Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


327 of 335 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up to the previous Hummingbird Bakery titles
I already have the 2 previous Hummingbird Bakery cookbooks so when I saw that there was a new one coming out I knew I had to have it.

The recipes in this book are not overly complicated and should not prove too daunting, even for those with limited baking experience. Despite this book having a heavy American influence it does not require you to buy a set of...
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. E. Preval

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Hummingbird Bakery but...
This book contains a lot of recycled recipes. I love the Hummingbird Bakery and have 2 of their previous cookbooks, both brilliant but this book seems to have a lot of recipes from the previous books in it.
Published 11 months ago by samp


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

327 of 335 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up to the previous Hummingbird Bakery titles, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Preval "mpreval" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
I already have the 2 previous Hummingbird Bakery cookbooks so when I saw that there was a new one coming out I knew I had to have it.

The recipes in this book are not overly complicated and should not prove too daunting, even for those with limited baking experience. Despite this book having a heavy American influence it does not require you to buy a set of measuring cups or involve searching online for hard to find ingredients as all of the ingredients can be found in any well-stocked supermarket.

Each recipe comes with an accompanying photo and the instructions for each recipe are clear and concise whilst providing detailed instructions for each step

The previous book, The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days was divided into chapters by occasion (Easter, Christmas, Halloween for example). This book sticks to a more traditional lay-out. This book is divided into the following chapters:

Cupcakes
Cakes, cheesecakes and roulades
Cookies and biscuits
Pies and cobblers
Traybakes
Sweet treats and classic puds
Savouries

At the back of the book there is a section called 'baking essentials' which should prove useful for those with limited baking experience.

Please find below a list of all of the recipes featured in this book.

Jaffa cake cupcakes
Mint humbug cupcakes
Doughnut cupcakes
Blueberry and amaretti trifle cupcakes
Jolly jammer cupcakes
Chocolate and coconut cupcakes
Custard cream cupcakes
Praline chocolate cupcakes
Rose chocolate cupcakes
Cinder toffee cupcakes
Grasshopper cupcakes
Eton mess cupcakes
Creme brulee cupcakes
Ginger chocolate cupcakes
Key lime cupcakes
Rhubarb and custard cupcakes
Popcorn cupcakes
Liquorice and blackcurrant cupcakes
Panettone cupcakes
Salted caramel cupcakes
White chocolate and cranberry cupcakes
Cookies and cream cupcakes
Sweet peanut cupcakes
Strawberry milkshake cupcakes
Almond cake with macaroon top
Banana Boston cream cake
Sweet dough lemon loaf
Peanut butter cheesecake
Chocolate cake with vanilla meringue frosting
Chocolate and cherry cheesecake swirl cake
Chocolate malt cake
Mississippi mud cake
Flourless chocolate cake
Lemon cake with lemon cream cheese frosting
Red velvet roulade
Cookies and cream cake
Maple and walnut streusel cake
Pineapple upside down cake
Banana and brazil nut loaf
Chicago fudge cake
Pumpkin and cream cheese roulade
Linzer cookies
Hazelnut and chocolate macaroons
Chocolate truffle cookies
Mint chocolate thumbprint cookies
Basic shortcakes
Lemon and ricotta cookies
Peanut butter and jam pinwheel cookies
Pecan and toffee thumbprint cookies
Chocolate shortcakes with a peanut butter filling
Peanut butter and chocolate cookies
Syrup crunchie cookies
Corn flake cookies
Coconut macaroons
Lemon macaroons
Basic pie crust
Blackbottom pie
Blondie pie
Peach cobbler
Candy bar pie
Cherry pie
Caramel pie
Chess pie
Chocolate pudding pie
Peach pie
Shoofly pie
Apple and blueberry cobbler
Soured cream pie
Pear and cranberry tart
White chocolate and macadamia nut pie
Chocolate custard squares
Blueberry loaf
Peanut butter granola bars
Chocolate hazelnut buns
Fruit and nut chocolate parcels
S'more brownies
Pumpkin bars
Cinnamon buns
Raspberry jelly roll
Funnel cakes
Peanut brittle
Cinnamon pecan twists
Doughnuts
Chocolate fudge
Coconut marshmallows
Grasshoppper slices
Vanilla fudge
Home-made marshmallows
Coconut squares
Frozen chocolate sandwiches
Apple and almond bear claw pastries
Pecan sandies
Mallow cups
Apricot and almond brittle
Baked Alaska
Parmesan shortbreads
Chilli cumin cornbread
Cheese straws
Olive loaf
Cheese and rosemary breadsticks
Savoury cheesecake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, Yummy, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Great book. Got it as a Christmas present, and am chuffed to bits. Full of lovely recipes. I can so far recommend the Lemon Cake with Lemon and Cream Cheese Frosting, also the Cookies and Cream Cupcakes, along with the Cookies and Cream (big) cake and finally the Maple and Walnut Streusel cake. All were complete success and totally delicious. Sometimes the mixture can look a bit different to other cakes that I have baked - as a lot of the recipes use large quantities of milk and so the mixture is very wet, but trust the recipes, as the cakes turn out wonderfully. There is also a small savoury section which is a nice addition to the sweet stuff. I have also got the Hummingbird Cake Days recipe book, which I have had for a couple of years now and would also recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
every single recipe in this book is full proof! every cake i have made has come out of the oven beautifully, so light and moist!! highly recommend this book for hours of baking pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loving the new recipes, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Big fan of all things hummingbird and this book doesn't disappoint. Looking forward to baking and tasting as are my family!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Really like it my girlfriend is so happy on surprise gift. She was looking for the book , but she didnt ask me for that I give her a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing recipes, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Only made one thing out of here so far but so excited to try everything out. Worth getting. Better than online recipes! More variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as present. Would buy, 27 July 2013
By 
D. Tweddle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
Wife liked this book. Lots of ideas and would recommend to anyone who enjoys baking. Go out and buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Julie Nixon "Springbok" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
This is my first Hummingbird book although I am a cake baking nut so have millions of other books and I am hard to impress on the baking front! First two recipes I have tried (Chocolate Malt Cake and Chocolate and Coconut Cupcakes) were gobsmackingly good. Can't wait to try everything in the book! A real gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love Hummingbird Bakery but..., 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
This book contains a lot of recycled recipes. I love the Hummingbird Bakery and have 2 of their previous cookbooks, both brilliant but this book seems to have a lot of recipes from the previous books in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as earlier Hummingbird Cookbooks, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home (Hardcover)
I bake at least 3-5 times a week. I am constantly asked to provide cakes, cupcakes, muffins, etc... for parties, school events and other gatherings. I always reach for the 2 previous Hummingbird Cookbooks when looking for inspiration. So, I was very excited when I saw this new cookbook.

Overall I am disappointed with the version. As other reviewers have said there are not many new recipes, just small tweaks and variations on favourites. But this thing is these small tweaks and variations do not work.

For at least 3 of the cakes the icing quantity produced was far to much icing and far to sweet. The amount of sugar used in many of the recipes is mind boggling. Many times, following the quantities suggested, I have fully iced a 3 layer cake and ended up with loads to throw away. The cakes are disappointing in flavour and originality.

I am beginning to become wary of reaching for this cookbook. As I cook more and more of the recipes I get the distinct feeling the the recipes weren't fully checked and tested before publication and it feels rush. Thus I am very disappointed with this Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home
The Hummingbird Bakery Home Sweet Home by Tarek Malouf (Hardcover - 14 Feb 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews