Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightwalk
Like one or two other reviewers,I wasn't familiar with Chris Yates before I read this.However,this fine work has persuaded me to delve deeper into the Chris Yates canon as he has the gift of being a natural nature writer. I've just read Kathleen Jamie's 'Seasons' which is in a similar vein to Chris's book. It's a tribute to the author that his book is very much on a par...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Clem Fandango

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely notion; beautiful production
Collins have done a truly fine job on the design and production of Chris Yates' short book. As in a well published book of poems, white space is given its place around the margins and between the items, suggesting that whatever is contained therein must be important. The sub-title 'A Journey to the Heart of Nature' in indented and not inked leaving it barely half seen,...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Deep Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
Like all of Chris Yates work i was hooked after the first page. Transported to another place while reading it. Superb,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yates at his best, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
A lovely book, enjoyed every page. Yates is the greatest living angling writer. As in this work, he marvels and worships nature, drawing you into the great mysteries of the natural world. He never resorts to tweeness, or nostalgia. He is as alive in this time as the landscapes he walks through.

He is worshiped amongst fisherman, and no doubt this book will win the hearts of general nature lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Pete F. (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I liked this book, the subject matter is different, the design is clever and the style of writing makes it an easy read.

Written by Chris Yates, who, as many other reviewers have pointed out, is a well known author of fishing books, this descriptive narrative focuses on his walking through familiar countryside by night and the events and sights of that journey.

Easy to pick up and dip into, this book is a series of unusually short chapters which are ideal for reading when you have a spare fifteen minutes or so. The monochrome illustrations at the beginning of each chapter get progressively darker toward the middle of the book then become lighter as you head toward the end of the book, which cleverly suggests the change of light through the night-time period.

I feel that fans of Chris Yates will appreciate this book as well as those who enjoy light reading and short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A meander through the countryside at night, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
A personal account of a series of night walks in the Dorset countryside.

The chapters are a few pages long, an in them you are lead onto the chalk downs and woods that are near where he lives. He brings you the wildlife sights, the glimpses of starlight through coppices and trees highlighted by the moon.

The writing is beautiful, not a word is wasted and the thing that he sees and feels are brought to life. I really like the thing that they have done with the graphics at the start of each chapter. It is very subtle and very clever.

And best of all, i get to do a night walk with him as part of the Wimborne Literary Festival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle observation, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Picking up on Chris Yates prose is like settling down by a warm fire to listen to your favourite storyteller.
These walks in the darkness are never really spectacular but, as the author always manages to do, he grounds the reader in the spectacle of nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
This is an unusual book from Chris Yates as it is not about fishing but about going for a ramble in the country at night. As usual with this author there is plenty of surreal whimsy. Its not what I usually buy from this author but I got it on kindle and for the price I can recommend it if you like nature books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy to Read, 10 Aug 2012
By 
A. Brooke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
Having read most of Chris Yates' books on fishing it was of interest to come to this book which reflects on nature whilst walking during the nocturnal hours. Yates observes the sounds, smells, and sights of nature of which he his so familiar. The book is also an evocation of those simple pleasures that can be found in the English countryside. George Orwell similarly loved nature and feared for the loss of such pleasures. Long may such simple pleasures continue. Yates book reminds of what can still be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and evocative, 19 July 2012
By 
R. Tait (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The author describes his nocturnal walk with depth and detail, tuning into the quiet happenings around him with great sensitivity. I have very much enjoyed reading each of the twenty-six short chapters before sleeping.

The writing tone reminds me of the work of David Abram, though for me this is a far more pleasurable read. It's worth noting that the book design and particularly the typography are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellifluous yet endearing, 15 July 2012
By 
J. H. Mccarthy "Rex Glevi" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
This is not a long book. In fact it is an easy read at one sitting and indeed once started is not so easy to put down. It reminds me a little of books by Henry Williamson....now rather dated in style but nevertheless educational about the wonders of nature in Britain and south west England in particular. But back to this book; I found it gently reassuring that simple pleasures are the ones that are the most memorable and enjoyable. No expense, no electricity, no gadgets, no fancy clothing...just being at one with oneself and with the joys around us.
I'm not a night walker and would probably not particularly enjoy being out all night but I can enjoy the infectious love that the author has of the countryside at night. He has a way of making the reader see and feel what he sees and feels and brings the love of nature into the reader.
I would thoroughly recommend this book to those who enjoy solitude, nature, nightime and the rising of the sun....and of course a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nightwalk, 11 July 2012
By 
Setter man (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This short book is a truly evocative description of the walks by Chris Yates undertaken at night in the country. The idea may seem initially strange, but as he explains the benefits of walking at night in rural areas are many and various and truly allow humans to get closer to the natural inhabitants. The writing is lyrical and even poetic in places. I really enjoyed reading this and was quite sad when I'd finished it. Maybe I'll try a few Nightwalks for myself....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature
Nightwalk: A journey to the heart of nature by Chris Yates (Hardcover - 26 April 2012)
Used & New from: £8.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews