Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


340 of 348 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up to the previous Hummingbird Bakery titles
I already have the 2 previous Hummingbird Bakery cookbooks so when I saw that there was a new one coming out I knew I had to have it.

The recipes in this book are not overly complicated and should not prove too daunting, even for those with limited baking experience. Despite this book having a heavy American influence it does not require you to buy a set of...
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. E. Preval

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as earlier Hummingbird Cookbooks
I bake at least 3-5 times a week. I am constantly asked to provide cakes, cupcakes, muffins, etc... for parties, school events and other gatherings. I always reach for the 2 previous Hummingbird Cookbooks when looking for inspiration. So, I was very excited when I saw this new cookbook.

Overall I am disappointed with the version. As other reviewers have said...
Published 15 months ago by Beth Litster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Great recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hummingbird Bakery did it again!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
This is an other good cookbook from the Hummingbird Bakery. I already own 'The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook' and 'Home Sweet Home' is a lovely addition with new recipes and no repetition.

The chapters are:
1) Introduction
2) Cupcakes
3) Cakes, Cheesecakes & Roulades
4) Cookies & Biscuits
5) Pies & Cobblers
6) Traybakes
7) Sweet Treats & Classic Buds
8) Savouries
9) Baking Essentials

The recipes sound delicious (Crème Brulee Cupcakes, Key Lime Cupcakes, Peanut Butter Cheescake, Red Velvet Roulade) and the photos that accompany each recipe look mouthwatering.

What I really like about this cookbook (and the Hummingbird cookbooks in general) is that everything is so neatly arranged: You always have the amount one recipe makes, the ingredients, and the equipment in a column, next to it there is the recipe and on the other page there is the picture. Furthermore, the ingredients are divided into sections regarding the part of the baked goods, there are for example sub-categories for spinge, custard and decoration.

I haven't tried any recipes yet but I've never had any problems with my other Hummingbird cookbook and what I've read so far sounds both logical and doable. I can't wait to start baking and would recommend this cookbook to anyone interested in baking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
This is a good book with easy recipes to follow, looking forward to trying them, especially the cookies and cream cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
like the look of the recipes in this but haven't tried them yet. they seem easy to do reading them
through. will probably try them out on my married family when they visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cake, sweet cake, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Hummingbird recipes tend to be on the sweet side, but good nevertheless. They also come out larger than you expect - so if you are cooking for a big party don't worry, there will be plenty to go around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set for more baking days, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from Hummingbird.
The variations on the traditional methods make these bakes that bit special. Lots of new recipes for me to try. If you like baking then you won't be disappointed with this recipe book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend who loves baking. She loves it. Loads of gorgeous recipes and a good hard book book for the kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I bought this as a present as it looks good and was really good value, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present as it looks good and was really good value. The book arrived on time and well packaged. I tmakes a lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
It's as good as the previous books
Recipes always come out as per the picture
Taste is excellent
Easy to follow recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is not suitable for dieters!!!, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Like hummingbird style... always surprising.
The cupcakes are just amazing.
salted caramel cupcakes are my favorite. Try...
sweet sweet sweet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home
The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home by Tarek Malouf (Hardcover - 14 Feb 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews