Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, touching and hopeful book about bereavement and hope, 9 May 2011
This review is from: My Henry (Hardcover)
Bought several copies of this today from The British Library shop, it has all the hallmarks of an instant classic.
It tells the magical simple tale of a woman and her daily dates with her husband who now has his (angel) wings and can come visit her between 4 and 7 everyday. Whilst others think that she is a tired old lady with nothing to look forward to except cups of tea she and her Henry are traveling through time and space having all the adventures that they never got to enjoy when he was alive. It is both beautifully illustrated and written, very simply but with a deep emotional core. It would make a great present for children or adults, especially those that have recently, or even not so recently, lost a loved one.
It made me both laugh and cry-what more could you ask for in a book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful and touching book which, although it has a sad premise, is very accessible for children. A great book to help deal with the sadness of losing someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is delightful, 9 July 2011
By 
E. Smith "Eleanor" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Henry (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my Mum, my
Dad has just died and it is so appropriate.
Required reading for those who have lost a very long
time partner just as much as it is good to use to talk to
children about the loss of Grandpa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
I was fortunate to see Judith Kerr at the Edinburgh Book Festival, largely speaking about her late husband. She ended the session by reading the audience 'My Henry', a children's book which I found incredibly moving & touching. Her illustrations add to the story of a widow dreaming of adventures with her late husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely idea and beautifully illustrated., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
I would say that this is not just a childrens book as it can give hope to a bereaved grandparent reading it to a grandchild.Gives a very positive attitude to the death of a close loved one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
It is the most beautiful book, with wonderful drawings of the author. It is also written very, very nicely. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative approach to saying goodbye to Grandad!, 1 Feb 2014
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
Typically Judith Kerr in approach, but mature in content, this book has some lovely ideas. i bought it after having seen a fascinating interview with Judith Kerr just before Christmas, and have fallen in love with it.

Grandpa Henry has died; but Grandma has a unique way of coping. Every time she falls asleep, Henry visits her, and they have adventures!

Reminiscent of the style of the Mog books, this wonderful picture book should attract fans, both old and new, to her way of thinking and may prove a comfort to those who have recently lost a loved one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Henry, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
An excellent book by Judith Kerr in the usual size of 11" x 9" approximately. Beautifully illustrated and a poignant tale, but not sad, of the adventures of a dead husband and his living wife. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
Another book I ordered by Judith Kerr having watched a recent TV documentary and trying to obtain other Kerr books. Very different but theme interesting for my grandson. Excellent again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful picture book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Henry (Paperback)
A lovely book to help a child understand the theme of loss.
Written in a very sensitive way with beautiful pictures - we love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Henry
My Henry by Judith Kerr (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews