Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blunders of the Universe...
Professor Brian Cox's latest television series "Wonders of the Universe" was received with mixed appraise by the British public. Some found its presentation overly theatrical; others complained of the overblown soundtrack. Admittedly, I found that this follow up series was a little weaker in content than its fabulous predecessor, "Wonders of the Solar System", perhaps...
Published on 9 April 2011 by Mr T T R Spearing

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great ... just not on a Kindle
This really is a fascinating read. Some undoubtedly complex concepts explained in a very easy-to-understand manner - perhaps too simple for anyone who already has a basic understanding, but inspiring nonetheless. Related to this, I found his almost poetic analogies to the central ideas a little irritating, but that is his style and my personal objection, and any tangents...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by King Nothing


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars superstar of a science book, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
The TV series was great, but the book is absolutely brilliant! Well written, well explained, fabulous pictures, clear graphics and diagrams etc. If there were more science teachers like Brian Cox at second level schools, there would be no shortage of future scientists. You really get to appreciate the wonder and sheer awesomeness of life and cosmos AND understand fundamental principles of physics at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonders of the Universe, 7 April 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
This was for a gift, and the recipient was delighted. He said a lot of BBC books are verbatim the televised script and not much else (unless he dozes through the episodes),-- whereas this has a lot of additional information. He enjoys it so much, he now wants the companion book about the solar system.
His 4 year old son learned the names of all the planets and their descriptions after looking at this with his Daddy, so it is obviously a visually appealing book to children,too.Wonders of the Universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put this book down. Absolutely fascinating! I love all the stuff brian cox has done, can't wait to read his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought it as a present so only got receivers comments ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
bought it as a present so only got receivers comments but brian cox can do no wrong as far as i am concerned . thanks amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent extension building on the first series - but with a few minor niggles, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
Following on from the 'Wonders of the Solar System' I was really looking forward to this follow on book and TV series. I was not disappointed, finding myself reading the entire book over a weekend. If the TV series captures your imagination, and it is difficult for it not to, then the book provides greater detail and further explanations of what is presented on the small screen. This volume is written in four main sections and once again Brian Cox attempts to explain difficult concepts and ideas about our current understanding of the universe, the forces that have shaped it, and its evolution from the Big Bang to its ultimate fate. Again there are many wonderful colour illustrations from sources including the Hubble Space telescope and Earth based radiotelescopes etc. This volume includes expanations of the nature of matter, sub-atomic particles, light, gravity, necessary for an understanding of the exploration and structure of the universe. However, some of the concepts are more difficult to follow than in the 'Wonders of the Solar System', including for me the relationship between space-time and how this is affected by gravitational fields, but this is probably due to my ability to comprehend rather than the explanation itself! This is therefore a slightly more challenging volume than its predecessor. I would particularly single out the sections concerning the lifecycle of the stars, and creation of heavy elements by nuclear fusion and the fate of large stars becoming supernovas and finally neutron stars, together with the thoughts on the ultimate fate of the universe as being particular high spots for me. Although I'm sure there is a good reason for it, the first TV programme 'Destiny' dealing with the nature of entropy and the fate of the universe is actually the final chapter of the book.
However, although having high praise for the book as a whole, there are still some slightly niggling elements for me. In particular, the previous series tried to illustrate the geology and nature of the planets and satellites in our solar system with reference and analogy to what we see on Earth (eg. vulcanism, glaciation etc.). Although I felt some of these comparisons were a little tenuous in the first series, I was prepared to roll with it. I understand that this is part of the anecdotal style of the presenter and designed to promote accessibility and develop ideas, but in this book some of these Earthly comparisons and ilustrations seem beyond tenuous and begin to look more like an excuse for a bit of global travel eg. turtles on the beach, glacial carving and the decay of buildings in the Namibian desert.
The first Volume (Wonders of the Solar System) did contain a rather large number of errors, and I'm glad to report that I identified far fewer in this volume, although there were a few. In fact what is almost the first sentence on page 8 states the universe in 45 billion light years across, although the fly cover and description below states it is 93 billion light years. Here we go, I thought! However after this I noticed very few. Page 71 gives 10-36 seconds rather than correctly 10 to the power of minus 36 seconds. The diagrams p28 has a number of annotations that are not explained, and part of the diagram on p48 is so faint as to be almost unreadable. Also at one point Betelgeuse is described as the 9th brightest star in the galaxy, which should be qualified 'as seen from Earth' (ie. apparent magnitude rather than absolute magnitutde). However, I may be being a bit picky here, as the proof reading was obviously a considerable improvement upon the first volume. No doubt others will find and report those I have missed.
In addition, I would like to have had a little more detail about the search and current knowledge of exoplanets and thinking upon the likelihood of extra-terrestrial life. This is mentioned but I wanted more detail because it is such a current topic.
In summary, though, this is an excellent and generally well presented read which gives a pretty comprehensive overview of our current understanding of the universe with great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful universe, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
T. Beckett "Tom Beckett" (Glasgow U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and well written book, easy to understand for anyone interested in the wonders out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The tv series is great but moves fast, with the book you gain time to stop, think and wonder. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
Husband appears to be enjoying book. Very interesting and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
Brian cox,m amazing stuff, such a great scientist/astronomer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonders of the Universe (Hardcover)
Another great book to go with the tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1821 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonders of the Universe
Wonders of the Universe by Andrew Cohen (Hardcover - 3 Mar. 2011)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews