the latest paperback Mr Jenkins into my jacket pocket, the Collins guide is far too overweight ever to stray from home. Of course, Jenkins does not venture beyond the boundaries of England, an important consideration, one would have thought, for many.

Forced to choose one, I'd stick with Sir John/Surman. Were I a prospective purchaser in a bookshop, I would have the two volumes side by side to compare and simply try to work out which best suited my needs and preferences. Ideally, I'd have both!

What is certain is that this is a wonderful book which will give pleasure and some instruction for years. (Incidentally, I note the dj advertises a 'Betjemann's Best British Churches' app: had I an appropriate phone I'd be very tempted by that as one hasn't always planned so carefully ahead in one's travels and some version of this book in one's pocket would be very useful! Inexpensive Kindle version, anyone!!)

PS. There seem to be two paperback versions of Jenkin's book available, the one I reference dated 2009 and one which is dated 2000/2 which is larger in size and has many more illustrations than I mention, and in colour too. A nice edition. Unfortunately, the Betjeman / Jenkins dilemma is made no easier by this fact as the paper quality is better (to take the improved illustrations), and the weight and size of the book significantly greater. This is no pocket guide either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore the best of Sir John's 'Nooks and Corners' with this sumptuous guide to our best churches, 29 July 2011
By 
The Country Grumpkin "Jimmy" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Though of course best known for his poetry, the late Sir John Betjeman's great passion was for churches. This abiding fascination for Britain's wonderful heritage of parish churches, with their often delightful fusions of architectural style, led to the first edition in 1958 of the classic Collins Guide To English Parish Churches, containing brief descriptions of some 4,500 of the best of them. The guide has been revised several times over the years, this latest version rigorously updated by Richard Surman who also took many of the photographs. This new version - for the 21st century, 'the age of satellite navigation and precise mapping' - contains very precise locations for each of the churches featured.

The book has 3 radical departures from previous editions:
1. There is a significantly stronger pictorial element, with hundreds of full colour photographs, some of full- and two-page size;
2. This has necessitated a considerable reduction in the number of entries, using for selection primarily the simple star rating system that JB had introduced for the 1968 edition, but also including some churches for the first time, as well as a number of notable Roman Catholic churches, chosen for their 'outstanding historical, architectural or historical merit.';
2. There is a new section for Scotland's churches.

The layout of the guide is organised first by country, then alphabetically by county, with detailed maps showing the church locations at-a-glance. Also included is Betjeman's own Introduction, here running to some 66 pages incorporating some beautiful photographs.

Most of us will be familiar with some or many of the churches in this guide. For each church there is a short descriptive entry highlighting the main points of interest. These few extracts, about some of those I know myself, should give a flavour of those descriptive entries:

* Brompton Oratory RC: 'Unmistakable in Knightsbridge. Rome comes to London.The Baroque building by H. Gribble in 1880-96, was modelled on The Church of the Most Holy Name of Jesus in Rome, and is second only in size to Westminster Cathedral ...'
* Grasmere St Oswald: 'The rough, massive old church has a notable two-tier arcade ... The resulting jungle of black beams is an object lesson in elementary building, ingenious and almost indescribable except by Wordsworth, who had a shot at most things, and declared that the roof was upheld: 'By naked rafters intricately crossed / Like leafless underboughs, mid some thick grove / All withered by the depths of shade above ...'
Iona St Oran's Chapel: 'Of note is the early Norman doorway, with chunky dogtooth carving, and, inside, a well-carved 15th century wall recess. John Smith, a celebrated Scottish leader of the Labour Party is buried here; his epitaph reads 'An Honest Man's The Noblest Work Of God.' ...'
* Kingston-Upon-Hull Holy Trinity: 'Look up in the crossing, and there are good painted ceiling panels and lierne vaulting. At the W. is a fine 14th century marble carved font where William Wilberforce, leader of the anti-slave trade movement was baptised ...'
* Millport Cathedral of the Isles: 'A world away from the nearby coastal conurbations of the Firth Of Clyde is William Butterfield's 1851 church for George Boyle, 6th Earl of Glasgow ... The tall slender spire 123 feet high, gives the impression of a large building, but the church is in fact small, the nave being some 20 by 40 feet ...'
* Patrington St Patrick: 'The Queen of Holderness' is celebrated as a church of exceptional Decorated Gothic. The church is cruciform with double-sided transepts, the central tower being crowned by an open corona from which rises a lofty spire ... In the crossing are animated corbels depicting villagers, monks and animals ...'
* Whitby St Mary: 'Near the abbey ruins on a hill above the old town, St Mary's looks down on the harbour. The church was built to resist coastal storms, and looks like it, with a squat tower, heavy dark walls and an assembly of external stairs and extensions ... The great rectangular nave is filled with box pews and galleries rising almost to the roof, all centred on the high pulpit and reading desk, attached to which are two enormous ear trumpets for a Georgian incumbent's wife ...'

This beautifully produced breeze-block of a book - it is getting on for A4 size, contains 896 pages, including a helpful glossary and index, and weighs a hefty 2.25 kgs. or so - will not quite fit into most pockets, but will serve as a valuable and handy(ish) guide to many of our best 'hidden gems and national treasures'. And, guided by its contents, you really don't need to be an 'expert' on ecclesiastical architecture to appreciate what's all around us.

I can also recommend for those who don't already know of it Richard Taylor's book How To Read A Church, which will considerably enhance your enjoyment of church visits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but not totally practical, 26 July 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is described as "A beautiful and practical up-to-date guide to over two thousand of Britain's best parish churches." I wouldn't argue with "beautiful" and "up-to-date" but I think "practical guide" is misleading. I would infer from that description that I could walk around looking at churches with the book in my hand to consult as and when needed. For a start, it is much too big and heavy for that. Secondly, it covers over 2000 churches so it cannot go into great detail about each.

It is not so much a guide as a planner. If you know you are visiting a district, you can look up which churches to visit. It will give you precise map references with instructions on how to use them, plus guidelines on how to locate churches using satnavs and mobile phones. The descriptions give you a pointer as to what to look for, but if you want detail you will need to use the church's own guide.

As a manual on how to look at churches, it is invaluable. Betjeman's introduction is indeed a thorough introduction to the subject, in beautiful lucid prose that conveys his deep love for churches, humble or exalted. There is also an illustrated glossary of terms that will help you identify architectural features. Added to all this, it is illustrated by hundreds (literally) of beautiful photographs.

As far as the content is concerned, in his introduction, Betjeman mentions the outside elements of churches, their grave yards and settings. As far as I could see, there is little coverage of these features in the text - no mention, for example, of the fantastically ancient yew tree in the graveyard at Much Marcle which makes that church so much more interesting than many of its peers. Not having read earlier editions, I don't know if this is down to Betjeman or Richard Surman.

To get back to my original gripe - this book would have been so much more accessible and useful (and portable!) if it could have been published in sections as part of a boxed set. I don't know if doing that would have had insuperable cost issues, but it is not cheap in its present format. For that reason I shall only be giving it four stars instead of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fine work of reference, and retaining the Betjeman touch, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
The Collins Guide to English Parish Churches, of which this is the latest and much updated version, first appeared in 1958 and represented the greatest product of John Betjeman's love of churches. It was quirky, but it made a start on rehabilitating Victorian churches and was clearly a labour of love for Betjeman and his collaborators, most of whom were eminent in the field and knew their areas of the country very well. It was a reference work which I used a lot in my youth.

More recently there have been several good guides to churches, most notably Simon Jenkins's 1,000 Best and Robert Harbison's Daily Telegraph Guide, which I find stimulating even if I often disagree with him. But even on a crowded bookshelf there is room for this new edition of Collins. Those responsible, most notably Richard Surman who is an expert on photographing churches, have gone for a much more glossy approach, on good art paper and with splendid pictures. They have drastically trimmed the original list, to no great disadvantage I feel, given that many of the original entries were monosyllabic and rather uninformative. But they have included some Roman Catholic churches, quite rightly as the best of these stand comparison with those of the Anglican tradition built since 1830. And they have also strayed beyond England, which may be helpful to those of us who are more familiar with the bibliography on English churches.

There are now brief details of all the churches listed, and a slightly peculiar 'starring' system which will probably not provoke as much disagreement as Simon Jenkins's. Betjeman's splendid original introduction has been retained, and is itself valuable.

Strongly recommended, especially at the Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and informative, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really surprised when this book arrived - it is really heavy! When I unpacked it I found out why. There are nearly 900 pages packed full with informative text, great photographs and useful maps. This is a reference work to dip into if you are inclined (as I am) to visit churches of architectural magnificence. It helps with my own locale and with areas I might visit. The only reason it doesn't receive 5 stars from me is that despite its quality and the extensive coverage, I would have like pictures of all the churches (even if these were small thumbnails).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betjeman's Best British Churches - Delightful guide to one of the richest and most diverse parts of our heritage, 9 Aug 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For the last thousand years we have been building churches in this country. As fashions and religious taste have changed so new structures were built in the new style, and older structures sometimes altered to move with the times. As a result we have an incredibly rich and diverse architectural heritage in every town and village in the country.

With this delightful tome, that renowned guardian of classical architecture John Betjeman sought to give a ready guide to the most interesting churches and their unique features. For almost every church in the land does have something unique that is of interest and sets it apart from the rest. The book is divided into geographical area, and churches organised in each section alphabetically by the name of the town or village in which they reside. Inevitably there are churches missing, the book is huge as it is, to include every church in the land would make it truly unwieldy. Each included church has a short paragraph detailing a short history and important features.

Despite being quite thorough and quite beautifully written, I notice that each description of churches I know well always seems to leave out one or two important features. This is a good thing though, as it means you have a reason to visit the church to find out the full story rather than just read the book!

The production is quite sumptuous, hard back with good quality paper. Each page is illustrated with one or two superb new photos of one of the churches described. The photography is as good as the text, and makes this quite a special book.

Too unwieldy to be a pocket guide when out and about, it is a good reference for planning trips. It is also a good read if not planning a trip, and a fascinating treasure trove of information regarding those buildings which for so long have been a part of the fabric of the land.

An excellent book, five stars all round.

PS - for any one else who like me didn't understand the rather pretentious comment on the front cover from the TLS, a `vade mecum' is a handbook or guide intended to be carried at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Paul S. Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a significant reissue of earlier editions. It has the advantage that it covers some churches in more detail and has an interesting new introduction justifying the changes. The most significant of these is that far fewer churches are included and in this county-based work some counties have thin coverage indeed. Good county maps showing included churches are useful as is the 'starring' rating identifying the 'best' churches. Problem was that as a historian who's written on English religion I didn't agree with some of them! Moreover this was always an eclectic Betjeman choice. I can't help feeling this is no longer the case and some of that pleasure is lost.

Finally this is a weighty book. If ever a Kindle version of a book was called for it's this. Much easier to take into the field and it's coming soon. You'll miss the colour pictures though as their only be rendered in black and white. However, you could get the Kindle iPad App for full colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting and lovely book, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Kate (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very well presented and entertaining guide to parish churches with beautiful photographs. It begins with a preface to the new edition which summarises changes made from previous editions. There then follows the original delightful introduction from the first compilation detailing the history of the parish church by Sir John Betjemen which I surprised myself by reading all the way through. The churches are grouped by county with a short introduction and a county map.
The book brought back many memories of my own childhood experience as a church goer and family holidays around the UK where visiting churches was always part and parcel of the experience. My parents had similar books which they kept in the back of the car and referred to frequently to find places of interest to visit because of course you don't have to pay to go into a church! This is definitely a book for the car as it is way too heavy to cart around in the back of a rucksack. I would also need to pack a map as the google map references and sat nav details, while helpful for many would be no use to me on the road.
I have thoroughly enjoyed browsing through this book (I found the glossary very useful too) and found many familiar names and places. I must admit a slight curiosity as to the churches omitted from previous editions to make way for more pictures and the inclusion of Scottish churches. In addition I wonder why some churches warrant the inclusion of more than one photograph when so many have no picture at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betjeman's Best British Churches, 26 July 2011
By 
book fan (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You don't have to be religious to enjoy the beauty of churches, this country is sprinkled with some lovely old ones, the question is, just where can they be found, well this updated edition tells you. There are plenty of county maps with the places marked, showing where they are all situated. This arm breaking tome is absolutely full of wonderful, breathtaking, glossy photograph's depicting the best of these churches, both inside and out. Not every church has an accompanying photo, but there are short descriptions of each. There is a very good introduction from John Betjeman at the beginning, which is very helpful historically and also a glossary at the back. You woudn't want to lug this book about with you on your sightseeing tours, much too cumbersome, but there is a helpful information page describing how to locate them all with OS coordinates, sat navs and Google etc. This tome is best enjoyed as a book to dip into and savour, it is a sumptious and delightful way of passing the time if you are interested in these beautiful old buildings that grace the countryside of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous and sumptious book., 24 July 2011
By 
Clockwatch (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Betjeman's Best British Churches (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a gorgeous, sumptuous book. It is not often a book turns out to be much much more than expected. It is a substantial hefty volume. The blurb on the back quotes the TES "without exaggeration, holds enough information and inspiration for a lifetime of church visiting" Which pretty much sums up my opinion. The book is just short of 900 pages, with hundreds of good quality photographs, a decent glossary and good maps. It covers 2,500 of Britain's best parish churches. For anyone who enjoys visiting churches this would make an excellent gift, and deserves to be high up in the Christmas bestseller lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d786b4)

This product

Betjeman's Best British Churches
Betjeman's Best British Churches by Richard Surman (Hardcover - 21 July 2011)
26.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews