Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, accurate and clear
This book is ideal for those wanting to start to discover picturesque simple walks in the area. It is clearly not meant for the seasoned walker as all walks are less than 5-6 miles, and don't involve over strenuous climbs - which is just what I wanted.
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by Mr. IAN MCCORRY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars holiday
have not used it yet but will hope it will take us to the best places and walks when required
Published 17 months ago by M. H. Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, accurate and clear, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. IAN MCCORRY (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
This book is ideal for those wanting to start to discover picturesque simple walks in the area. It is clearly not meant for the seasoned walker as all walks are less than 5-6 miles, and don't involve over strenuous climbs - which is just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy concise little guide, 11 May 2011
By 
Mr. P. Stamp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a parent with a 4yr old, fairly new to the area and looking for some nice days out for the summer, having mostly explored the coast of Northumberland to this point and this seemed to offer some different locations.

The range of walks is good, mostly in current day Northumberland but be aware that it does include a few walks in North Yorkshire and Durham. It covers fairly obvious ground like Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle and Hadrians Wall but also has some walks in less well publicised parts of the region such as Doddington, Bearpark and Norham.

All the walks have a good detailed OS Map extract, photos and concise directions as well as information on points of interest along the way.

The book is very well put together and beautifully presented in vibrant colour and with some really good photographs, and I only have two minor issues which prevent me from giving it the full 5 stars. Firstly Id have preferred it if it was spiral bound as I like to photocopy the pages of the walk Im going to do and carry that in my pocket and leave the book at home so it doesnt get bashed around and dog-eared after the first walk, and second that I think the book is possibly too concise with each walk only receiving 2-4 pages in what is a very small format.

That said - its still an excellent little book and a great resource for families wanting to explore the area without overly taxing themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ramblers short walks Northumbria, 17 Mar 2014
By 
A. R. Burnham (BUCKINGHAMSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
Good routes and maps will assist me to make the most of my stay.
Arrived on time and was well protected for transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time and in excellent condition, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
Excellent book, arrived on time and at the right price. Book describes short walks suitable for young family with intersting featurs highlighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Earp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
Used it quite a bit and had no problems the walks we did were good and we shall take it back again next year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pocket sized, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
This was a handy little book to use on our holiday to Northumberland. The walks were easy to follow and it enhanced the enjoyment of our holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am using this guide in conjunction with and contrast ..., 10 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
I am using this guide in conjunction with and contrast to the "40 walks" series for an up and coming series of walks in Northumberland.
I will also take appropriate OS maps to add more interest and detail for the walks. You could get away without the OS maps - but I am a map addict!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Half way through the walks and love it., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
Althought we have only attempted half of these walks they are easy to follow and we have discovered parts of this county we had no idea existed. A good introduction to start walking. Useful that they are circular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short Walks Northumberland, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
This was a great book & some lovely walks we used it a lot & a handy size to carrie about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely walks and good maps, 11 Aug 2013
By 
M. Main (Ross-on-Wye UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks) (Paperback)
This book has some lovely walks in some lovely locations, well described and easy to follow using the excellent maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ramblers Short Walks in Northumbria (Collins Ramblers Short Walks)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews