Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful!
I have had a bit of a problem trying to learn Irish grammar, especially as I was never taught proper grammar in English, and so had no reference points when it came to noun cases and declensions and the like.

I have Teach Yourself Irish grammar you really need to know, and while this is an excellent book, it does kind of throw you in at at the deep end a...
Published 10 months ago by s j worrall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars clear grammar poor binding
I am new to learning Irish and I am no linguist so I cannot tell you how good this book is in absolute terms. However, I can understand it so probably most will! One major defficiency - the binding. It is really poor - I am on page 50(of 250ish) and all 50 pages(25 leaves) have come out. Consideribg this is a reference book I do understand the publisher's decision on...
Published on 11 May 2012 by coastalclassic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
I have had a bit of a problem trying to learn Irish grammar, especially as I was never taught proper grammar in English, and so had no reference points when it came to noun cases and declensions and the like.

I have Teach Yourself Irish grammar you really need to know, and while this is an excellent book, it does kind of throw you in at at the deep end a little, but Collins easy learning Irish grammar explains things simply and clearly, there are "What is?" sections at the start of each section e.g. "what is a Noun?, What is a conjunction?". These really help if you are not familiar with such terms, and are of great help to me as I am rather unfamiliar with them too.

In coclusion, I would say that if you are looking for your first grammar book for learning Irish, or just one that is easier to follow, you could do much worsethan to start with this one. Incidently, although other customers may have had issues with the binding, the copy I purchased was in very good condition, so it isn't a problem endemic to this volume, just dependant on the quality of the book you purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars clear grammar poor binding, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
I am new to learning Irish and I am no linguist so I cannot tell you how good this book is in absolute terms. However, I can understand it so probably most will! One major defficiency - the binding. It is really poor - I am on page 50(of 250ish) and all 50 pages(25 leaves) have come out. Consideribg this is a reference book I do understand the publisher's decision on binding. I know the book is cheap but why not charge another 50p and do a decent job of the binding? I have just bought a sheet music book from Germany for about a £1 more and the book has stitched binding on high quality paper so why cannot Collins do better? Really poor, really annoying!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revision required, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
The concept of this book is very good. It has a nice layout, and all the major grammatical areas are covered. I have contacted Collins in relation to some Grammatical errors in the book, and they have advised that they will look again at the publication. Apart from the few errors, it is a worthwhile book, very attractive and well designed for learners of Irish Grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Rosemarie Burns "Rosie B" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
Great help for the Grammar Revision I keep threatening to do. I am doing diploma in Irish Language and have dipped into this a fair few time to keep me on track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling binding, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
This would have been a good book except that it fell apart the very first time I opened it due to appalling binding, rendering it completely useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish manic, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Damien Graham (Marlborough, MA, US) - See all my reviews
Easy to follow well set out, clearly explained, plenty of examples to back up the information. Should help most Gaegleors. Excellent for me!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish)
Easy Learning Irish Grammar (Collins Easy Learning Irish) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews