Customer Reviews


297 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book
When the first book Sanctus was first announced i must admit i looked at it and thought...Nah, not for me, but i was thrown an advance copy of it and in an obliged manner i read it, and read it and read it, i was hooked and The Key is a fitting and powerful 2nd book.

Simon Toyne is one of the most original and imaginative thriller writers out there right...
Published on 12 April 2012 by Parm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good enough to have me read the other books in the series and a fun read.
Published 2 months ago by Wayne


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book, 12 April 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Key (Sancti Trilogy 2) (Hardcover)
When the first book Sanctus was first announced i must admit i looked at it and thought...Nah, not for me, but i was thrown an advance copy of it and in an obliged manner i read it, and read it and read it, i was hooked and The Key is a fitting and powerful 2nd book.

Simon Toyne is one of the most original and imaginative thriller writers out there right now.

For me the book is a triumph of locations, history, and the inner working of people. for those like me in the first instance who look at the book and think no i want action, BUY this its crammed full of action pace, drama, intrigue and mystery.

The characters and living breathing people not a dodgy two dimensional one hit thriller wonders. if you read book one and don't ant to dive straight into book two...well I'm not sure you have a pulse. and my pulse will be racing until i can prise a copy of book 3 from the author or the publisher.

Very Highly recommended

(Parm)

Product Description
Conspiracy thrillers don't come any bigger or better than THE KEY - from the author of the bestselling thriller debut of 2011, SANCTUS: `Plenty of action, plenty of intrigue and wonderfully imaginative. The sort of novel to devour in one sitting' Kate Mosse.

Hounded. Haunted. Hunted. She is the most important person in the world. She is The Key.

In the ancient Turkish city of Ruin, American journalist Liv Adamsen lies in an isolation ward staring at walls as blank as her memory.

She knows she entered the monumental Citadel at the heart of Ruin but can remember only darkness. Something strange is stirring within her, whispering that she is `the key'. But the key to what?

For the Ghost, a mercenary operating in the Syrian Desert, Liv could unlock one of mankind's most potent secrets. For the brotherhood in the Citadel - now cursed by a terrible plague - her return is the only way to ensure their survival. And for a powerful faction in Rome, she threatens the very future of the Catholic Church.

Hunted across continents and caught up in events that defy explanation, Liv turns to the only person she trusts - a charity worker named Gabriel Mann. Together their paths lead to a shocking discovery - one that will tear them apart and change the world forever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The superb and clever sequel to Sanctus, combing action and mystery brilliantly, 12 April 2012
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
Without doubt, Sanctus was my favourite thriller of 2011 - clever, imaginative and unusual, with an original twist in its religious mystery, all played out by an intriguing set of characters, and well-written to boot. No wonder then that I was thrilled to bits to win a copy of its sequel, The Key, which is also the second in a trilogy.

It is not easy to review a sequel without giving away elements of the first novel which should remain perfectly unknown, lying in wait for their unsuspecting reader, and so I shall be careful and brief. I would urge you to read Sanctus, if you haven't already.

One of the successes of Sanctus was its setting - the Turkish city of Ruin, created by Simon Toyne for his novels but described so vividly that you want to book a trip there. The ancient city, older than any, is dominated by the Citadel, carved into a mountain and housing monks, the Sancti, who never leave its caverns, tunnels and secret chambers and libraries. A more sinister and frightening collection of monks would be difficult to imagine. The mystery that the Citadel contains was the subject of the first novel and in The Key we learn more about its meaning and the people who are driven to pursue it. Some are familiar, some are new, but the journey is full of surprises and terrible dangers.

As you'd expect after reading Sanctus, the mysteries of the trilogy may involve the Church but they go far deeper back into time than that and they have a much greater significance for mankind. This foreboding and menace works especially well because of Ruin - it's both familiar and unfamiliar and it pulls people to it, even though the city's walls are locked each night to keep everyone out.

The Key combines action and mystery perfectly and it is a pleasure to get to know a little bit more about Gabriel, Liv and other characters from the first novel. Sanctus was a fantastic debut but The Key benefits from being an accomplished and confident second novel. The fact that it continues an exciting story, which manages to include emotion between the thrills, and characters, both good and bad, that entertain and intrigue, doesn't hurt a bit. And just like Sanctus, when The Key ends you'll be longing for the next. If I read a thriller in 2012 I enjoy more, I will be most surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do oranges and The Key have to do with the end of the world?, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
The Key is Simon Toyne's second instalment in the Sancti Trilogy and this book definitely does not disappoint. It's fast paced, thrilling and suspense builds with every page.
The book picks up after Liv and Gabriel broke into the Citadel and releases the Sacrament and concludes two weeks after that event. With the Sacrament gone, the Sanctus members are suffering from a haemorrhagic disease, the orchard and trees in the Citadel garden are dying and Bother Gardner and the monks tending to the flora are struck by a "lamenting" disease that results in boils erupting all over their bodies. Away from the Citadel, Gabriel and Liv try to trace and find the historic site of the Garden of Eden to fulfil a historic prophecy, thereby effectively preventing the end of the world. However, the last surviving Sanctus member, Bother Dragan, is looking to imprison Liv and the Sacrament and hopefully restore the Citadel to its former glory. Once again Liv and Gabriel find themselves on the run from hired assassins and kidnappers. The book concludes with Liv and Gabriel reaching the Syrian dessert and the reader is left wondering whether their mission was successful. Does the overpowering smell of oranges mean its the end if the world? Hopefully, the final book in the trilogy, The Tower, will enlighten us. This has been a fantastic series so far, and hopefully the final instalment is as good, if not better, than the first two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Key (Sancti Trilogy 2) (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A really good read that you just won’t want to put down. But you MUST read Sanctus first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Wayne (Burghfield Common, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
Good enough to have me read the other books in the series and a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to the first book., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
I kept willing this book to live up to expectations after reading Sanctus, but sadly it did not. It's very unlike me to take longer than 2 weeks to read a book, but this just showcases how little a page turner The Key actually is. As much as I wanted to know what happened to the characters, the sheer far fetchedness and improbability of events meant I kept putting the book down in frustration, only picking it up a couple of days later, just determined to finish it. A bit too far off track from the original Sanctus, however it did finish on a great cliff hanger, so now it's up to me to decide if I take the bait and buy the third instalment. An annoyingly average read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The key, 6 May 2013
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
Most excellent - now on to the
Tower! Really enjoyed it so far - is that oranges I can smell?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hope the 3rd book in this triogy is as good as the 1st two, makes excellent reading, cant wait to grt the 3rd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept my attention, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! it was a very interesting read and I could not wait for the next book to be released as it kept my attention at all times.
I was impressed with the delivery time as the book was delivered before Amazon's recommended date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Key (Kindle Edition)
Hooked on these books, couldn't out them down! Very clever story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Key (Sancti Trilogy 2)
The Key (Sancti Trilogy 2) by Simon Toyne (Hardcover - 12 April 2012)
£5.46
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews