Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal answer to relax after a tiring day!
Having watched the television series I was delighted to receive the book and how true to the series it was. This book is very well written, beautifully illustrated and very easy to read and assimilate - a good read after a busy day. Looking forward to receiving the DVD of the series.
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Penny

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great British Railway Journeys
This is an interesting book, especially for people who have seen the TV series. I missed some of the episodes, which is partly why I bought the book. However, as mentioned by other reviewers, there are a few annoying errors, such as the reference on Page 262 of the Hythe and New Romney railway being opened in 1927, "and extended to Dungeness in 1828". Back to the...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by A. McAllister


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal answer to relax after a tiring day!, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
Having watched the television series I was delighted to receive the book and how true to the series it was. This book is very well written, beautifully illustrated and very easy to read and assimilate - a good read after a busy day. Looking forward to receiving the DVD of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Railway Book, 21 Feb 2011
By 
D. W. Somner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
We were drawn to the book having seen a couple of episodes of the televsion series, presented by Michael Portillo. Unfortunately we didn't manage to view the whole series (6.30 in the evening was rather poor programming) so perhaps a DVD purchase is imminent! The book is an 'easy read' - not complicated or stuffy and includes some excellent photographs. The journeys are described beautifully with the bonus of snippets of history about various towns en route. It is not a book just for 'railway enthusiasts' - though I feel sure they would enjoy it - and it has a much broader appeal. In recent times we are used to holidaying abroad so many people are more knowledgeable about foreign cities than those on our doorstep, myself included, and this book has rekindled an interest in doing some touring closer to home, both by rail and by simply tracing parts of the route by road and by foot. One journey in the book was near Newcastle, a region that I know nothing of despite my mother being a Geordie, so this is where we are bound in the near future - having done some family tree research first. It's amazing where a 'good read' might take you! I enthusiastically recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super TV tie-in, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the first series of Great British Railway journeys on TV last year and the current series does not disappoint.
This book is excellent with informative text and super illustrations and manages to combine social history with the enthusiasm for rail travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well presented, 9 Feb 2011
By 
P. C. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
Excellent programme and very good book showing the highligts .
A good substitute for Bradshaw's Hand Book which is unattainable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great British Railway Journeys, 31 Mar 2011
By 
A. McAllister (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
This is an interesting book, especially for people who have seen the TV series. I missed some of the episodes, which is partly why I bought the book. However, as mentioned by other reviewers, there are a few annoying errors, such as the reference on Page 262 of the Hythe and New Romney railway being opened in 1927, "and extended to Dungeness in 1828". Back to the future? Also, I cannot understand how anyone can publish a book such as this without including at least one map showing the routes covered. Even a basic outline map of the UK with the routes marked would have been helpful. Having said this, I did enjoy reading it and am not sorry I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good idea! How do you choose?, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
Revisiting Bradshaw is a great idea, but how to choose? The TV programmes and therefore this book contain an eclectic choice of routes, many of which are scarcely credible in terms of journeys that would actually be chosen (many required some road based assistance!). The circuitous ramblings however provide an interesting selection of places and snippets of information about their past to provide a fascinating read. A good selection of illustrations adds to the interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 31 Jan 2011
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
A book to accompany the T.V. series. It moves along at a good pace and helps to fix in your mind what you saw on the programmes. There are lots of photo's to accompany the text, both colour and black&white. Each chapter covers one of the set of programmes, nine in all. There are some glaring errors, Dark Peak becomes Dark peat, Bouch becomes Boucher, Swan becomes Swann and Edward Pease's birth and death dates are partially mixed up, but these can be easily rectified in any further reprints. It is perhaps more of a book for the casual observer, but great enjoyment could be attained by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 7 Mar 2011
By 
T. W. "t" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
If you're expecting it to be as exhilarating as the television series, it falls short - as it's not written by Michael Portillo, it lacks his charisma and, sometimes, his grammar too. So, although it needs a little more proofreading, it's quite fun and informative but lacks the obvious thing - maps. Worth buying but to be read with your own map to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for railway geeks, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. K. E. Williams "Singing Cat" (Nottingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
Having watched the BBC series, I was compelled on this occasion to buy the book as various places had been visited that I knew. It has been great to read about them and see the photographs, especially as the various journeys do not have to be read in any particular order, they break down into interesting small chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific companion to the tv series, 20 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Railway Journeys (Hardcover)
The Michael Portillo tv series this book accompanies was a hidden gem of early 2010, buried on BBC2 at 6:30 against main and regional news programmes. Whatever you might have thought of Michael as a politician you would not fail to have been captivated by his presentation, replete with boyish enthusiasm for the people and places of the UK. This year he - and the series - returned, along with this companion book.

The book is faithful to both original series and 'companion' book is a very apt term as it does retain much of the atmosphere of the series. That's something of a surprise actually as it is not written by Michael - but is none the worse for it. Yes there are a few howling typos, grammatical gaffs but that's like saying there's a couple of duff notes in Bohemian Rhapsody. It doesn't matter when taken as a whole. Sit back and relax.. And take a wonderful journey around Great Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great British Railway Journeys
Great British Railway Journeys by Charlie Bunce (Hardcover - 6 Jan 2011)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews