Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious celebration of all places
Mark Steel isn't a comedian, he's a philosopher who makes observations so telling that they're just naturally funny. Whilst others of his profession take tours of Britain and write twee little observations about the scrapes they get themselves into, Steel dives headlong into the action and celebrates the toe-curling uniqueness of a place in the way that only a local...
Published on 18 Nov. 2011 by Daniel Park

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book if you've not heard the radio series.
It's you've listened to the radio series of Mark Steel's in Town on Radio 4 then you've probably read most of what this book has to offfer, there are a few things here and there which I don't remember in the radio series so it's still worth reading.
Published 4 months ago by Jamtex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
I got this as a Christmas present for my Dad, he reckons its great - a mixture of hilarious stories & quite informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun AND Informative!, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
Frequently made me laugh out loud or snort into whatever i was drinking as i read. A very funny book that manages to frequently impart historical lessons whilst finding the humor in everyday folk and life. I especially liked the bits about Surrey and Yorkshire (with its references to Essex being a highlight)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A few facts wrong mate., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read..especially about places I don't belong to. It mightn't live up to peer scrutiny with a couple of errors about somewhere I do....but hey, it's a work of fiction. The narrative is best appreciated on the radio when you haven't time to analyse it, but if you try to read with Mark Steele's voice, you can get the gist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope for a sceptic, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you mark steel. I tend to make sweeping negative assumptions about the town's I frequent, Kettering, wellingborough, Corby, and forget the good stuff that is there. That would be easier if they weren't just betting shops, charity shops and coffee shops,(normally interminable Costa coffee shops) our town's are just a bit too much like motorway service stations. But no matter, it's too easy to criticise, better still to patronize the good places and ignore the chains, briefing against them whenever possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it. Mark Steel is one of my favourites and he is always a comedian of very sound ideas and political views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Steel manages to be informative and funny at the same time. Lots of gems in his observations of ordinary towns around Britain. He shows that no matter how dull you think your town is, there is always something to discover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it and laugh., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
Just when the homogenisation of town centres makes it seem that it's not worth visiting any, along comes Mark Steel with his unique and entertaining insight into some of the eccentricities of British towns that survive despite the chain stores and drab town planners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book., 31 Jan. 2013
By 
A. H. Forrester "A4" (Forest of Dean, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
It's a well written book and when he writes about places I know it's even funnier as he observes the absurdities I have noticed and some I've missed. I can hear his voice throughout - I recommend it, especially if you know a few of the towns he goes to in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book if you've not heard the radio series., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
It's you've listened to the radio series of Mark Steel's in Town on Radio 4 then you've probably read most of what this book has to offfer, there are a few things here and there which I don't remember in the radio series so it's still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Mj Lovell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mark Steel's In Town (Paperback)
A good interesting read. Funny and well observed, not as good as the radio of course. A book to dip into rather than read straight through. Any chance of the releasing a CD of the radio series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mark Steel's In Town
Mark Steel's In Town by Mark Steel (Paperback - 27 Oct. 2011)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews